Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello! My name is Zachary McClellan and I am 27 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from Littlefork, MN. A small town near the Canadian border.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am a through and through Midwesterner. I was born in Minnesota, went to the University of Northwestern – St. Paul, and now live and work in Madison, WI. I hold a Bachelor’s degree in history, and minor degrees in theatre and bible. I have been married for almost three wonderful years to my beautiful wife, Emma.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am a new novelist, but I am a soon to be published poet and my first novel, Ecclesia is soon to be entering the publishing stage!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always been drawn to the arts. In high school and college, I was very much drawn to theatre. I have performed many times, and the art of character creation has always been incredible. Well, writing a novel is a goldmine for character creation!

I started writing poems and sports blogs a little over five years ago, and my addiction has grown from there!

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Hopefully in the next year J. No, I considered myself a writer when I finished the first draft of Ecclesia.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The idea really just fell into my head. I would love to say I bore it from my own creativity, but it was truly God-given.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Ecclesia was the Greek term for open community or church. From a governing stance, I think Ecclesia is what we should all strive for. All voices are important.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I would say that I have a descriptive style. I would say that it is hard to do, but mainly because you have to constantly be thinking and feeling through the different characters.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It is dystopian future, so it is more metaphorical rather than realistic. Though, there are hints of my background in several of the characters.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Unfortunately not. The crafting came through relentless work from my couch.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My wife and I designed them, using a picture of one of Eric Freitas’s clocks.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Power corrupts. Don’t put your faith in those in power.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I love Suzanne Collins. I love the way she creates characters who are real. Characters who do the right thing, yet are honest about how they feel about it. They are selfish and selfless at the same time.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.
My high school English teacher/Drama Director, Nancy McBride.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
I sure hope so! It is definitely a passion that snuck up on me.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would have started marketing earlier.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

It is so much more addicting and frustrating than I ever thought it would be!

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Myself J. No, I think Shia Lebeouf has a great look for the part. I think he could balance meek and strong, which is what Camden should be.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Push through. Insecurity comes with the process, but push past it and finish your work.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I think there is a stigma about letting your personal voice come through in your work. I would say that you add a unique flavor to your readers experience when you add hints of your own voice.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
I wish I had Duck Feet.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Clumsiness. I love slapstick humor.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

C.S. Lewis. He was so smart, it would be nice to pick his brain.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I like the outdoors. So, anything outside J.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love NFL games and dramas like Good Will Hunting.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Pizza. I love Pizza. I also love the color blue, and a very wide range of music. As long as it isn’t hard core metal, or rap.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would try to act, I think.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“He didn’t let fear keep him from trying.”

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I do! You can find me on twitter (@midwestwriter_), facebook (Zachary McClellan https://www.facebook.com/midwestwriter/   ), and my website (https://zlmcclellan.wixsite.com/midwestwriter)!

 

 

 

