Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Hi Fiona thanks for giving me this opportunity

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Anirban Bose. Well I am in my early thirties.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in the coastal town of Puri, India famous for its rich cultural heritage and a religious town known the world over for the Jagganath Temple and its annual Car Festival known as the “Rath Yatra”. Currently I am in Kolkata (The city of Joy), India.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

In terms of education I am a graduate and have more than 10 years work experience in the accounting field. My family lives in my hometown of Puri and I always wish to see them whenever I can.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am currently working on my second novel and also on the sequel of my first novel; in short I am working simultaneously on two novels both of different genre.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I remember writing short stories while I was in school. I always had a passion for reading and writing from my school days. My responsibilities had previously stopped me from following my passion for a very long time, but then finally in 2017, I decided to follow my passion and started writing and then after 34 days I completed my first novel, “The Forbidden Gift”. With the publication of my first novel, I managed to fulfill my dream of becoming a writer.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

My dream of becoming a writer was tugged deep inside my mind and all I needed was a spark. Then one day in mid- April, I had written a short story which my niece read and loved it. It was she who encouraged me to pursue my dream and become a writer.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My favorite authors Ruskin Bond and Agatha Christie’s books inspired me a lot and their writings were a source of inspiration to write my first book. My writings are basically for children and young adults with inspirational overtones and with a message for friendship, love and sacrifice. I wish children and the teenagers would get a chance to read my book and like it.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

A friend of mine suggested the title along with some other titles which she had in her mind after she read my draft. I liked the title and hence decided to use it.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My writing style is inspired from the writing style of one of my favorite author Agatha Christie. I tried my best to make it quite easy for my readers, who are basically children above the age of 12 years and young adults.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My book is purely fiction, a figment of my imagination, but some of the writings and characters were based on my experiences with actual people. Karan’s character is loosely based on my own, the problems he faced in school like bullying was based on my own personal experiences.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I never travel before or during the process, as it would divert my focus from my writing.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Since my first book was self-published, I had at first selected some pictures and had sent it to my publishing company who had then selected the best picture and did the final layout and designed my covers.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I just want my readers to enjoy reading my book and identify themselves with some of my characters.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

My all time favorite authors are Agatha Christie and Ruskin Bond. At present no new authors have grasped my interest.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I don’t have one but three entities that have supported my commitment to become a published author. My best friend Smita Nayak and Prajakta Walimbe and also a close friend and an artist in her own right Deepika Mahalakshmi.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

For me writing was always a part of my life. Every day I write whatever ideas come into my mind. Writing makes me happy, it’s my Zen. I do see writing as a career.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In terms of content no, but I am open to feedbacks from my readers.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I am quite an impatient guy. I get restless very soon. But writing my first book instilled two new qualities in me, patience and perseverance.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I haven’t yet given it a thought.

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Follow your dreams, stop listening to what others had to say but do have faith in your instincts because you never know what the future have in store for you. So be patient and have faith in your abilities and of course on God.

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Never stop dreaming. Nightmares turn into reality if you doubt your own abilities. Be patient and always give your 100% in whatever you do.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

My friend suggested me a book “Into the woods”. That’s what I am reading now.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, “The adventures of Sherlock Holmes”

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I am a very emotional person. In our hectic life when everyone is busy running after something or someone, smile and happiness are rare commodities. But I am lucky to have an awesome family who always make me smile and laugh whenever they feel I am sad or in a gloomy mood. Whenever I see an old person in the streets begging, I feel it very hard to control my emotions.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Actor Jim Carrey. His versatile acting has always made me laugh. I hope that one day I could meet him personally and thank him for his admirable work on screen.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Besides writing and reading books of all genres, I am into photography also. I love to click pictures of people on the street (Street Photography) capturing their emotions.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like watching comedies show and also cartoons.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

My dad is an amazing cook and everything he cooks is my favorite. My favorite color is Blue and for me music is an essential part of my life apart from writing. When I am relaxing, I love anything that is groovy but when I am writing, I love to hear Vangelis.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

That would be my worst nightmare. Please don’t say that…

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“A writer ordinary who dared to dream..”

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Right now I don’t have any blog but I intend to have one soon to stay connected to my readers, share their stories and experiences and also to interact with them

My social media accounts are given below where my readers could get in touch with me :

https://twitter.com/anirban4u82

https://www.facebook.com/anirban4u82 (My Fb profile)

https://www.facebook.com/Anirbans-stories-509058859300596/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel (My FB PAGE)

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17030088.Anirban_Bose

Links for my debut mystery thriller novel, “The Forbidden Gift”:

https://www.amazon.com/Forbidden-Gift-Anirban-Bose/dp/1947429604/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1501226635&sr=8-1&keywords=the+forbidden+gift

https://www.flipkart.com/the-forbidden-gift/p/itmevvc26ssxh4zx?pid=9781947429604&srno=s_1_1&otracker=search&lid=LSTBOK9781947429604HFD7XD&fm=SEARCH&iid=3fc517cf-b67a-46ee-aff6-e86d6ce6cb0e.9781947429604.SEARCH&qH=e25b8fd72b789a1e

https://www.infibeam.com/Books/forbidden-gift-anirban-bose/9781947429604.html#variantId=P-M-B-9781947429604

 

(My book video)

 

