Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

BN: My name is Bobby Nash. I’m 45 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

BN: I live in Bethlehem, GA. I was born in Atlanta and have lived in Georgia all my life. There are times I do think about moving somewhere with a cooler summer.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

BN: I was born in Atlanta, Georgia. My real life is rather dull, I suppose. I’m a writer. I make stuff up for a living.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

BN: SNOW DRIVE is now available in paperback and ebook from BEN Books.

Abraham Snow’s career ended with a single shot, but now he’s back behind the wheel and looking for a saboteur.The Chambers Racing team hires Snow Security Consulting to get to keep their people and equipment safe and to get to the bottom of whoever is trying to put them out of business and why.Archer Snow volunteers Abraham Snow and Big John Salmon as part of the pit crew. Can they keep the team’s young hothead out of trouble long enough to stop the saboteur before the next race?

Meanwhile, an old enemy sets her sights on Snow when a bounty is placed on his head.
SNOW DRIVE is the third book in the continuing adventures of Abraham Snow.

Learn more about SNOW at https://ben-books.blogspot.com/p/snow.html

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

BN:  Growing up, I had this grand dream of becoming a comic book artist. I started writing stories for me to draw. Soon, other artist friends asked me to write stories for them. Eventually, with the advice of a friend, I realized that I was not quite skilled enough as a comic book artist, but if I focused on the writing, there might be something there. He was right. I worked, got better (I hope), and was eventually published. While writing comics, I decided to try my hand at a novel. I did and it sucked, but I finished it so I decided to try my hand at another. Eventually, I sold it and that put me on this road I’m on today.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

BN: The first time someone drew a comic script I wrote. It was a great feeling. I really felt like an author the day my comp copies of my first novel, EVIL WAYS arrived on my doorstep. I had a grin that wouldn’t quit.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

BN: EVIL WAYS started as a movie treatment for a friend who was preparing to direct and produce an indie film. He didn’t really like the direction so I took the parts that I had written and worked a new story around them. That was the skeleton that I fleshed out to become EVIL WAYS, which was my first published novel.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

BN: There’s a scene in EVIL WAYS where the characters are in a bar. One of the characters is a well-known singer and the house band drags him on stage. The band does covers of classic rock songs so I turned on the radio and the next three songs that played were the songs they performed. One of those songs was Evil Ways and I thought that made for an interesting title idea. I put it in place as a placeholder title until I could think up something better, but it stuck.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

BN: My writing style is pretty straightforward. I don’t get all flowery with my prose. I’ve tried, but it’s just not me. I try to tell the story in what I hope is an interesting way. One of the best compliments I received about my writing came from a guy who knew me who read my first novel, EVIL WAYS. He said that while he was reading it, he could hear the narration in my voice.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

BN: My work is pure fiction, but I sprinkle it with real experiences. 85 NORTH is a horror story about people getting lost off an exit ramp that may or may not truly exist. It’s pure fiction, but the opening part about the ramp and gas station/restaurant was real. It absolutely happened and was absolutely surreal, almost terrifying in retrospect. EVIL WAYS is about a killer targeting a specific group in a small town. The protagonists, FBI Agent Harold Palmer and his brother, reporter Franklin Palmer, get drawn into the suspense. I used my relationship with my brother as the basis for their personalities so when they are together, it feels very real because I based that interaction on real people.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

BN: I have traveled to visit locations for my stories before, usually before I start, but sometimes during. Sometimes it depends on when I can get away. You can learn a lot by being in a place. The SNOW series is set in Atlanta. I live in Atlanta so I can scout locations for things to happen. I have fun doing that.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

BN: The publishers generally design the covers, find the artist/photographer/logo creator, etc. and I rarely have any say in the cover. Sometimes I do, but not often. On the books I self-publish, I have total control and I usually handle the design work. I know artists and photographers I can hire or ask for a favor when the need arises. Mark Maddox created the bullet splatter and body outline for EVIL WAYS to fit the design I had worked out for typeface, logo, blurbs, etc. On the SNOW books, Dennis Calero is the artist. I took his art and incorporated it into the design on the covers. On DEADLY GAMES!, I took the photo, using my friend, Kurt Allen as the stand in for my lead character. I then handled the design work. Oddly enough, the back cover has my hand as the image where Kurt took the photo.

