Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Lynn Cooper, and a lady never tells her age. J

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

A little town in the southeastern part of the United States.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

Before I became a writer, I worked for over a decade in the medical field. Now, I’m a domesticate goddess. When I’m not writing, I enjoy taking long walks in the woods with my husband.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Book related, I’m continuing to put out new releases in my Plus Size Romance Series as well as working on a newcurvy-girl romance series that I hope to launch this fall. On a personal front, the hubby and I are doing some major renovations to our house.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written on and off for most of my life but became serious about my writing career five years ago. I write because I love the art of storytelling.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When someone other than my family and friends showed an interest in my work. Nothing makes a writer feel more authentic than winning over their first organic reader.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It wasn’t a thing but a person. My neighbor inspired me to write my first book.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The same way I come up with all of my titles, by choosing words that reflect the overall feel and content of each book.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I think all authors have a unique writing style that belongs only to them. I would categorize my writing style as being fast-paced and fluid. I come up with a great first sentence and go from there. I write from the heart. I never use an outline.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All of my romance books are strictly fiction. I try to keep my prose fresh and original.  Although I think it is inevitable to be influenced by life experiences, I do not use specific people or events in my books.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I often do extensive research for my books but it rarely involves traveling.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design all of my own covers.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Each of my novels contain life lessons and tidbits of wisdom, but the main thing I want is for my readers to have fun. It is my goal to provide them with an enjoyable, entertaining and memorable form of escapism.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you? Although I write contemporary romance, I have always been a big fan of the classics. I love Charlotte Brontë, Charles Dickens, Oscar Wilde and Jane Austen. It’s impossible to pick a favorite. So many works have had a tremendous and lasting impact on me.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

A former employer who also happens to be a good friend.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I never publish until I am completely satisfied with the product.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learn something every time I write a book.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I have written 47 books to date, but I really don’t view any of them as movie material. I think they are best enjoyed on the page and not the screen.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Sure. Write, write and then write some more. Also, read every chance you get. Readers make the best writers.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

That I love each of them and greatly appreciate their support.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently rereading a favorite classic, To Kill a Mocking Bird.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I’m pretty sure it was Dick and Jane in the first grade, but you might not have meant that question literally. J

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Lots of different things, but my favorite thing to do is laugh until I cry.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Margaret Mitchell, the author of Gone With the Wind. I’d love to pick her brain about what it took to write such an epic book.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Many. I love to craft and knit and draw to name a few.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love old Cary Grant movies.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

I’m crazy for Italian food.  My favorite color is pink. And I love a wide array of music.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would catch up on all of my reading.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She laughed.  She lived.  She loved.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My new website is currently under construction. I have a WordPress blog that I use to share sample chapters of my new releases. The best ways for readers to stay current on upcoming releases, giveaways and events is to follow me on Twitter, my Amazon author page and my Facebook author page. I’ll list the links below.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WritesRomances

Amazon author page: author.to/LynnCooper

Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/Lynn-Cooper-Writes-Romances-386005534933638/

Link to Plus Size Romance Series: https://buff.ly/2u7Xj7q

Link to Love at First Sight Series: https://www.amazon.com/gp/search/ref=sr_nr_p_n_feature_nineteen_0?fst=p90x:1,as:off&rh=n:133140011,k:Love+at+First+Sight+Series\c+Lynn+Cooper,p_n_feature_nineteen_browse-bin:9045887011&keywords=Love+at+First+Sight+Series,+Lynn+Cooper&ie=UTF8&qid=1497441613&rnid=9045886011

