Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name.  

Tara L. Ames is a pen name. If she takes off, I’ll come out of the closet-LOL.

 

What is your age? My dear, a lady never reveals her age. LOL.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 

I’m originally from Michigan.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I grew up outside of Detroit, graduated from Michigan State University-Go Spartans and eventually moved to Florida. I’m married and have a son who is currently attending college. As of now, I write full time and have a wonderful critique group whose members are multi-published authors.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m excited about my upcoming release The Risk Taker. It’s the first book in the Alpha Aviators series—a sexy contemporary romance and it should be up for pre-order on most retail sites by June 17th.  Books 2-4: The Heart Breaker, The Dream Maker and The Soul Shaker will be released in August, September and October respectively.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was going through a rough time about ten years ago. My son had some major challenges and my husband was diagnosed with heart disease. Plus, I was working about sixty-hour work weeks, if not more. I needed an escape and started reading romance novels.  I couldn’t get enough of them. They helped me forget my problems at least for a while anyway.  After reading about 1000+ books, I wanted to write. I signed up with RWA, learned the craft on writing, joined Florida Romance Writers and eventually became president of the chapter for two years.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a serious writer about five years ago. I self-published under the name of Khloe Adams with two other authors in 2014. Sadly, we each encountered some heavy duty life changes and we had to end the partnership. Currently, I have a historical women’s fiction novel pending with an agent and I’m launching the Alpha Aviators series this summer/fall, with plans to publish two more series in 2018.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’m drawn to reading/writing about emotionally scarred military heroes. After reading several books with these types of characters, I wanted to write about them. First, I found writing rehabilitating for the soul. Then, it became my passion. I write almost every day and love creating characters and new stories.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Still grieving for her daredevil of a fiancé, my heroine has sworn off all adrenaline junkies while my hero, a highly qualified naval aviator, lives on the edge and takes risks. You’ll have to read the book to find if she will come out of shell and take a chance on…The Risk Taker.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My critique group loves my metaphors. I write in third person and only in the hero’s and heroine’s POV. Most challenging are the action scenes. I want to make them realistic as possible without going into too much military detail. I know for me when I read these types of romances, I’m more about the relationship and the emotion between the H/H than the technical jargon and equipment.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The first three books primarily take place in Key West, the fourth book, in Montana. And the characters and storylines are all figments of my imagination.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

In developing some of my scenes in the books, I pulled from my travels to the U.K., North Carolina, Wyoming, the Caribbean and Key West.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Bookinitdesigns

http://www.bookinitdesigns.com

Talina Perkins, who is also a romance author, is wonderful and easy to work with.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Don’t be afraid to take a chance on life. You’ll be amazed by the wonderful things that follow like making new friends, learning a craft or falling in love.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I love Tawny Weber. I like how she focuses heavily on the relationship while threading the military part through the book.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

There are toooooo many to name. It wouldn’t be fair to only name one.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I’m in this for the long haul.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really. I have had several people read it and they all told me they loved it. Even my amazing editor Em Petrova, who is also a romance author.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Tons about the military. I even went up and visited the National Navy Seal Museum in Fort Pierce, Florida. That was really cool.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Ryan Guzman or Aaron Taylor-Johnson (Yes…Captain America-LOL).

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Follow your passion and success will follow you.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 

I hope my books take you to that wonderful land of make believe, where you fall in love with the characters and are swept away by their stories.

And if any of my readers have a military background and/or know someone who was or is a Naval Aviator, I’d love to talk to you. Please email me at taralames0@gmail.com

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now, I’m really busy, launching Tara L. Ames and my books. I’m hoping once things settle, I can get back to TBR pile.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

My first romance novel was Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife. Prior to that, I read mainly thrillers and mysteries.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Books like You Before Me and movie openings such as in Star Trek, where Chris Hemsworth dies within the first five minutes of the movie, saving *800 crew members and his wife, who just had their son.

*That was a guess. It could’ve been more.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d like to meet King Tut. Maybe he could let us in on some secrets regarding our past and who built the pyramids.  Or maybe Plato, so we could learn more about locating the lost land of Alexandria. Heck, I wouldn’t mind cashing in on that one.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I’m a Qi Gong, Tai Chi fanatic and a Suduko addict.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Love most British TV series, The Walking Dead, Six, and historical documentaries. I’m a big movie fan too.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

I love Pizza and I’ve turned into a contemporary country music fan. Love Luke Bryan.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I don’t want to even think about that.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Ding Dong, the witch is dead-LOL.  I’m just teasing.  I don’t know. I guess I would just want to leave this earth, knowing I was a good person who was loved by my friends and family.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

To discover your next sexy read, visit https://www.taralames.com

Here are my retail links for my book:

https://www.amazon.com/Risk-Taker-Alpha-Aviators-ebook/dp/B0744MT142

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-risk-taker/id1262445417?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-risk-taker-tara-l-ames/1126826785?ean=9781537868509

https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Tara_L_Ames_The_Risk_Taker?id=Mb0tDwAAQBAJ

https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/the-risk-taker-3

Thank you Fiona for this great interview. I enjoyed being interviewed by you.

