Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Shelly Crane, 29 years old…again. (35 years of youngness)

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Everywhere, USA

I was born in Arkansas and have moved around a ton in my life—from doing so in school a lot and then doing so with my husband’s job after marriage I can’t even count the number of times I’ve moved. So honestly, I don’t really feel like I’m “from” anywhere. I just know I’m southern. 😉

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

We travel with my hubby’s job so I’ve lived in a lot of states. I love it. I’m currently packing up my house to move literally from one coast to the other. We have two teenage boys and two Schnauzers that travel with us.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Well….I’m moving across the country J And I’m currently writing Undeniably Fated!!!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I never planned to be a writer, it just happened on me one day. I was a stay-at-home mom and we were on our very first traveling job for my husband. He was working 7 days a week, 12 hours a day at the time, and my two sons were 4 and 6. So I started reading as an outlet, something to do with my time. And then it began to consume me. But a lot of the stories seemed to blur together, not stick out to me. A lot of them just seemed to be the same so I decided if it was fun to read it would be fun to write. And I wrote I first book Collide. Now 23 books later…

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not until I had many books published, but honestly in my heart, probably not until Wide Awake made the New York Times. Which is sad.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A dream I had that was very Matrix-like with pods and things. But when I wound up writing Collide it wasn’t anything like what my dream was. #GoFigure

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Sometimes the titles come from something in the book or sometimes the title is done before the book is even started. It just depends. For me, anything in life is a spark for ideas.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t schedule myself, or I try not to unless I have to. I try to write a little everyday.

Fiona: How much of the books are realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Probably about 10% is stuff that has happened to me or someone I know, is a portrayal of someone I know or a situation that I’m aware of. If you’re friends or family with me, you have to know there’s a chance you’ll end up in a book. J

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I travel a lot for events and signings. I do some travel for research as well but not near as much as I’d like.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The Significance Series’ new covers was just revealed! They were done by Steph’s Cover Design. My The Other Side of Gravity was done by The Cover Lure.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My author group—the Hellcats was what we were back then. They were so amazing and supportive for me. We grew up in the business together. I don’t know what I would have done back then without them.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nah. You can’t look back and wish you’d done things differently, especially with book writing. Books, for me, write themselves. I just do the work. So, it would seem wrong to go back and change anything when it came so naturally the first time.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learn a little something more with every book I write. I think every author does. I hope I always do. I always want to continue to grow and get better.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Opposite of You by Rachel Higginson

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first Indie book you read?

I sure do. It was M. Leighton. And it was fabulous. It opened up a whole new world on my Kindle AND was the reason that I eventually published one day.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh: Cheesy things, sarcastic comedies, being tickled (but DON’T).

Cry: Commercials, any military family reunion of any sort, seeing someone cry (Especially an old guy. It hits my feels.)

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Gene Kelly. Because he was the most amazing on-screen gentleman and I would love to have picked the brain of the man who helped to create a lot of that amazingness.

 

Fiona: What TV shows do you enjoy watching?

I’ve been watching The 100, Game of Thrones, Santa Clarita Diet, Westworld, Peaky Blinders, Stranger Things, Z Nation, The Ranch, Good Witch. I’m sure there’s more. Like that not enough already.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would be a wife and mom still, like I always have been. Just one who likes to read.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Shelly Crane lies here sweetly under the moon.

Her words made us laugh, her words made us swoon.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

www.shellycraneauthor.com is my website.

Amazon Authors page

https://www.amazon.com/Shelly-Crane/e/B0055Q9PWS/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Shelly-Crane/e/B0055Q9PWS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1500852286&sr=1-2-ent

 

Thank you for having me! I appreciate it so much.

Best wishes and happy endings,

Shelly Crane

 

 

 

 

