Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Colleen, but my pen names are Piper Presley and Peter Presley.  I write stories under 10K under the name Piper Presley and I write novellas and novels under the name Peter Presley.  I’m a middle-aged woman!

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’ve lived in Chicago for years and years.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m college educated, and I’m also a wife, mom, mother-in-law, empty nester, author, gardener, runner, and I also pole dance for fitness.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’ve recently published the second book in my Chicago Bad Boy Romance series.  Kendrick: A Chicago Bad Boy Romance is found at Amazon.  It’s  $2.99 or free with Kindle Unlimited – http://bit.ly/chicago-bad-boy-Kendrick-Johnson

Fresh out of jail for a robbery conviction, twenty-eight-year-old Kendrick Johnson is ready to put his life of crime behind him. With a solid plan to straighten his life out, he knows what he has to do, but having a goal and making it a reality are two entirely different things, especially when a seductive distraction and former partners in crime are vying for his attention.

Car wash owner Anita Jackson will never hire another ex-con again. That’s what she tells herself . . . until Kendrick shows up at her door. Then, all bets are off. Their instant attraction to each other leads to a sizzling love affair, but a relationship between the sexy boss and her handsome employee could lead to trouble, especially when the lure of fast money and the life Kendrick used to live keep begging him to return.

Is Kendrick willing to sacrifice his relationship and his freedom for easy money?

Peter’s Chicago Bad Boy Romance stories can be read as stand-alones even though they are series books, and every book has an HEA and NO CHEATING!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing all my life, but I didn’t write for publication until about 10 or so years ago.  I write because there’s no other job I want to do.  I also ghostwrite articles for clients.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer when I got paid for my writing.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My writing style is minimal.  I don’t like flowery language or extensive descriptions.  I also write in first person present now.  The challenge is that some people don’t like first person present, but those people are not my readers.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My books don’t represent my life at all.  Nor are they based on anyone.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I haven’t had to travel.  For example, my current books are set in Chicago.  Because I’ve lived in Chicago for so long, I know enough about the city to include aspects of it in my books.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Daniela designs my covers over at Stunning Book Covers – http://www.stunningbookcovers.com

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not really, other than that bad boys are redeemable.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Romance author Amy Brent has done really well.  I admire that she can get books out so quickly.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Positive and constructive author groups have been instrumental in moving me forward.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Writing IS my career.  I make money mainly as a ghostwriter for clients, but I’m working more and more on the fiction.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, nothing.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

No, not really.  I know how fast I can write a book and what my writing style is.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

For my current book, Kendrick, I’d like the lead to be played by actor Michael B. Jordan, the actor who starred in Creed with Sylvester Stallone.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Read, learn, don’t be afraid to start over, find your readers, and don’t give up.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

To every one of my readers, I would like to say THANKS!  I appreciate you very much!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Nope!  It was probably one of the Dick and Jane books for children.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A good comedy on television is always good for a hearty laugh.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d like to meet the President.  (I won’t give my reasons why.)

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love to garden.  I have a large shade garden in my backyard.   I also pole dance for fitness, and I’m getting better and better at it.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My husband and I enjoy classic comedy shows.  We also enjoy watching good, well-written movies.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Spaghetti, pancakes, almonds, and chocolate.  All four are fattening.  So I’m careful with how much of them I eat.   My favorite colors are purple and black.  My favorite music is music from the 90s.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Die.  Writing is life for me.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She lived a good life.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Here are my links:

Website – http://presleyromance.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/piperpresleyauthor/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Presleyromance

https://www.amazon.com/Peter-Presley/e/B01HQ8NE74/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

