Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Grace Brooks. I am 71, but feel like a teen ager.

Fiona: Where are you from?

ORGINALLY, I am from Sesekinika, Ontario, Canada. I currently reside in The Pas, Manitoba, Canada

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I started my education in a white with green trim, one- roomed schoo house in Sesekinika. From there I went first to high school in Kirkland Lake, Onario and Haliburton, Ontario. I did not finish high school. My finished grade is grade nine.

I come from a poor family. The youngest of six children; one sister and four brothers.

As there was only Mother raising six kids, she had a terrible life. Dad abandoned her, the family, just after I was born. My olderst sister had to quite school at sixteen and help raise the younger ones.

I left home at age eighteen and went west to a little town in south-eastern Manitoba to a job in a native tb sanatorium. The residence was right on the grounds so no trouble for me finding accomodations.

From there I went on to marry. I’ve stayed married to the one man for forty-eight years.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I don’t have any good news.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began scribbling at ten years of age. I wrote because it’s something I loved to do and it reduced stress.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably when I was ten years old.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

When younger I loved reading The Bobbsy Twins by Laura Lee. They were christian fiction and I loved to lose myself in the pages. I vowed when I grew up I would write books that inspired teens to seek God.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title, The Asquinn Twins Come to Forest Lake, just came to me.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t think I have any particular writing style.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I’d say a third of the book are actual experiences in my life.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I don’t travel, but If i’m not familiar with a certain setting, I reasearch while writing.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Samantha Fury designed the cover.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The message for readers to grasp in Book One is that the conflict of spiritual warfare and evil is a reality. That evil is real and not imaginary, and that God has called christians of all ages to stand steadfast and firm in their beliefs.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m not really familiar with the new authors. Although I have read INNER SANCTUM by Darlene Oakley and liked the book. I consider her to be a genius at writing.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Writing groups, friends on Face Book.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m revising my latest books.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I don’t knw. Mostly, that people are not always what they appear to be on the surface.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I would have to go through a gallery of pictures to answar that.
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Don’t expect great riches unless your writing involves journalism, including writing for newspapers, television, ext.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

At the moment, nothing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Silver Chief is the title of the first book I read.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A good, clean joke makes me cry. Seeing homeless people trying to find shelter in doorways makes me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I can’t imagine who.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

When I’m not writing I love working in the yard, swimming, hiking, or riding the bicycle. I love the outdoors, animals, and oh, yes, I find time to do my housework.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy any movie that has anything to do with animals, mysteries, adventure/action and the occasional romance.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

My favorite food is shepherd’s pie, my favprite color lavender and my favorite music Christian music.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d spend more time in the out- of- doors with my dogs.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Linda Grace Brooks(aka Heather Radford, Lynette Tamar Mark and Grace Brooks)1945—–  Christian writer. Creator of the Asquinn Twins and many other books. Born in Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Canada.

Loving sister to Leona Lauay, Glenn, David, and the twins, Donald and Ronald.

Loving daughter of Alfreda C Allen and John T. Shortt

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

http://heatherradford.weebly.com/

https://www.facebook.com/reading.christian

https://www.facebook.com/grace.brooks.94

https://gracebrooks9.tumblr.com/

www.linkedin.com/in/grace-brooks-3b9a5136

 

