Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, thanks for having me! I’m Lily Luchesi, and I’m two months shy of my twenty-fourth birthday.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Chicago Illinois (go Cubs!), and at seventeen moved to Los Angeles, where I still live today. My hometown features in most of my books.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m an only child to a single mother who grew up loving books, anime, and ghosts and things that go bump in the night. I graduated high school the summer before my sixteenth birthday and from then on set about my writing career.

I’m also an out bisexual, cheerful Goth, and music lover.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Well, I have a lot of things going on lately! I just released the fifth book in my Paranormal Detectives Series, Last Rites, as well as a LGBT+ BDSM paranormal romance called The Hunger Within.

I have an anthology I am editing called Damsels of Distress releasing via Vamptasy Publishing on October 28th (just in time for Halloween), as well as a spinoff novel of my Paranormal Detectives Series called Never Again releasing on December 5th.

So it’s been a busy year for me, and I love every moment of it!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always made up stories in my head ever since I was a toddler, and even composed my first poem at three. When I was eight I had a teacher who showed me the love of writing and ever since then I made it my goal to become a professional author. I started submitting manuscripts to publishers when I was sixteen, and received my first contract from Vamptasy five years later, when I was twenty-one, which led to the production of my Paranormal Detectives Series.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Always. As soon as I decided that was what I wanted to be, that’s what I called myself.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first published book, Stake-Out, was inspired as I was watching a TV show called Motive (I love crime shows, they’re a not-so-guilty pleasure). I wondered what would happen if a cop’s perp turned out to be a vampire, and that was the night I started writing the beginning of the book that night.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles of all my series are police puns of some sort: Stake-Out, Miranda’s Rights, Life Sentence, Right To Silence (that’s the British version of the Miranda rights), and Last Rites. I decided to do that after Danny, my main character, told his partner Angelica, “So, I guess if we catch the vampire this really will be a stake-out, huh?” He sometimes gives really terrible puns.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write urban fantasy/paranormal romance, and I think the most challenging part of the genre is not becoming repetitive or predictable. There are a few tropes in the genre that are overused, so when I write I try my best to be as original as possible. One can wind up losing their voice, and I don’t want to ever have that happen to me.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well, it’s set in Chicago, to give it a gritty, realistic feel, because I grew up there. While the characters are all originals, the themes my series discusses go from homophobia, racism, xenophobia, and misogyny. So all very real issues that are twisted a little to be relevant to the paranormal world. I am very much a feminist and someone who believes that this world is too hateful, and I wanted to show those types of situations in my books and show how they can be overcome.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No. Where I’ve never visited, I research or ask friends I know who have been to said places.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Rue Volley designs all my covers and I love her work. I was a fan before I began to work with her so having her as my artist is really wonderful!

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Stay strong. My characters go through Hell, from depression to anxiety to witnessing some of the most terrible things. They’re trapped, they’re abused, they’re beaten down and made to feel like nothing. But still, they persevere. I hope that Danny and Angelica teach people to always stay strong.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Oh, there are so many! Rue Volley, as mentioned, TL Travis, A Giacomi, Stephen Kozeniewski, Elizabeth Corrigan, TH Morris, P Mattern, SL Perrine…I could go on and on. The indie authors out there are so amazing, they work so hard and produce excellent work.

My favorite and most inspirational authors are Stephen King, Darren Shan, Zac Brewer, Terri Garey, and Ellen Schreiber.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I sort of went into this alone. Aside from my mother, I had little support and really just started from the ground up. So, I guess you could say that God was my biggest cheerleader. He gave me my talent and my ambition, and He never let me fall.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I am not there yet, financially, but I will be. It’s a hard market to break into, but not impossible.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In my latest book, no. Not a thing.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned that I don’t know how to write “the end”! Book five was supposed to be the end and then I got an idea for more books and as of right now I’ve got two more coming in the Paranormal Detectives Series.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I wrote the character of Danny Mancini with Louis Ferreira in mind. He’s been on Breaking Bad and starred in Motive, and he’s my number one pick for Danny. For Angelica, maybe Hayley Atwell (Agent Carter from Marvel). Angelica is a tough woman and she needs a strong woman to portray her.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up, don’t let anyone tell you you can’t make it, and, most important of all, write what you love! Don’t let people tell you to write what’s popular to sell more books (and they will, believe me). Just write what you love and your market will find you.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you! Thank you, and thank you. I have no other words. When I started I was afraid I’d never find an audience and I have come to have the most amazing readers and friends. Without any of you, I’d be writing stories for no one.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished an ARC of Battered, Bruised, But Not Broken by TL Travis and Piper Kay, and I loved it! It’s an emotional M/M novel that hits all the high points and lows of love.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

