Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Lainey Reese, and I’ll take the 5th on the age 😛

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Tacoma Washington, but I was raised mostly in California and Nevada

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a basic education with some classes to earn my investment licenses when I was still in banking.

I am the youngest of five and have a big messy, noisy and wonderful family.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Well, I used to write for Samhain publishing and when they closed down my New York series was pulled from the shelf.  It was a scary and sad time for me.  I loved Samhain and will always be thankful to them for helping me make my dreams come true.  Now, Totally Entwined has picked up the series so they will get spiffy new covers and a refreshing update.  I’m excited to finally fix the many typos that slipped past the first time around.

Also, I have an exciting new book that’s almost ready titled The Pod, about a pod of killer whales who go on a rampage in the Pacific Northwest.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always wanted to be an author.  Ever since I was little I used to pretend I wrote all my favorite movies.  As a kid, I loved track and field and running.  When I ran I would just make up stories in my head and run till I collapsed.  It was my favorite past time.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think it was when Embracing the Fall released and I made the USA Today best seller list for the first time.  That floored me.  Completely.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

(Chuckling)  The truth is, I was on the hunt for a new author to read and I went through a string of simply dreadful books.  One after the other, they got worse and worse.  I probably ready half a dozen and then picked up one so bad I felt insulted.  Like “Really?  Do they think romance readers are brainless and ignorant?”  I threw it in the trash and thought, “If that could get published, then by God so can I!”

I’d always dreamed of writing, but until that moment I was scared to try.  Sure that I would get rejected right off the bat and as long as it was an untried dream, then it was always out there you know?  A glimmering possibility.  I felt like I was taking a risk when sent in A Table for Three. I thought for sure this was going to be the end of a life long dream.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Well, it’s a story about a threesome so I thought the play on words was clever.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t think I have a ‘style’ not really.  I just write what I see in my head.  I’m more of a ‘pantser’ than a ‘planner’ which is not the best approach.  I’d love to be organized and have every chapter mapped out ahead of time.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All my books are written from imagination, but I do love to plop in the people in my life as characters.  When writing Damaged Goods- a story about a serial killer- I was still in banking and my teller line was my murder victims, my branch manager was one of my prime suspects and the coffee shop next door was the setting for the story.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Somewhat.  Like I mentioned earlier, I write from my imagination, however I have done some traveling since my books started selling and I have loved being able to add in more detail to my stories from actual experience.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For my series, they are handled by the publisher with a bit of input from me.  I have two novellas out that I self published and for those covers I used the amazing artist who designed my logo.  Regina Wamba, she brilliant.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Embracing the Fall was a deeply personal story for me.  As a rape survivor myself, I often worried that my sexual tendencies and desires were because of what I’d been through.  I wanted to write about a survivor who also struggled with those self doubts, and then overcome them.  The most amazing thing for me is that when it came out, I received several letters from readers, thanking me for the story and the impact it had on them.  I saved every one of those letters and they all made me cry.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have not found a new author in quite a while.  Been too busy with life and my own work that I can barely keep up with my existing favorites.

I can’t give you just one favorite, that’s too hard.

Nora Roberts (of course)

Cherise Sinclair (her Shadowlands series is my idea of heaven)

Joey W Hill (not one, not two, but three steamy and flawless series that are pure magic)

JK Rowling (one of the greatest story tellers of all time in my opinion)

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My mother was my biggest supporter and fan.  Her support and encouragement meant everything to me.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It is my career


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My latest book?  More than that, what I would change if I could is not waiting so long to submit a book.  I was so scared of rejection and I wasted years at jobs that didn’t fulfill me when I could have been a writer all that time.


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I have done a TON of research for The Pod.  I’m phobic about killer whales (I know it’s unreasonable to be afraid of whales, but phobias aren’t based in logic)  I have spent the last six months terrified as I read articles and watched documentaries on the dreaded beasts.

In The Pod, though they are responsible for several deaths, they are driven to it by the evils of a marine park who’s stolen one of their babies. So, they aren’t portrayed as villains, but rather a desperate family that will stop at nothing to get their baby back.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

The Pod was actually a dream I had- told you I’m phobic of them.  That includes terrible, graphic and detailed nightmares in Technicolor!-  In the dream, the Hero was played by Chris Pratt and the Heroine was Emma Watson.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t wait to try!   Don’t be like me and be too scared to go after your dream.  Do it, go for it and do it NOW!


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you.  Thank you for your support and your patience.  The last two years I have lost two of the three most important women in my life.  My mother and my favorite aunt who helped raise me.  The result was only two novellas in the last two years.  I am extremely grateful for their support and patience.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m on an audio book kick lately.  I can ‘read’ while also cleaning or cooking.  I’m listening to the wonderful Silkworm right now by JK Rowling (writing as Robert Gailbrath)  The series is a decadent and indulgent private detective story based in London.  Freaking awesome.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Passion’s Joy by Jennifer Horseman.  A period piece about a girl named Joy who helped free slaves on the underground railroad.  Loved it and I’ve never been without a book since.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kid.  Both in spades.  She is a constant joy to my heart.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

JK Rowling.  I’d love to take a writing retreat with her and absorb her genius by osmosis.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love to cook.  And I’ve always loved photography too.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a big sci-fi girl. Most of my favorites are over now in that genre, but I’m over the moon happy that there is finally going to be a new Star Trek again!  And the luscious Lucius Malfoy has been cast so you know it’s going to be epic.  Non sci-fi I’m nuts about the new show This is Us.  Brilliant writing.  Brilliant.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Too much to name.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Go back to just imagining them I suppose.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

What head stone?  Who’s archaic idea was it anyway to keep all the dead people in the same vacant lot?  Creepy!  (I have a second phobia.  Being buried.  As a kid I devoured horror movies and my favorite was zombies.  So, now, even though I know it’s childish, I do not want to be buried because if there is even a millionth of a percent of a chance I could climb out of the ground and start eating people, I want it eradicated!)

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

www.laineyreese.com

https://www.amazon.com/Lainey-Reese/e/B00J8B37FM/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

