Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 Hi, Fiona. I’m Cheyenne Meadows. As far as age? A lady never tells it. Let’s just say I’ve celebrated my 39th birthday more than once.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 Missouri, USA

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a bachelor’s degree in Animal Science, a master’s degree in Health Promotion and Wellness Management, a diploma in Nursing and work as a registered nurse full time.

When I have time off work, I’m hanging out with my two elderly cats, Dora and Baby, attending the vegetable gardens, and caring for the yard and flower beds. Busy doesn’t begin to describe my life, but I can’t complain. I manage to get some writing in here and there and that makes me happy.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

 I have a new release coming out at the end of August from Pride Publishing, entitled Single Male Vampire. It’s a fun read and my first vampire as a main character. It’s a M/M vampire romantic comedy with some action and adventure tossed in.

I’m waiting to hear back on another romance entitled, Once Upon a Full Moon, to see if it’s accepted. It’s a M/F shifter romance.

As far as books in progress, I have around seven or eight in various stages of completion. The ones getting the most attention lately are A Tangled Web and The Spice of Life. The first is a M/F paranormal romance with a mystery twist. The second is a crazy M/M romantic comedy with all kinds of odd, eccentric shifters living and working at a wildlife preserve. That one is truly my imagination letting go into the silliness of fiction.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I entered college as a writing major way back when. My very first writing class, my professor told me she was surprised that I had chosen a writing career because I was so bad at it. Yep, she really told me that. Of course, I changed my major the very next day and forgot about writing until about ten years later when I joined a favorite author’s fan fiction site. I started reading stories written by others, then tried my hand at it. That’s where I really learned to write. With encouragement from many of those at the site, I finally wrote a full book and submitted it. The rest, as they say, is history.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 Oh, gosh. Maybe after my 10th or 12th book was published. Since I don’t write full time, it’s really hard for me to consider myself a writer and professional. Technically, I suppose I am. But, it’s different when I only get one or two days per week to write. I feel it’s more of a hobby because of the time constraints rather than professional. Maybe that helps keep me grounded?

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Some of my fellow writers on the fan fiction site. They kept sending me emails, asking why I wasn’t writing professionally. They encouraged me, told me how much they loved my series on the site, and really pushed me to give it a try. I credit them for getting me to where I am today. Without them, I don’t know if I would have had the courage to try.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles are easy. They just come to me. Normally before the book is started or right after I start. I can’t really say how. They just appear. All of them have done that and I have thirty-three published. With the single exception of Single Male Vampire. My editor suggested cutting back the original title to that. I happily went with it!

I won’t give you the whole list, but some of my favorites is the Human Interaction Series:  Human Interaction, Species Interaction, Entangled Interaction, and Interaction with a Dragon. My Wind Warriors Series:  Sky’s Lark, Summer’s Night, Blue Blood’s Trifecta, Ghost’s Treasure, Silver Spoon, Loco, and Tiger’s Lily. Then, my Shifter Hardball Series:  Friends with Benefits, Loaded for Bear, and Switch Hitter. There’s stand-alone books:  Relentless. Triad. As Fate Would Have It. Shadowing Mace. Crashing the Net.

There’s several more, so check them out. I LOVE naming stories. It’s half of the fun.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 I’m a plotter, pure and simple. No, I don’t write out outlines, so I guess I’m not a true, 100% plotter. Rather, I know what’s going to happen in the beginning, the middle, and at the end. The rest I fill in as I go. I write what is talking to me, so that means I’m skipping all over the place when writing. I might work on Chapter 1 today and the Epilogue tomorrow.

The most challenging part is my skipping around. I have to go back and fill in the blanks. Difficult since I have to make sure the transitions are seamless and the scenes more the story forward. It’s a lot of back and forth, but somehow it works.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Very little. There’s a tiny bit of my life or someone else’s in the stories, but it’s just a pinch. I write what I think the character should and would be like. They evolve as I go along, which is what they are supposed to do. Growing as a person as their story is told.

