Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, I’m Heather Moore. I’ve been publishing traditionally for 14 years. I also run the indie press Mirror Press and own the freelance editing company Precision Editing Group. I write thrillers and historicals under H.B. Moore and romance under Heather B. Moore. I also write young adult speculative under pen name Jane Redd.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Rhode Island, but mostly grew up in Utah. My family moved to the Middle East for a job assignment of my father’s, so I’ve also lived in Israel and Egypt.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I went to high school in both Israel and Utah. College was at BYU in Provo, where I met my husband. We’ve lived in Utah, Hawaii, and California, and we have four children, and currently two cats—that number fluctuates.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have a couple of novellas coming out this fall as well as a Biblical novel about Ruth.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’m sure I wrote stories in elementary school, etc. for assignments, but I wasn’t necessarily writing stories on my own for fun. I was a huge reader and I’d devour multiple books a week during the summer. It wasn’t until I was 30 that I started writing my first story independent of any class or assignment.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I expressed my doubts in ever getting published, one of my critique group members told me that I was a writer because I was writing. So I slowly started to shift my mindset. When I received the phone call from a publisher that they’d accepted my book, it felt like a dream had come true.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had been helping my grandmother write her biography and an idea popped into my head—set during my grandmother’s era of WWII—and that’s when I started writing my first novel.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Two of my most recent novels are Condemn Me Not: Accused of Witchcraft. This is a historical novel based on the life of my 10th great-grandmother who was accused of witchcraft and hanged in Salem, MA, in 1692. I actually had a poll done for the title because I couldn’t think of one! My other recent novel is a thriller called The Killing Curse. It’s about an illegal organization in the Middle East that still practices honor killings. I used the title The Killing Curse because it felt synonymous with “honor killings.”

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’m mostly known for writing historical novels. I love to write in different viewpoints, as well as the viewpoint of the villain. It brings a lot of depth to the story. Historical novels are challenging because of the amount of research, and the obligation to the readers to get it right.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I haven’t written about events in my own life, but things that I experience will influence my plot choices sometimes. Characteristics from people I know will make their way into some of my characters, but none of my characters are completely patterned after a single person.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I don’t necessarily have to travel—thanks to the internet and google images. I have written quite a few contemporary romances that are set in southern California, where I lived for four years.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My traditional publishers have in-house cover designers. For my indie publishing, I’ve used various designers, including Rachael Anderson. Condemn Me Not was a custom photoshoot with photographer Brekke Felt. Rachael Anderson designed The Killing Curse.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Condemn Me Not is purely a fictional rendition of a terrible historical event. I think we need to learn about the past in order to create a better future. The Killing Curse is an eye-opening story about tragedies that still occur today.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I started reading Amy Harmon’s books a couple of years ago, and she’s a favorite author of mine now. She writes in several genres and is very talented.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My critique group has been really fabulous.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, writing has morphed from a hobby into a career, and I consider it my job.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I pretty much write a book, go through editing, then move on.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I’m currently writing a book about a woman who is framed for murder of her parents. She can’t remember the events of the night, and so she’s ruled as incompetent to stand trial and sent to a psychiatric institution. I’m about 1/3 of the way through writing it, and I’m starting to research psychiatric medications and associated memory loss.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I’m really bad with remembering actor names, so I really don’t know.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

The journey is long and won’t happen quickly. Every author pays his/her due diligence in one way or another. Plan to write, rewrite, learn the craft, and continually grow as a writer. If you persevere and remain teachable, you will become published. Some of the best advice I’ve heard is to set daily writing goals. Mine is between 1,000–2,000/day (5 days a week) depending on the book and depending on the deadline. It does take a lot of dedication, but if it’s important to you, it will be one of your priorities. Also, take the time to edit and to send your manuscript to alpha readers before submitting so that you’re turning in your very best work

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I post daily updates & deals on my Facebook page: Fans of H.B. Moore

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading Camino Island by John Grisham 😉

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I’ve read as long as I can remember.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes, anyone who signs up for my newsletter will receive a free book. Here’s my website: www.hbmoore.com

Amazon author page for H.B. Moore: https://www.amazon.com/H.B.-Moore/e/B001K8942Q

Amazon author page for Heather B. Moore: https://www.amazon.com/Heather-B.-Moore/e/B007HLYZ6A

Amazon author page for Jane Redd: https://www.amazon.com/Jane-Redd/e/B01BT9MO9U

 

