Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Jon Bradbury and I just turned 48.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Born in Oklahoma, USA.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a heavy writing background–a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Communication with a Minor in Journalism. I also took English and Creative writing classes in high school.

The last few months of my life has been a huge adjustment after the sudden, untimely death of my sister from a heart attack in March. But I am slowly getting back into the swing of things.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Just last month I had a short story come out called Inappropriate, part of Extasy Books’ Summer Heat series.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I didn’t really get seriously into writing until my last year of high school, when my English teacher Mr. Sorgent encouraged me and got me to take it seriously.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not until my last year of college.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Great question. I wanted to break in with my first book, but I wanted to stand out from the crowd in some way. So I chose interracial black woman-white man. And the rest is history.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It was the general theme of the book–love is colorblind.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Well I studied journalism in college, so my writing style borrows heavily from that style. However in recent years I have softened my style quite a bit.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I’d say my books are 30 percent based on my life events or the life events of someone I know. Otherwise, no comment LOL.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Another great question. Unfortunately, travel is out of the question for me at the moment. But I read constantly. And I listen to music.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher Extasy Books hires a cover artist for each book.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

From my books in general, that life goes on. Time only goes forward. You can’t go back, as much as we might like to.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Not anyone recently, but some favorites of mine are JK Rowling, Timothy Zahn, Ben Bova and Eric Jerome Dickey.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

The staff at Extasy Books. They are wonderful. They are supportive.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I have only ever wanted to be a writer. The only other thing I would want to be is an editor, which I have started doing last summer.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would attempt to make the creative process less stressful and second-guess myself less.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, all about the subtlety of writing and of human behavior.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Gabrielle Union or Nia Long or Taraji Henson.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

In college I studied journalism. So even if you think your background isn’t suitable for creative writing, you might be surprised. Just go for it. You only live one life. Make it happen and have no regrets.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I’m not a flash in the pan, one hit wonder. I’ve been around for twelve years and I intend to be around much longer.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Hobbit.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Curious George.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Scenes of great emotional subtlety or substance.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

JK Rowling. I wouldn’t just interview her as a fan, but as a fellow writer.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love to read, listen to music, watch TV, spend time in the kitchen, build and play with Star Wars LEGO’s.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Leverage, Single Ladies, FRIENDS, LOTR trilogy, any of the Marvel comic book movies, esp The Avengers.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would most likely be editing full-time instead. I could not entirely walk away from the publishing world.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

He wrote some really good stories.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers? Visit my website listed below to get a free chapter from one of my books.

My website:

http://bradburyjon.wix.com/jonbradburynovelist

My Facebook page

http://www.facebook.com/jonbradburynovelist

My Twitter feed

http://www.twitter.com/jonbnovelist

Amazon Authors page

https://www.amazon.com/Jon-Bradbury/e/B002DESAAI/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1501945878&sr=1-2-ent

