Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name.

Debra Dier

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m originally from New York, but I currently live in Southern California

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I graduated with a BS in Information Systems Mangement. After working several years as a computer system’s analyst and manager, I started writing full time. My first book was published in 1993. After my daughter was born, I took a break from writing. I recently started writing again.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m working on a new Regency Romance series, and I am also doing research for a contemporary suspense.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always needed a creative outlet. Since I love reading, writing just seemed a natural fit.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a serious writer when I quit my job to write full time.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The inspiration for my first published novel just popped into my head. I woke up with the idea and jotted it down.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

Once the book was written I examined the theme and the story and decided on Surrender the Dream.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I have trouble sticking to a plan. I am trying to map out the current book I am writing, rather than feel my way as I go. I love the sound or words, a turn of phrase. I find writing romance a challenge because there are many people who don’t take the genre seriously. Perhaps because it is a genre dominated by women.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think every writer brings something of themselves into their work. I have incorporated bits and pieces of friends and family. The interesting thing is no one every recognizes themselves.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I have had the luxury of visiting many of the settings for my books, including England, Scotland, Ireland, as well as new York, San Francisco, and other areas of the US. Since most of my books are set in a different century, I still need to do a great deal of research for place and setting.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My original covers were all designed by artists hired by publishers using my input. For my re-issues, I have used Kim Killion and Damonza. I usually have a good idea of what I want. I also use Period Images for original artwork for use on the covers.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Each book has a theme. I often represent a woman who overcomes something in her past, or her own prejudices to achieve her goals.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?  I enjoy the work of many authors, I really cannot think of a favorite. For me, a writer’s characters need to ring true.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

When I was just starting I read a great many books published by Writer’s Digest.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

When I obtained the rights to my backlist, I decided to revise the books before I published them. I was always the type of writer who would revise in the book store if I could. I still have many readers who would also like to have electronic copies of the original versions. I may decide to release a volume of the originals. Right now I’m too busy to give it careful consideration.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I always learn something when I do research. In the book I am currently writing, I am doing research about portrait painting.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I think Henry Cavill could be the hero of any of my books, followed closely by Chris Evans.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

If you have a true need to write, just keep at it. Write every day. Learn your craft by taking classes or reading books on the art of writing. And read. Read what you want to write.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I write with you in mind. I hope you enjoy my books. I love to hear from readers.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No. I do remember devouring Nancy Drew and anything by Georgette Heyer

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

It’s hard to say what makes me laugh. It’s easy to make me cry. Lost love, the death of a dog, horse, wolf…can have me in tears in a heartbeat.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, for obvious reasons.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

My hobby over the past few years has been my daughter. I was room parent every year, and her Girl Scout leader. She is about to start college which means I am about to get back to my career and other things. Over the past few years I have also become interested in collecting high-end fashion dolls.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like quirky shows, things that are a little out of the ordinary run of things. I’m looking forward to the new season of Stranger Things.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Chocolate, and pasta. Blue and red.Classical and alternative music.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I took twelve years off from writing. I really need to get back to it. If I could no longer write, I would restore old houses.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She will be missed.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Readers can visit my website at: http://debradier.com/ . Readers can also reach me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AuthorDebraDier/

 

Author page:

https://www.amazon.com/Debra-Dier/e/B001KI51GY/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

 

