Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we?

 My name is Aaron Avari, I am 39

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from Dothan Alabama

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’ve been on my own since I was about 16, I moved to North Carolina my senior year of high school. I didn’t graduate in North Carolina because my family didn’t want to travel to see my graduate. I moved back to Dothan so my mother could see me graduate, then I joined the Navy later that year.  I was only 17 but my mother agreed to sign papers so that I could join. After boot camp I moved around, got married, had two sons, got divorced. Then I landed in Georgia, I have lived here for the past 12 years, I added another son to my collection and

 

Fiona: I am currently working on the second book in the Darkness series. I am also working on a new series of Horror stories. There may be some book signings coming up

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I had a difficult childhood and I started writing poetry when I was about 10 or 11 as an outlet for my emotions. Someone gave me a journal and suggested that I write down what I was feeling. This would trap it on paper and allow me to focus again.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I am not sure I consider myself a writer. I think I just have an over active imagination, and I still believe that putting my stories and feelings down on paper allows me to clear my mind.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My children, they are avid readers.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I actually had a different title for my first book, but there was a romance novel with the same name. And I didn’t have a title until the very end of the book. The artist working on the book cover had actually titled the book unknown because, when he asked me for the book details I wrote unknown beside the title. The title came to me in the middle of the night like most of my stories do. I see a blank screen in my head then there it is.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? I don’t have a specific writing style. I start writing and the story just comes. I find ending a book difficult, I will go in to edit or change one part and that will lead to an entire new chapter.  At some point I just have to stop working on it. Even now if I go back and read my book there are changes I want to make that would turn it into a completely different book.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My book is fantasy so not much of it is based in reality.  The concept of a reoccurring dream, pushing you to the brink of insanity actually comes from a nightmare that I had over and over in my childhood.  Every detail of the nightmare was exactly the same night after night. To the point that I wasn’t afraid of it anymore. At that point in my life I realized that I was having lucid dreams and I could change anything I wanted to about it.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

My idea’s for books, stories, and scenes usually start in the middle of the night. Or While I am sitting quietly, or looking at something completely unrelated


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The book cover for Where darkness hides was designed by Terry Mckinnon and LowDallas. The book cover of The beginning of the end was designed by Lowdallas


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see writing as my passion, not so much a career. If I can make enough to turn it into a career that’s great, if not I will continue writing either way


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would go through my editing process differently, and include more back-story about some of the characters


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned about the wind cave and the ice cave in Japan

 

Fiona: If your book were made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I’m not sure, but I would hope it would be played by an unknown actor


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just write, write what you are feeling, write what you are thinking. Study pictures and the world around you and create stories from there. Even if you think it is a bad idea or story. Take that piece of story or partial ideal and work on it.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am not reading any books right now, because I am working on my books and anything I read or watch influences my writing. I don’t want to write a story that has already been writing in a different way.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t remember the first book I read but my two favorites were the princess bride, and the little mermaid. The first book I read that wasn’t a children’s book was Carolina Skeletons

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a pretty weird sense of humor so a lot of things make me laugh. For example a child laughing will make me laugh but that same child tripping over something will also make me laugh. Not much makes me cry. Human suffering maybe.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet?

Why? I would like to meet my past self to talk about the future, and ThíchQuangDuc to discuss his philosophy on life and death

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Photography, I love taking photos and making up my own stories about what is happening in them

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I rarely watch TV but like documentaries and nature shows it’s not on anymore but national geographic was my absolute favorite. When I do watch something else

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

My favorite food is mahimahi and anything with Spinach in it. I recently realized there is a lot of blue in my life, so I will say blue. I listen to all genres of music except techno but Blues is my favorite

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Photography or marine biologist.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nothing because I don’t want to be buried. The thought of anyone who loves me coming to a specific place to morn or remember me, doesn’t sit well with me. I would rather be cremated (Vikings burial preferably.) Then I want my ashes scattered in the wind so that my light and energy can be free and a part of me can continue traveling the world.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes my website is https://www.twistedkae.com  and my blog is https://twistedkae.wordpress.com

 

https://www.amazon.com/Aaron-Avari/e/B073RL8QQH/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072X12KKF

