Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

I’m Elle Klass. I don’t give my age but to give you an idea I have 3 amazing grandchildren and remember when gas prices were cheap.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in the San Francisco Bay Area in California then relocated to the DC Metro are of Virginia for several years and now live in North Florida.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have 2 beautiful daughters and 3 awesome grandchildren. I’m no longer married but live with my boyfriend of four years. He’s wonderful and supportive of my crazy writer’s life most of the time. He even travels with me on occasion to book signings which is a huge help.

I have a bachelor’s degree in education from the University of North Florida and taught Middle School science for twelve years. Everybody always shrunk back when I told them that but really middle school children aren’t so bad. They’re actually likable. Currently I teach high school biology.  Quit often tidbits of science roll out in my books but they aren’t science fiction.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My latest news is the release of Prison of the Past Baby Girl 7. This was the first series I started as an author and it was tough writing it. I hated to say good bye to her but the main character Cleo, now in her mid-twenties it’s not really YA anymore and it was time for her life to turn in a different direction, one I think reader’s will be pleased with.

 

Within the last couple weeks I finished my first gothic horror novel. It’s also a first in a new series titled Evan’s Girls; a spin-off series from the Ruthless Storm Trilogy. The first book is Scarlett. It’s delightfully scary, sufficiently creepy and maliciously wicked. I enjoyed getting to know Scarlett. It’ll release this fall.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written on and off most of my life from designing corny comics as a kid to poetry and then my first story and publication As Snow Falls, a beautiful story of one woman’s journey through life.

Writing’s always been an outlet and something I enjoyed. A place for all the wild stuff going on in my mind to form something.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

My first book, my second book. I don’t really know anymore it’s simply what I am.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I don’t really get inspired more a story speaks to me and I put it on paper. When As Snow Falls spoke to me I was enjoying a hot Florida day in my pool. Go ahead and laugh because Florida and snow don’t go together. But that’s exactly why I thought of it.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles, character names, made up places in books all come to me. I don’t give it much thought. That sounds pretty silly and my mind can be a silly place sometimes.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t write a single genre but almost any genre. I write mystery, psychological thrillers, fantasy, apocalyptic and contemporary fiction and young adult and adult. I do suspense well , have subtle humor – you have to watch for it – and am very character driven. That’s what my readers tell me.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None really, occasionally I throw in tiny stories from my own life in a story but most of it comes from my overactive imagination. I do spend time researcher and questioning professionals when I’m writing about something I haven’t experienced or don’t know much about. My Bloodseeker series is set in St. Augustine Florida and that I know a little about as it’s my favorite US city. I’ve also learned more about the city from my research pertaining to the series.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No, I sit at home, my computer in my lap and type away, occasionally I hit Starbucks or another coffee shop. I do travel and take many pictures when I do. I even make strange videos of my surroundings but that’s mostly because I love to explore which does fuel my writing.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My covers are designed by various individuals. The Ruthless Storm Trilogy and Baby Girl covers were created by author Manuela Cardiga. The picture on the cover of As Snow Falls my oldest daughter drew. She always loved the story. My other covers were created by upcoming author TL Katt.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Sometimes there’s a message but it’s not there intentionally. I think any literature should be open to many interpretations. In The Monster Upstairs it was a huge epiphany when I got towards the end and realized there was a huge message in the story and ultimately the Bloodseeker series.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have a lot of favorites, far too many to name so I’m going to narrow it down to Marcha Fox and Barbara Chioffi. I can’t put their books down when I read them. They are also phenomenal people and we’ve helped each other many times. Marcha besides writing sci-fi is also an astrologer and did all the charts for the Ruthless Storm Trilogy. What was truly amazing about that is she drew up the charts without having read the stories and after I completed each book. Read the series and you’ll see what I mean. Whether anyone believes in astrology or not is completely beside the point. The entire story is given away in the charts. Absolutely, bone-chilling amazing!

