Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, I’m L A Cataldo. My age? Um, Let’s keep that one on the down low. 😉

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Wisconsin.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a mother of two sons. They’re both grown now. I’m married to a wonderful man named Jim. I graduated high school. After that, I modeled. Moving forward, I took a college course for basic office skills.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My second book in The Dark Series is now LIVE! Dark Presence. I’m very excited about this. Now I’m working on the third book in the series. I can’t wait till you all get your hands on it.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

A couple years ago, I opened up MS word and stared at the blank page. My mind was whirling with stories that I wanted to write. I never actually thought to put them on paper before. That day, I did! I just started writing. My first book became a reality and there ya go!

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After my first published book.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My mother. I was not much of a book reader growing up. My mother always had a book in hand. She loved reading. Her love for books inspired me. I never knew I would love it as much as I do. I myself cannot stop reading books too. This is what brought me to now. All the stories I conjure up in my mind needed to be written. Her love for books are what inspired me to write today.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I was in a dark place when I wrote the first book, which started with the title “Dark.” Not knowing it would turn into a series, the details of the first book relates to her past. That is what inspired the title for the first book, Dark Past.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

No, not really. The only challenge is the research. When writing something about a city, state you are not familiar with is hard. Other than that, the story just flows.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some things are realistic. Mostly, fiction!

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Yes, I travel. I attend book conventions, signings. I love meeting the readers. They are all just so wonderful!

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Amanda Walker is my cover designer. She does such a wonderful job. I don’t know what I’d do without her.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I just want them to enjoy the read. There are no messages. I just hope they love them.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have many favorite Authors. I couldn’t mention them all. There are just too many.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Leo Taylor. He held my hand through the whole process in the beginning. Till this day, he still does when needed. I’m very grateful to him for being there for me.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes and No. If I could make this a career, I would. However, reality is, I still need to work. LOL

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would probably make the first book longer. It was my first! I’ve learned so much since then.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

OH yes, my readers were expecting the roll off of the first book. They actually won’t get that till the third. Nevertheless, I saw how much they were so excited to get what they hoped for. I think with the next series I do, I will flow it differently for them. I want to keep them happy at least.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

This is a hard question. I’ve never actually thought about it being made into a movie. If it ever did, I would be ecstatic! I then would be on the hunt for perfect actors.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just keep on writing. Don’t ever give up!

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I just want to thank them all for their support. They make me smile every day!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m not reading anything at this time. I’m working on the third book in the series.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, “Are you there God, it’s me Margarete.”

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

There are so many different things.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Patrick Dempsey is one of my favorite actors and of course HOT! I would probably pass out. LOL

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love reading, listening to books. I love playing the piano, or try too. I like going to plays and operas. Ballets are my favorite.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Favorite TV & Films… Game of thrones, Supernatural, Lucifer.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

I have a weakness for Mexican food. My favorite colors are pink and blue. I like all types of music.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would be back to my boring life of just working. The day-to-day routine.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Website: www.lacataldo.com

Website blog: www.lacataldo.com/blog

Author page. www.facebook.com/authorlacataldo

Twitter: www.twitter.com/authorlacataldo

https://www.amazon.com/L-A-Cataldo/e/B017C2OZ72/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

