Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?
Hello everyone my name is Joni Morton. And as you all know ladies don’t tell their age. I’ll just say I’m old enough to know better..

Fiona: Where are you from?
I was born and raised in a small town called Cleveland Texas; it’s 40 miles north of Houston. My family migrated to the USA from Stuttgart Germany generations ago. So although being a Texan, I feel Europe runs through my blood.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie, your education, family life, etc.).
I am married to my best friend. He is also the smartest man I have ever known. He has always given me anything I ever needed or wanted.
We had two sons. My oldest got killed in a car accident in 2007, which has been very hard on my family. My youngest son has the sweetest soul I have ever seen.
I have written stories for as long as I can remember, but wanted more knowledge so I went to a community college for creative writing.
I love music and I make my own music videos, using my own music.
I have never been attracted to crowds, and absolutely love being alone with my own ideas and thoughts.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.
I am normally working on 3 or 4 books at the same time, my mind never stops and when I get an idea I can immediately start something new in the blink of an eye.
These are some of many of my books.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
I started writing stories when I was about 5 year’s old sitting in a crepe myrtle tree. I was always imagining far away places, and would pretend I was in Italy or Greece or Hawaii. Always looking for ancient things or living by the sea.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
I still don’t know if I’m a writer I just write things I think people are interested in and things that I can go back and look up later. It’s like sharing a song on facebook to your self, so you can go back later and hear it again.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?
My inspiration to write my first book, was after my son got killed and my mind would not stop thinking, I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t talk to people anymore, I went a little mad actually. So to tame my thoughts I started digging up some old things I had written on paper, started playing around on the internet to see what was out there. One day sitting at the dentist office I was playing on my phone and saw on Amazon I can self publish. So that’s actually how I got my books out there.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?
I have many titles and they just literally pop into my head.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?
I don’t really have a style; I feel like my brain is hard drive that needs to be filled with information, I am curious about many things. I write about things that interest me and things that I would want to tell my best friend.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
My first book Makayla and the Prize Egg is based kind of on my personality. A girl with a kind heart who loves helping animals and others.
Twas the Week Before Christmas is the funniest book I have ever written, I would have to stop laughing at my words before I could continue.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?
I travel all over the world for ideas for things I write, and never leave my house.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?
I design my own covers and I find all pictures for my books.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Kindness will reap great rewards.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?
Once upon a time I had a huge family, then one day it seems everyone is gone. After my son got killed I don’t know why I started thinking of people that survived the holocaust. I felt so alone with no one in the world, and I could imagine how they felt after losing all of their family.
Now my kindle reader is filled with nothing but holocaust stories, these people truly inspire me to come from such depths and to still be awesome people.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.
I have no one but me, but I’m sure if my mom were alive she would have been my biggest fan!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?
I see writing as a way to escape real life. I truly don’t like not having my family anymore. I don’t see it as a career; I see it as a way to keep my mind busy.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Not really I like them the way they are.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?
Follow your dreams, and always go the way your heart tells you.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?
Enjoy your life, read what you love.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?
Now I am reading The Berlin Deception by Jeffrey Vanke

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
Now that was a long time ago! But I do remember reading Old Yeller about a thousand times! In about the sixth grade.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?
My husband makes me laugh, and I don’t think I have anymore tears in me.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?
I honestly don’t think there is anyone that I would truly love to meet. The most important people to me are in my life now.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?
I can honestly say I don’t love writing, I mainly write for my self and most days I’m not in the mood to write. I love making music videos, I love making video games, I love being alone with no stress, just to meditate or to think. I love studying ancient things, Greece, Italy, Pompeii amazes me!

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?
I will watch any movie with Mark Wahlberg. But mostly only watch science, and ancient history. I should have been an archeologist!

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?
My favorite food is Italian.
My favorite color is blue, mainly sea blue.
I love any music accept country, can’t take those cheatin songs! But currently I’m in love with House Music.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?
I want to live on a secluded island, with the sea surrounding me, with tanned feet sunk into sugary sand. To feel free from everything! My husband told me we can move to Belize in a few years!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?
Love the people in your life with every fiber of your being, because in the end there truly is no happily ever after.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?
Yes please visit my author page on amazon.com and my social media page.
Amazon.com/author/jonimorton
The social media address is
https://www.facebook.com/ghostwrite1/notifications/

I’m thinking of doing a give away for my book ‘Twas the week before Christmas, at Christmas time!

 