Selena Rivera is a young author who I’ve formed a great friendship with and mentor and encourage her in many ways.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

The indie author community. Every signing I go to I meet new authors, bloggers and industry professionals who are supportive. I love that. It’s family without a blood bond. It’s really awesome when I meet them in person after knowing them online. To name a few I haven’t mentioned yet Fang Freakin’ Tastic’s Melanie is a blast and has done so much to assist me. I recently met a couple YouTube bloggers, The Owlery and the Brunette Bibliophile. Fiona, is obviously another and so many readers who love my stories, including local fans.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes! It is a career. My time is split between it and my other job, almost equally. It’s far more than simply putting out books. It’s book signings, mingling with others in the community, online groups and sharing experiences. I even run my own blog where I post reviews, mostly audiobooks since that’s how I read anymore. They go well with my sometimes hectic life and travel.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, which sounds pretty cocky but it was a tough one to write and a fitting ‘Cleo’ ending to the series.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned how much I hated to see her go. What people seem to like best about the Baby Girl series is they grow with Cleo through each story. The first book she was twelve and now at book 7 she’s in her twenties. Readers and myself have grown with her, watched her no so great moments and now we see what a fantastic young woman she’s grown into. I have many readers who find a message of love and encouragement in the series. I find a character who has a will stronger than steel because of her hard life yet she finds a way to let people into her life and love.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

If any of my books were made into a movie I’d like to see the Ruthless Storm Trilogy. It’s a psychological thriller brimming with suspense and plot twists. The characters take things to the limit but each book has a different main character so here goes.

Eye of the Storm/ Eilida – Pheobe Tonkin, Hayley from The Originals. She looks like her and is a great actress. She could pull it off well.

The Calm Before the Storm/ Evan –  Christopher Walken only bald and a bit bulkier in build which I’m sure can be done with CGI’s. Evan is creepy and Christopher Walked does creepy better than just about anyone and is ugly to boot. Burkhalder is the intense cop chasing Evan and a very big part in the series so I’m going with Christina Hendricks.

In the Midst of the Storm/ Tommy – Since this is all pretend a twenty something Heath Ledger. He’s hot and always has such a intense look in his eye. Eilida eats up about as much of the book as Tommy so we’ll need to bring Pheobe Tonkin back.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep writing and don’t let yourself get down if you don’t blow the lid off the charts with your first few books. It’s takes a while to get traction and gain readers. Always have your books professionally edited and great covers help. Think of your books as a business and advertise them, talk with other authors, find out what they did. Not that it will exactly work the same way for you but it helps to correlate ideas and make game plans.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Yes! Thank you for your support. I love you!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

It Began by Max Lockwood. It’s a post-apocalyptic story about a teacher who supports her sister who’s a bit looney and grandmother. When an EMP hits life goes into a tailspin as everything changes.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I was far too young but I can tell you I loved Dr. Seuss and Where the Wild Things Ae by Maurice Sendak.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have an odd sense of humor and will laugh during horror movies as much as I do through comedies. I don’t like to cry and the times I have were because something horrible happened. I’m an easy going person whose cup is always half full, more like filled to the top.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

V.C. Andrews. She was my favorite author for many years and I was sad when she passed and even more sad when the ghost writers came in and finished and expanded on her stories. They can’t write them the same so I stick with her originals.

Her work was one of a kind and I could learn a lot from her.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Not really, I write.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love a good ghost movie or psychological thriller. I loved True Blood, The Vampire Diaries, Dexter, The Originals and Ghost Whisperer.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

My favorite color is pink. Favorite food is pizza with extra cheese, pepperoni and black olives. I enjoy all types of music.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

That’s almost impossible to imagine because I’m always writing so if I couldn’t then my quality of life would plummet and I’d probably have to be in a really unhealthy way for that to happen.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nothing, I want to be cremated and my ashes scattered.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My website is http://elleklass.weebly.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ElleKlass/?

Twitter – @elleklass

Amazon Author Page – https://www.amazon.com/Elle-Klass/e/B00F2Y48C0/  (I have a couple perma-free books so check it out!)

Bookbub – https://www.bookbub.com/authors/elle-klass

