Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Michael Hoard, age 50

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I lived in Louisiana for most of my life. Today I reside in Middletown, NY.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I attended the University of Southwestern Louisiana (Today called the University of Louisiana at Lafayette) for 2 years an art major. I am married to Kathy, have two beautiful step daughters, Katie and Danielle, and 2 adorable twin grand babies, Isabella and Kathryn. When I am not at work or spending time with family I fish. I love the solitude and sights that come with the lakes and reservoirs of the Hudson Valley.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My latest news is that The Adventures of Nick and Billy was nominated for ‘The Summer Indie Book Awards’. Also, August 12th I have a book signing at Barnes and Nobles, Poughkeepsie, NY. On August 26th I will be at Barnes and Nobles, Kingston, NY.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My first book, a 60 page short story, A Forsaken Soul, was written about 13 years ago and put in the closet. I wrote it because one day, as I was reading a book, I said to myself, “I can write a book.” It wasn’t until 2 years ago when I bumped into an old college friend that is now an editor did I mention it. She asked to read it. Afterwards she told me I needed to publish it because it was a powerful story.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I suppose once I started receiving my first reviews from strangers saying things like I am a special author and such.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Prison movies such as The Shawshank Redemption.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

A Forsaken Soul: The Necessity of Self-Degradation in prison survival – This title represents just one of the thousands of souls that are abandoned by their owners in order to survive.

The Adventures of Nick and Billy: The Mystery of theRougarou – Well, the 12yr old main characters are named Nick Landry and Billy Boudreaux, and the love adventure. The Mystery of the Rougarou will be the first in The Nick and Billt Adventures. I remember as a boy scout camping in the swamps we use to hear camp fire stories of the Rougarou – the Cajun version of the werewolf.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Nope, I just write as if I were talking.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

A Forsaken Soul – The dream is from a memory of my childhood.

The Adventures of Nick and Billy – The trail leading from Nick’s back yard to Swamp Camp is the same trail that leads from my back yard to the camp we built in the swamp. Even Swamp Camp is pretty close to the one that stood above the swamp waters back in 1978.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I do research with the aid of google. Most of what I right is from what I’ve viewed and the feeling that these viewings stirred in me.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A Forsaken Soul – Myself

Renee at RM Designs – RM Designs

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

A Forsaken Soul – The unimaginable can happen to any teen or young adult that chooses to use alcohol and drugs rather than remain focused on his/her future.

The Adventures of Nick and Billy – That friendship, hard work, and tenacity can overcome any obstacle.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

There are several new authors that I feel will make a big name for themselves:

William Lobb, The Third Step, Christina Cameron, The House of Charms Series, Aliya DalRae, Jeannie JB Richards, Lyra Shanti, Eva Pasco, P. J. Mann.

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

My favorite author is Mark Twain. I love the adventures his mind creates and I strive to write stories that stick in people’s memories as Mr. Twains did mine.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

No one outside my family, including myself knew that I could write stories that people liked to read. I suppose my editor;GaylaLaBry was the first person outside my family to push me to write more.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Perhaps in the future. Right now I am just trying to get my name out there.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope, I love the story and the characters.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned that the first one wasn’t a fluke. Once I get in the frame of mine needed I can come up with all kinds of crazy stuff.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I have no idea.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just write and meet other authors. There’s no greater group of people that are willing to help.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Yes, I am working on the second book in The Adventures of Nick and Billy series. This one will be The Mystery of Hidden Lake. Also, I want to thank everyone who has put their faith in this unproven guy who came out of the boondocks.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Third Step, by William Lobb

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

That was then, this is now. By S. E. Hinton

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laughter comes from my crazy grand baby’s every time. Old Yeller makes me cry every time.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Benjamin Franklin. I would love to take a peek at his work shop.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Fishing and Hiking

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Everybody Loves Raymond , The King of Queens, The Game of Thrones

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Steak, blue, and old country

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I can always get by with my family by my side

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

A good Husband, Daddy, and Pops

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Website: MichaelHoardAuthor.com

Michael Hoard Author Page on Amazon