I enjoy designing covers. They can be a lot of fun, but they can also be a royal pain. I want to put forth a cover that will grab a reader’s attention both on the book in person and on a small thumbnail at an on-line retailer. It takes planning to get it the way I want it, but most of the time I think it works out well.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

BN: First and foremost, my goal as a writer is to entertain. I don’t generally write plots that are message heavy. Messages get in there, absolutely, usually at the character level, but rarely as the main focus of the plot. Will that change for me in the future? Maybe. If I get a story idea that works, who knows where it’ll lead?

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

BN: I meet a lot of writers and there are plenty of tremendous folks out there. This is just a partial list of writers I’ve discovered who I think deserve a bigger audience. Some are newer than others, but they are mostly small press. It is by no means a complete list, but you should check them out. John Hartness, Andrea Judy, Van Allen Plexico, Kimberly Richardson, Jim Beard, Christopher Collins, Tally Johnson, Nicole Givens Kurtz, Darrin Kennedy, Jay Requard, Paul Bishop, Gary Phillips, and on and on. I’ll stop there or this could become a very long list.

Favorite author is hard to nail down because it changes from time to time. I am consistently impressed by the work of Michael Connelly. His Harry Bosch and Lincoln Lawyer novels are fantastic and I devour them as soon as they arrive. I am also excited by how well Connelly and company have transitioned Harry Bosch to TV for Amazon’s Bosch. It’s fantastic television storytelling.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

BN: Early on in my writing, before I was published, I had a few friends who continuously encouraged me to keep going. They pushed me to keep going when I felt like giving up and encouraged me to try again with each rejection, and there have been a lot of rejections. I still have friends, fans, and especially other authors who cheer me on now. I love that feeling of support this industry has. I have met and become friends with many authors, regardless of the size of publisher or audience. I have found authors to be a very supportive and welcoming group.

Oddly enough, my family really didn’t get on the support bandwagon until after I was published. At that time, my parents, especially my Dad, became a great cheerleader for my work.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

BN: Yes. It is a career I haven’t mastered yet, but there are some months where writing pays the bills. My next goal is to reach a point where writing pays my bills each month. I still have a ways to go, but I’m excited by the challenge.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

BN: I would have started it earlier and not been so rushed. That was completely my fault, but in the end, it all worked out. Sometimes, I thrive under the pressure of a tight deadline, but in the case of SNOW DRIVE, which is a tight, fast moving thriller about the racing circuit, that pressure helped move the plot at a brisk pace, I think.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

BN: I learned quite a bit about NASCAR and the racing circuit. I talked with race fans and actual racers about the ins and outs of Pit life. I had planned to take a tour of the track, but sadly, I wasn’t able to work that one in before the deadline.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

BN: I don’t know. I get that question a lot, but it always seems fluid. When Abraham Snow was originally conceived, I thought of him being played by Joe Flanigan from Stargate: Atlantis. He’s passed the age of the character now, but some of those personality traits are still in there. At one point, I thought Aldis Hodge from Leverage would make a good Abraham Snow. Give me time and I’m sure I’ll think someone else would be perfect for the role.

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

BN: Have fun with your writing. If you want to writer as a career then you have to treat writing like a job. It’s tough, I know, but when it becomes a job, that means you write even when you don’t feel like writing. You do what you must to meet deadlines, even if it means a sleepless night here or there, missing out on going to a movie. You have to treat it seriously if you want it to be your job.

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

BN: I am thankful to each and every person who has picked up one of my books or read one of my stories. I am especially thrilled that so many have taken the time to write reviews at Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, and the like or to have contacted me themselves to let me know they enjoyed something I wrote. That is a great feeling and I appreciate everyone who reads my work.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

BN: I just started THE LATE SHOW by Michael Connelly.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

BN: Not sure if it’s the first, but it’s one of the first I remember. SNOWBOUND SIX by Richard Martin Stern. I read it as part of my Mom’s Reader’s Digest Books. I recently ran across an unabridged copy. I look forward to sitting down and re-reading it soon.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

BN: I like a good silly sitcom or something like “Whose Line Is It Anyway?” They make me laugh. I don’t cry often, but a well-written, well-performed sad moment in a movie, TV show, or book, can get me a bit choked up.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

BN: I’d love to meet DeForest Kelley because he played one of my absolutely favorite characters on TV and in movies with Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy. I think he would have been a cool guy to meet and I’m sad I never got the opportunity.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

BN: I read, watch TV, sleep. Sleep counts as a hobby, right?  😊

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

BN: As a longtime comic book fan, I am loving all of the comic book based movies and TV shows. I have geeked out over some of the unexpected characters they have brought from comic book obscurity to the big and small screen. I also enjoy good space sci-fi shows. It’s nice to see Syfy Channel playing those again. Also, I could re-watch M*A*S*H on a continuous loop. I love that show.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

BN: Pasta, green, rock ‘n roll!

