Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

  Hi, My name’s Michael Whitehead, I’m 43 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?  

I live in Mansfield, on the edge of Sherwood Forest in England

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 I was born in Liverpool but grew up and went to school in Nottingham. I’ve been with my wife for 26 years and we have two sons, Morgan and Lucas.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My new book Legion of the Undead – Rise and Fall should be out by the beginning of September, maybe a little earlier.

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I’m a late starter, I began writing this time last year. I’m one of those people who read a lot and wanted to know if I could turn my hand to writing.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ll let you know when it happens. At the moment I just feel very lucky that people are enjoying my work.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 My youngest son Lucas asked me a question one day. He asked how the Roman legions would cope with a zombie invasion. It got me thinking, that led to the book. Sometimes you just have to give these things a go.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 It came up with itself. Put the two elements, Romans and Zombies, together and it was the obvious choice.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 I try to find a balance between historical fiction and zombie literature. I wanted the book to read like a Roman novel with a zombie element, rather than a zombie novel with a few Romans thrown in.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 I think we all take our own experiences and put them into our books. Sometimes they are less obvious to the outsider, especially when it comes to another time and place. I always bare in mind that the morals and social norms of ancient times might feel wrong and alien to a modern person. I try not to inforce too many of my own principles onto my characters

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 Not for my first book but I’m planning a trip to Spain for more background work. My third book has legions in Spain and who wouldn’t fancy a trip there?


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 My Dad, George. He’s great and I’m really happy with his work.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 Real men kill zombies with swords, not guns.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 I love the work of Conn Iggulden. His historical fiction puts the flesh on the bones of history for me. He has a efficiency of language that I admire. He can say a lot with very few words. It’s something I would like to emulate as my work gets better.


Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 The afore mentioned, Conn Iggulden has been a big help. He’s a great guy who always has time to give me advice. I owe him a lot.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 It’s certainly what I’m aiming at.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Being my first book I wasn’t sure how to go about the whole process. I’ve found the second book easier to write because I knew what to expect. Story wise, I’m happy with the book though, I wouldn’t have let it out into the world otherwise.


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 Editors are the most important person in the journey of a book

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 Tom Hardy


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 Don’t be afraid to begin. Don’t be afraid to change what you’ve already written. Don’t take criticism too seriously


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my work , so far. I’ll try not to let you down in the next book.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Darien; Empire of salt by Conn Iggulden

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 No, but I remember my teacher sending a letter home asking if my mum was happy with me reading Lord of the Flies at 9 years old.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 I’m touched by honesty and genuine people.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 Julius Caesar. There is so much myth surrounding the man, I would like a glimpse at the truth

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 I love football. I also build model boats.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love a lot of the modern dramas. The story telling involved is so expansive. Films lack the depth of the drams on T.V.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

 I’m a heavy metal fan. I have a soft spot for bands like the Lumineers and the Vaccines as well.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 I’m a trucker. I will always have that to fall back on.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 Loving husband and father

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Find my on Facebook @michaelwhiteheadauthor

My book Legion of the Undead is here :-  http://amzn.eu/2e88GTx

 

 

 

