Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Thank you very much for the opportunity.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hey y’all. My name is Rose Silverstone and I am a little over a month away from 40.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am originally from up north but now reside in Colorado.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am not the atypical writer. My tastes range in reading and it’s the same in my writing. I am a mother, daughter, sister, and friend. I swear more than most men and tend to find some of the strangest things funny.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My latest news is I have four books available for preorder. The first is set to be released on Aug. 15th.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in high school. Poems and journal entries began my writing journey. I began my first novel during my college years and haven’t stopped since.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The very first time I put pen to paper to develop my first character I thought of myself as a writer.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A series of movies that I love. The romantic comedies led me to develop Clarissa from Breathe.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The cover artist came up with that title. I saw the pre-made and knew I had to put the idea I had to that cover.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

The only thing I would say that may be different about my writing style is I allow the characters to give me the story when they are ready to flesh it out. I’ve had numerous stories where the ending will be revealed well before any of the main plotlines.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s very rare that my characters are based on anyone I know. A scene may stem from a passing individual or a song lyric. I usually steer clear of using a particular person I know. It isn’t an enjoyable practice for me.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I may venture out of my usual routine or go someplace I’ve never been in the city I live in, but I don’t specifically travel for the sake of story development. There has been a great deal of research done before and during the writing process.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Most of my covers are either designed by me or The Graphic Shed. J.C. is my “go to” cover designer.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I don’t enter into my works with the expectation that they will have a particular message. For Break Free to Deceive, the message is within the title.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Erika Blount had caught my attention because she has a cover that I love. I’m looking forward to reading her book. One of  my favorite authors is Chloe Neill. She has a way of captivating her readers and making them want to live in the worlds she has developed.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

One of my favorite people is Ebony S. McMillan. She is amazing and has been such a wonderful supporter throughout this entire process. I am so grateful to her.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do. I don’t want this to be a hobby for me. I enjoy it far too much for it to be a simple hobby. It’s what I want to do every day. It’s my passion.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I wouldn’t. I love where the characters ended up. I also enjoyed the journey it took to get them to where they were.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Stay off social media if I don’t want parts of online conversations to enter my manuscript. LOL

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Torrance would be played by Sophia Bush. Denver would be played by Luke Evans

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Trust your instincts. Know that not everyone will enjoy your work. A horrifying writing session should be saved, you never know what gems you will find in the midst of the mess.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you so much for your support and your readership. You are amazing and I hope you keep coming back for more.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Dragonmark by Sherilynn Kenyon

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Ooh wow. No. I believe it was a Rose Petal Place book.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Some of anything. Recently? I watched the movie, Moana.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’ve always wanted to meet Maya Angelou or Robyn Williams. Insanely intelligent and creative individuals.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Quilting is my latest venture, crochet, movies, reading, long walks … the list could go on forever.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV: Once Upon A Time, Any dance show, Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal. Movies: Action, Comedy, Romance, Musical – any of those and I’m there.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Strawberries, purple, anything but hard rock

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

DIE!! That’s just mean.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She brought light into others lives.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Blogger: http://rosesilverstoneauthor.blogspot.com/

Wix website: http://rosesilverstoneaut.wixsite.com/rosesilverstone

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Rose-Silverstone/e/B01N3MTNJV

Rose Silverstone – Author

The Pierson Twins Duet and Pierson Family Values Series

 

Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Tumblr Goodreads

 