Since I write a lot of paranormal with shifters and other beings, I have little real life experience to base it off of. LOL.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 Nope. No traveling. Just research on the computer when I need to and lots of imagination. It would be nice to do some research out and about, but the time factor really takes that out of consideration.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The cover artist for the publisher. I presently have three different publishers.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I always want readers to finish the book with a sense of completeness, fulfillment, and feeling refreshed. The comedies, I want them laughing out loud. The more serious books, I want them to cheer for the characters and sigh happily at the end. There’s a message in all the books, of perseverance, of taking a chance, and earning a reward.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 Honestly, I have very little time to read. Between working full time, trying to write when I can, caring for the house, the yard, and the garden, down time just doesn’t happen. I do have a couple of favorite authors that I will set aside an afternoon or late night to read their latest releases. Jayne Castle and Lora Leigh are always on that list.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 Edward Kendrick and Mechele Armstrong, both authors, really encouraged and advised me to get into writing seriously. They still support me. Edward, especially, is patient and insightful when I run story ideas by him. We all met on the fan fiction site and here we are, years later, published.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I would love to, but I can’t. The publishing world is too volatile. I’ve been through two publisher closings. One was handled with dignity. The other, not so much. When the owner leaves the country with all the royalties that he hadn’t paid in months, then that leaves a very bad taste in an author’s mouth. Yes, that was my first publisher collapse. After that, I learned a few things—namely don’t put all my eggs in one basket and never quit the day job.

We all have bills to pay. Since I’m the only bread winner in my household, I can’t take the chance on quitting my day job and writing full time. In an ideal world, if I won the lottery, sure, I’d write full time. Since that’s not going to happen, I have to take care of myself and my responsibilities first. Thus, writing, though professionally, is more of a hobby for me.

I’m a Type A personality and have had to learn to deal with not being able to write when and where I want. Thus, in my mind, keeping it a hobby, helps me deal with the stress of not being able to get things done as quickly as I would like otherwise.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Nope. I’m very satisfied with my last book and all of the ones previous.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 Not really. I’ve been writing paranormal characters for a while, so nothing really new on this one.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 No clue. LOL. Someone hunky and sexy, for sure.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 Don’t give up. Work hard. And be very involved in every step of the writing and publishing process. Writing is an art and we always have to keep growing. There’s so much to know (i.e. the reason we really, really need editors) and the trends are always changing. Write what you know and like regardless of what’s popular for the moment because fads are always changing. Be involved in the contracts. READ THEM. Know your rights. Don’t be afraid to spread your work around to multiple publishers. In fact, I highly encourage it. That way if one publisher goes down, all your work doesn’t go down with them. Put your best foot forward, be kind to others, and take the time to study and learn the art of writing. I’m still learning.

Yeah, I’ll eventually learn the difference between which and that, I promise!

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for not only choosing my books to read but for the wonderful comments you’ve taken the time to either pass along or write in reviews. Your words boost me up and give me the motivation and energy to keep going.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Nothing right now. No time. When I do get a book, I read it straight through, then back to work.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Nope, sorry.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love watching baby animals play. Who doesn’t? They are adorable and make me happy.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Since I consider writing a hobby, I can list it here. Also, raising a vegetable garden and landscaping my yard. I love flowers and adding in trails, beds, and little surprises here and there. It’s a work in progress.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Ice cream. Blue and pink. And country music.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Have more free time. LOL. I hope I’d be retired and have a little extra money to do some traveling. Or to move to a ranch where I could adopt rescue critters of all shapes and sizes.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

http://cheyennemeadows.blogspot.com/

 

https://www.facebook.com/cheyenne.meadows.10

 

Check out both my blog page and my Facebook page. Updates on new books will always be placed on both of them.

Links:  Amazon author page:  https://www.amazon.com/Cheyenne-Meadows/e/B00MICBXJ0/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_13?qid=1501686495&sr=8-13

My books at Totally Bound:  https://www.totallybound.com/index.php?route=product/author/info&author_id=357

My books at Dreamspinner Press:  https://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/books/searchresults?q=cheyenne+meadows

My Fireborn Publishing books:  http://firebornpublishing.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&typefilter=bookx&bookx_author_id=25

 

Thank you, Fiona, for having me. This has been a lot of fun!

 

 

 

