Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

G.Ogan (I’m old enough to know not to tell my age)

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Washington D.C. at the start of World War II when my late father worked for the Federal Government.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (your education, family life, etc.)

I’ve been happily married for almost 50 years. I have two graduate degrees in Psychology, the first was earned while in the United States Air Force and the second after my retirement from the service.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

We are about to have a great-grandchild born to one of our granddaughters and are about to travel to see the happy event.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

After my mother’s death I had to clean out my late father’s files (he had almost 40 old, government style seven drawer cabinets chock full. Cleaning them out filled many, many 55 gallon heavy duty trash bags full to bursting. At the bottom of the last drawer sat an old, yellow stained letter sized envelope which I picked up by the end to throw in the trash. Moving it, I heard a “click” as if there was something inside. Opening it, I found an old Black & White Photograph of my father as a rather young man. On the back of the photo he had written “Prague, Czechoslovakia” in his bold script. I turned it back over and found he was standing in front of a very unusual building that had a large clock face on the wall. I should have thrown the picture away at that point but flipped it back over again. That is when I noticed some almost invisible writing on the bottom. In a very feminine had was written, “I will always be waiting here for you”. This caused me to remember things my mother had mumbled to herself when I was just a child, but which I overheard: “He is over there with that woman!” and something that sounded like “he’s had a child with that woman!” She also asked me what I’d do if she divorced my father! I guess I was too young to do more than tuck the memories away in my subconscious. However, seeing that handwritten promise caused me to do more than remember! I sat down and wrote the start of my first novel “Immortal Relations.” The photograph is on page two of both the printed and digital versions.  “Immortal Relations, Love and War” is the title of the second book in the series and “Immortal Relations Coming Out” is the title of the third book in the series. Each novel can “stand alone” without “cliff hangers.” The best of the five-star reader comments was left by a lady who read the second book before reading the first and then the third.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I had written professional papers in the service and, after my retirement, wrote a book on assessment and treatment for ADHD while working in the field of psychology. It was favorable comments about the first book, placed by readers, on Amazon that got me to write the second and third books. I still consider myself more of a story teller than a writer at this stage.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The first book started as a cathartic exercise when I found the evidence of my late father’s tryst immediately after WW-II.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I “blame” my muse for that. It was as if I was told what the title should be. Everything of a romantic nature I blame on that pesky muse of mine! (-;

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’ve always had a vivid imagination and have always been told that I “think outside the box.” I know a lot of writers have “dry spells” when they can’t think what to write. I, on the other hand, have just the opposite problem. My imagination goes so fast that it postulates multiple scenarios and scenes that I must pick and choose as the thoughts fly past. That is the most difficult thing for me. As for writing style, with my imagination on overdrive I’m definitely typing by the seat of my pants. I blame spelling and punctuation errors on my pesky muse who won’t slow the stream of information down!

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I tell readers that if you read all three books, you will know me better than my own family. The thoughts and experiences come from what I lived and learned in my life, over twenty years of which were in the service.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

While in the military I served in or visited most countries in Europe and Asia (even part of China) as well as various assignments in the United States.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I gave preliminary drawings to Doug Adams, a young college art student friend of ours. He did his best to paint the first and second covers but was unavailable to do the third cover. I had to use a file photograph to show what was supposed to be a large asteroid coming toward Earth from deep space. We superimposed Gary Logan’s face onto that picture to make the cover.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That those who might be seen as possible threats may, in fact, be friends who are really a help in difficult and dangerous situations and that God’s gift of redemption is available to all.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I read extensively and always leave positive comments on the works of other authors on Amazon (where it seemingly does the most good). I’m now reading a compilation of stories from various authors and have enjoyed both the author’s life view and the evocative story “Something to Live For” by Natalie Owens. Being a patriot and a lover of action novels, my favorite author was the late Tom Clancy!

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Shortly after my first novel was published, a gentleman by the name of Rasmussen read it and left such a wonderful review of the book on Amazon that I felt compelled to continue the series. Now, if I can get some reviews for the two follow-up novels, perhaps I’ll quiet my muse who insists that I write more.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

For me, writing is all about the stories and I love to tell a good yarn. I’ve had and retired from two careers, the military and as an Associate Clinical Psychologist with the Texas Dept. of Criminal Justice. I just see story telling as enjoyable while sharing some of what I’ve learned and believe along the way, not as a third career.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really as I think it paints a clear picture of a challenging time in our nation’s history and how the regime in Washington harmed the country.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I’m not as good at punctuation and spelling as I’d like to be.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Matthew McConaughey. He would have to have some serious makeup to have him look like he was in his 60s at the start but could then look his handsome self after being turned.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Even J. K. Rowling didn’t get recognized overnight so don’t quit your day job just yet.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

If you enjoy reading a novel, PLEASE leave a comment about it on Amazon and other sites. Story tellers, writers and authors live or die by the comments we receive on such sites!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The compilation I’m currently reading is titled, “Addictive Paranormal Reads: 10 Author/1,000 Page Paranormal…” I loved both the first and second in the series (I’m just now getting ready to start the third story in the book).

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first books I read were likely the Hobbit and the Trilogy of the Rings. I read those paperback versions so many times that the books came apart at the seams. What amazing stories those are!

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Our wonderful Pomeranian dogs make us laugh, especially when they are puppies and cry our hearts out when one departs due to old age.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Winston Churchill and his wife (as she was the driving force behind him) are who I would like to meet. Along with R.J. Mitchell they did more to save England and the world during World War Two than they are given credit for.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I like to drive my 64 Studebaker Station Wagon and my 66 Mustang Convertible.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

There are several programs I try to watch. I try to never miss “le Tour de France” and to watch both World Cup (European) and the American version of Football.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

My favorite foods are anything with chocolate, thus I also love salads (to try and offset the weight gain from the chocolate). Favorite colors are Red, White and Blue and music is Ode to Joy among other up-beat classical and classical rock!

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Watch a lot of television and get another two Pomeranian puppies!

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

My name and “A Lover of Life”

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers? 

http://immortalrelations.blogspot.com/ I’m not on it all the time but update it when any of my stories are FREE (vs. $.99) on Kindle.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=G.+D.++Ogan&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=G.+D.++Ogan&sort=relevancerank

 

 

 