You’re going to laugh, but one of the first books I was ever given was a Precious Moments Bible written for children to understand. I can still feel the cover and pages beneath my fingers. Of course I pretty much devoured all the Golden Books and Disney picture books (especially Winnie The Pooh) as a toddler, but that one just is the most vivid in my memory.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love dark humor, so sarcasm and death jokes get me going. Cry…it’s hard to get me to cry. Anything that has to do with death/abuse of an animal hurts.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Stephen King. He’s the father of modern horror, and has managed to make a career writing what he loves for over forty years. He’s such an inspiration.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I have a few. I love listening to music and going to concerts when my anxiety disorder lets me, I love getting tattooed, and I collect Funko Pop Vinyls. I’m an introvert, so my hobbies are mostly home-based: reading comics, watching the CW, and cooking.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love the CW: Supernatural, The Flash, Arrow, Legends of Tomorrorw. Also Blue Bloods, old Law and Order Criminal Intent, Motive (sadly canceled last year), and I love anime. Dragon Ball Super is really great so far!

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Food: anything Italian, especially my mom’s pork chops with aglio e olio sauce.

Color: Black and green

Music: Rock and roll and metal. My Chemical Romance, Disturbed, Skillet, Metallica, Stone Sour, Slipknot.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d be a child psychologist.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“There is no exquisite beauty… without some strangeness in the proportion.” –Edgar Allan Poe

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I do! I have a newsletter that I post in three times a month, and one time per month is filled with great book deals. Plus, if they sign up, they automatically receive an email containing a free novella from me!

http://wix.us16.list-manage1.com/subscribe?u=81f212b05965d427f3e901d29&id=218417cb3d

Amazon author`s page USA   https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lily-Luchesi/e/B00GBFAE0E/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

UK  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lily-Luchesi/e/B00GBFAE0E/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1502245200&sr=1-2-ent

Stake-Out (Paranormal Detectives Book 1)

In a city overrun with the undead, an ex-cop is given a chance to get revenge…

Danny Mancini is on a case, following a murder suspect. When he catches him, he finds out that the perp isn’t even human: he’s a 200 year old rogue vampire!

The department doesn’t believe him, and puts him on early retirement, despite his many years of service to the Chicago Police Department, which sends him into a downward spiral.

Two years later, Danny gets an invitation from the beautiful, young and very attractive Detective Angelica Cross to join a secret branch of the FBI to help her track down Vincent, the wayward vamp.

But renegade werewolves, meddling immortal witches and Danny’s strange visions of a life lived a century ago with Angelica make things more difficult than it should be.

Amazon link: http://smarturl.it/Stake-OutBk1

 

Miranda’s Rights (Paranormal Detectives Book 2)

The dead don’t always rest easy…

Retired detective, Danny Mancini, is haunted by nightmares after he found out that paranormal creatures exist. All he wants is to forget them…especially a certain half-vampire. When cursed werewolves show up trying to kill him, he is forced to go back to the Paranormal Investigative Division for help against a powerful old enemy. What he was not expecting was a dead ex showing back up after twenty-six years.

Amazon link: http://smarturl.it/MirandasRightsBk2

Life Sentence (Paranormal Detectives Series Book 3)

She can fight evil, but can she fight the darkness in her own blood?

 

After the disastrous events with Miranda have subsided, Danny and Angelica have to adjust to a new kind of life at the Paranormal Investigative Division.

Fiona is still on the loose, and she has all of Hell on her side. Danny begins to enhance his psychic abilities with the help of a soul just like his. Angelica is caught between a rock and a very dark place.

Can their love survive these new trials, or will the past tear them apart?

Amazon link” http://smarturl.it/LifeSentenceBk3

Right to Silence (Paranormal Detective Series Book 4)

The truth can be deadly.

In the first of this two-part novel, we learn the history of hunters Brighton Sands and Mark Evans in their two lifetimes, culminating in their final battle with the insane vampire they have been hunting for centuries.

In the second part, with Angelica Cross still on the run, multiple vampiric murders lead to the kidnapping of a famous vamp. Detective Danny Mancini must drag a mortal into the bowels of Hell in order to rescue her.

But why does Leander Price want her so badly, and what does she have to do with an ancient vampire prophecy?

Amazon link: http://smarturl.it/RightToSilenceBk4

 

Last Rites (Paranormal Detectives Book Five)

Power is the deadliest desire.
With Leander put to rest and the Paranormal Investigative Division taken care of by the Coven Mistress, Danny and Angelica are finally ready to take some time for themselves while Angelica gets used to her new role as the Empress and they make their relationship official.
When people close to Angelica are murdered by what seems to be a rogue vampire, their sabbatical is cut short in order for her to find the perp and execute him or her.
But this is no ordinary vampire. When the truth is revealed and secrets come to light, it will prove to be Danny’s biggest test of faith yet, and Angelica’s reckoning of her past, present, and future. Most of all it will raise a single question: just what makes a monster?

Amazon Link smarturl.it/LastRitesBk5

 