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

BN: I’d probably sit around lamenting my days as a writer. I have done a small bit of acting and enjoyed that experience. Maybe something like that. I would definitely want to still be involved in telling stories in some way.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

BN: Here lies Bobby Nash Jr. “What a guy!”

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

BN: Sure. You can find me at www.bobbynash.com. I try to keep it updated on a regular basis.

Bobby’s Amazon AuthorPage: www.amazon.com/author/bobbynash

BOBBY NASH AUTHOR BIO:

An award-winning author, Bobby Nash writes novels, comic books, short stories, novellas, graphic novels, and the occasional screenplay for a variety of publishers. A comprehensive list of Bobby’s published titles and upcoming releases can be found at www.bobbynash.com.Bobby is a member of the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers and International Thriller Writers.

He was named Best Author in the 2013 Pulp Ark Awards. Rick Ruby, a character co-created by Bobby and author Sean Taylor also snagged a Pulp Ark Award for Best New Pulp Character of 2013. Bobby has also been nominated for the 2014 New Pulp Awards and Pulp Factory Awards for his work. Bobby’s novel, Alexandra Holzer’s Ghost Gal: The Wild Hunt won a Paranormal Literary Award in the 2015 Paranormal Awards. The Bobby Nash penned episode of Starship Farragut “Conspiracy of Innocence” won the Silver Award in the 2015 DC Film Festival.

On occasion, Bobby appears in movies and TV shows.

For more information on Bobby Nash please visit him at www.bobbynash.com and across social media. If you see him walking around the con, please say hi and make sure he’s not lost.

RECENT BOOK RELEASES:

SNOW DRIVEA novella by Bobby Nash

Abraham Snow is back in action in SNOW DRIVE, the third book in the popular SNOW series of digest novels by Award-Winning Author Bobby Nash.

Abraham Snow’s career ended with a single shot, but now he’s back behind the wheel and looking for a saboteur.

The Chambers Stock Car Racing team hires Snow Security Consulting to get to keep their people and equipment safe and to get to the bottom of whoever is trying to put them out of business and why. Archer Snow volunteers Abraham Snow and Big John Salmon as part of the pit crew. Can they keep the team’s young hothead out of trouble long enough to stop the saboteur before the next race? Meanwhile, an old enemy sets her sights on Snow when a bounty is placed on his head. And then there’s the ending you have to see to believe.

SNOW DRIVE is the third book in the continuing adventures of Abraham Snow.

SNOW DRIVE is now available for purchase at the following:

CreateSpace eStore (paperback) – www.createspace.com/7246125

Amazon (paperback) – www.amazon.com/dp/1548008672

Barnes and Noble (paperback) – www.barnesandnoble.com/w/snow-drive-bobby-nash/1126573715

Amazon US (Kindle) – www.amazon.com/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon UK (Kindle) – www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon CA (Kindle) – www.amazon.ca/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon DE (Kindle) – www.amazon.de/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon FR (Kindle) – www.amazon.fr/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon ES (Kindle) – www.amazon.es/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon IT (Kindle) – www.amazon.it/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon NL (Kindle) – www.amazon.nl/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon JP (Kindle) – www.amazon.jp/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon BR (Kindle) – www.amazon.br/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon MX (Kindle) – www.amazon.mx/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon AU (Kindle) – www.amazon.au/dp/B0721DH8XT

Amazon IN (Kindle) – www.amazon.in/dp/B0721DH8XT

Learn more about SNOW at http://ben-books.blogspot.com/p/snow.htmlwww.bobbynash.com, or http://bobby-nash-news.blogspot.com/p/snow.html

Also available: SNOW FALLS (Book 1) and SNOW STORM (Book 2).

Book 4: SNOW TRAPPED is scheduled to premiere Fall 2017.

###

85 NORTH

ROAD TRIP! There are many roads along life’s highway, paths taken or not. You come to a crossroad. Do you turn left? Do you turn right? And can you live with the consequences of that decision?

