Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

First, thank you for having me on your blog! My name is Rich Amooi and I’m a teenager trapped in the body of a fifty-five year old man.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in San Francisco, but have lived in Silicon Valley (San Jose, California) most of my life. We are now in the process of relocating to San Diego to be closer to the ocean!

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

After graduating from high school, I went to broadcasting school and started my career as a radio personality (DJ) on the air. That career lasted thirty-three years until I began writing romantic comedies. I am happily married to a kiss monster imported from Spain.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m current working on my eleventh romantic comedy, Madam Love, Actually.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My hot Spanish encouraged me to take writing classes at Stanford. I ended up taking four classes over a four-year period and loved them.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Again, it was my hot Spanish wife. She encouraged me to turn one of the short stories I wrote at Stanford into a full-length novel. That short story turned into my first novel, Five Minutes Late.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

That was easy since the hero in the story was always five minutes late.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write dialogue-heavy stories with humor, so they are fast, fun reads. Writing with humor is not easy, but I would say the most challenging part for me is outlining the story before I start writing.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

A few parts of the book are based on real life experiences, but I have fun exaggerating them for comedic purposes.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Sue Traynor is my amazing artist for the covers. She lives in Cheshire, England.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Don’t worry, be happy.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m a big fan of Kristan Higgins and Tracy Brogan. I love the way they balance the romance and humor in their stories. It’s not easy to do, and they are two of the best in the business.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I would be too busy celebrating and jumping up and down to care who plays the lead.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep writing!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Romantic comedies. I could watch them every single night.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Is there a soccer league for retired people? If so, sign me up!

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Rich was a kind, silly man.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Rich’s website: www.richamooi.com.

Rich’s Amazon US author page:

https://www.amazon.com/Rich-Amooi/e/B00CHD8FH8

Rich’s Amazon UK author page:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rich-Amooi/e/B00CHD8FH8

 

Thanks again for hosting me on your blog!

