Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

KC: Hi Guys! My name is KC Connor. I also write under the penname Tiya Rayne, and I’m 34.

Fiona: Where are you from?

KC: Originally, I’m from a small town in South Carolina called Cokesbury. It’s so small that if you blink while driving through it, you will miss it. The last few years I’ve moved a few times, and now I’m in Fort Smith, Arkansas.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

KC: I’ve been married for 14 years to my high school sweetheart. We have three amazing kids and a newly adopted puppy. I’ve been a stay-at-home mom since I was 20 years old and had my first child.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

KC: At the moment I am finishing up my fifth and final novella in the Lilly series. I am also working on the 3rd installment to the Keeper series. It is a YA paranormal and I’m hoping for a Christmas release. I’m also planning to release my first Contemporary Romance later this year.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

KC: My passion for writing started as away to escape my reality as a child. When you grow up with two annoying older brothers, it helps to have your own little world to escape to. I then started telling my cousins these stories and it later evolved into notebooks full of mini stories.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

KC: It didn’t really hit me until I got my first message from a reader. I think I was more excited about the contact than she was.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

KC: I had just read a couple of YA books where the heroine was useless in the books. She couldn’t defend herself and she had no back bone. I thought, this will not do. So I started my Keeper series. I wanted to prove that females were tough. We didn’t always need to be the damsel in distress.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

KC: It was originally titled, The Return of the Princess. A friend told me it sounded like a Disney movie, so I shortened it to The Return.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

KC: I don’t really think I have a specific writing style. I mean, I do love first person POV. I know a lot of people don’t like it, but I do. It seems to be easier for me. As far as challenges, writing in general is a challenge.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

KC: I like to throw bits and pieces of myself into my books. I’m like Stan Lee, I make a ton of cameo appearances. The idea for my Lilly series actually came to me when I was pregnant with my son. I was hot and miserable, and I thought, ‘what if I took a temperamental pregnant woman and tossed her into a fantasy world’. Lilly did better than I would have.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

KC: Yeah, I travel to the nearest quiet space in my house to get away from my kids. LOL!! No, seriously, I don’t travel. Thanks to the wonderful world of the internet, I can sit at my kitchen table and do all of my research.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

KC: I designed all of my book covers. This is not me bragging, it’s just that I didn’t know any better. Now that I know better, I look forward to working with cover artist.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

KC: In all my books I hope to portray the strength in being a woman. It doesn’t just have to be a woman kicking butt, like in my Keeper series. It could simply just be her strength to overcome adversities, her strength to stand up to injustice, or her strength to persevere.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

KC: Wow, where do I begin. As far as new authors, of course there is the lovely Twyla Turner. Going beyond her being a really great person, I love the way she writes a romance. She takes the time to form relationships and depth between her characters. Another new author I love is Jan Jan Untamed. The way she tells a story is mesmerizing. I hate to see the ending of her books, I always want them to keep going. As far as favorite writers, there are entirely too many to name.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

KC: My good friend, RM. I can’t even explain how much of a supporter she has been. Also, MG. She is no longer with me, but I will never forget how she encouraged me to just go for it.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

KC: Writing is my passion. It’s something that I love to do and I couldn’t imagine not doing it.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

KC: Not at all. I love where the series is going.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

KC: I learn something with every book. Be it, editing, formatting, cover design, or technique, there is always something new for me to learn.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

KC: Hmmmm! For my Keeper series, I can see Zendaya playing Samina. As for Lilly, I would say Zoe Saldana. I think she’s awesome.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

KC: Just do it. Yes, I stole that from Nike. (Don’t sue me.) I would definitely encourage any one that wanted to write, to just write. Don’t worry about everything else.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

KC: That I appreciate them. That I’m glad they took a chance on my book. I hope they enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

KC: Besides the ones I’m writing, I’ve just started Fearless by Amarie Avant.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

KC: No. But I can recall the first book that I can remember reading. It was In a Dark, Dark room and other scary stories by Alvin Schwartz. I loved that book!

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

KC: I don’t cry much, but I laugh all the time. Anything makes me laugh. I’m horrible in serious situations.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

KC: Funny, my answer to this hasn’t changed since elementary school. Edgar Allen Poe. I’m a huge Poe fan.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

KC: Reading. Reading is my hubby. I can read all day. I can read in a car, on a train, in a house or with a mouse. It doesn’t matter to me.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

KC: I don’t watch TV. (See above answer.) However, I do love watching movies. Any genre is good for me, but epic adventures are my favorite.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

KC: Food—French fries. Color—Purple. Music—I’m a fan of all types of music.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

KC: Drive my kids crazy.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

KC: Hopefully nothing, because by then I would have found a way to turn into a Vampire and become immortal.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Keep up to date with me and any of my new releases by going to my Facebook page at: https://m.facebook.com/AuthorKCConnor

https://www.amazon.com/Return-Keeper-Novel-Book-ebook/dp/B00HI79TYQ/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1501103215&sr=1-4&keywords=KC+Connor

https://www.amazon.com/Lilly-Book-One-Locke-1-ebook/dp/B01CUWM76U/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1501103388&sr=1-1&keywords=Tiya+Rayne