85 North is a collection of tales from Award-Winning Author Bobby Nash that heads off the beaten path into roads not yet discovered. From superheroes to robots, 85 North is full of tales of action and adventure for the modern world and beyond.

Buckle up. It’s gonna be a bumpy ride.

You can purchase Bobby Nash’s 85 North at the following retailers:

CreateSpace (Paperback) – www.createspace.com/7047466

Amazon (Paperback) – www.amazon.com/dp/1946926043

Barnes & Noble (paperback) – https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/85-north-bobby-nash/1126032675

Amazon (ebook) – www.amazon.com/dp/B06XPKMSZN

Barnes and Noble (ebook) – www.barnesandnoble.com/w/85-north-bobby-nash/1126032675

iTunes (ebook) – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/85-north/id1218903395

Kobo (ebook) – www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/85-north

Inktera (ebook) – www.inktera.com/store/title/59392329-66ed-47cc-815c-9266a172f445

Scribd. (ebook) – www.scribd.com/book/342835334/85-North

###

THE RUBY FILES VOL. 2

I am excited to announce that the long-delayed The Ruby Files Vol. 2 anthology from Airship 27 Productions is now available in paperback and ebook.

I love the character of Rick Ruby and have fond memories of creating this book’s amazing cast of characters with my partner in crime, Sean Taylor. After all, if you’re doing a series about Bad Girls, Good Guys, and Two-Fisted Action, who better to team up with, right?

In volume two, Sean and I are joined by writers Alan J. Porter and Ron Fortier, themselves no strangers to pulpy noir tales. Artist Nik Poliwko provides the book’s beautifully noir-inspired interior illustrations. Vol. 1 cover artist, Mark Wheatley returns with an amazing cover that should make this book leap off the stands. Join us as we dive once more into the seedy underbelly of the pulp-strewn big city with Rick Ruby and company for four slam-bang tales of action, danger, sex, booze, and random gunfire.

Welcome to The Ruby Files.

Publisher’s Press Release:

RUBY IS BACK!

Airship 27 Productions is thrilled to present the second Rick Ruby anthology as created by writers Bobby Nash and Sean Taylor. New York City is private eye’s Rick Ruby beat and beautiful women his weakness. All Ruby ever wants to do is earn enough to get by and stay out of trouble.  But no matter how hard he tries to keep his nose clean, trouble has a way of finding him.

From spies, to gang wars, hangings and cold blooded murder, writers Alan J. Porter, Ron Fortier, Bobby Nash and Sean Taylor put Ruby through his paces. But in the end, the smart mouth shamus knows, to survive, he’s going to need a little help from his friends.

“Ruby is a classic private eye of the old school,” says Airship 27 Productions’ Managing Editor Ron Fortier. “I’ve always loved these characters from Sam Spade to Philip Marlowe. So when Bobby and Sean proposed this series to us, I was on board immediately. Volume one was lots of fun and our mystery fans wanted more.  We were only too happy to provide them with this second volume. I even joined in the fun contributing my own Rick Ruby story.”

Well known popular artist Mark Wheatley returns for a second, stunning cover while Nik Poliwko turned in the nine beautiful interior illustrations. A super package then assembled by Airship 27 Productions’ Art Director, Rob Davis, for as yet another great quartet of P.I. adventures.

Mystery lovers will rejoice when they crack open The Ruby Files, Volume Two.

AIRSHIP 27 PRODUCTIONS – PULP FICTION FOR A NEW GENERATION!

The Ruby Files Vol. 2 is now available now in paperback and ebook from the following retailers:

Amazon US (paperback) – www.amazon.com/dp/1946183180

Createspace (paperback) – www.createspace.com/7285657

Amazon UK (paperback) – www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1946183180

Barnes & Noble (paperback) – https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-ruby-files-volume-2-alan-j-porter/1126678262

Amazon US Kindle (ebook) – www.amazon.com/dp/B0738H1XZT

Amazon UK Kindle (ebook) – www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0738H1XZT

My story in The Ruby Files Vol. Two is called “Takedown”–

Rick Ruby discovers that all is not what it seems when investigating what should have been a simple case takes a sinister turn. Rick stumbles into an undercover sting operation between mobsters and the FBI that could get him killed, if he’s not careful.

Learn more about THE RUBY FILES at http://rickruby.blogspot.com.

###

You can view Bobby Nash’s full library of work at  www.bobby@bobbynash.com

Bobby’s Amazon AuthorPage: www.amazon.com/author/bobbynash

