Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 Hi everyone! I’m Jackie Zack, and I’m a fifty-something. 😀

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Indiana which is roughly the size of Ireland. Somehow that makes Indiana much more interesting.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’ve always enjoyed art and have worked on a variety of art projects, including painting, ceramics, and mixed media. I have a degree in graphic design. One fun thing about family life is that my children also enjoy art.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My new release is now available, Way of the Raven. It’s a Contemporary Romance with elements of Suspense. Also included in part of the subplot is a mysterious, eclectic artist with an amazing talent.

Here is the back cover blurb:

Two Converging Paths…

NYC editor David Wappelhorst has everything going for him except what he’s wanted in life. Concerned he’s waited too long to pursue his dream of writing a bestseller, he ditches his prestigious career and relocates to his hometown.

After witnessing a murder and given a new identity, Megan Summers finds herself in a Podunk Pennsylvanian town far away from family. Stunned with grief, she wonders if it’s possible to rebuild her life. A nearby abandoned brick house with a grim history lends more unease to her situation. Has she escaped one deadly past to live in the shadow of another?

David is intrigued by crossing Megan’s path. Why does she seem familiar? And by meeting her has his desire turned tragically unattainable?

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I’ve always enjoyed reading and knew from an early age that I wanted to be a writer. I’ve always felt compelled to write. My first completed writing piece was a screenplay that I wrote in high school.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I began to seriously think of myself as a writer when I completed my first novel.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 Sometimes when bad things happen, it can be turned on its ear into comedy. That’s what I tried to accomplish with Rafe’s Cafe and ended up falling in love with the characters. I was surprised that I could actually write a whole book.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 The title, Rafe’s Café, is what Rafe had dreamed of having someday. He’d studied as a chef, and his mother made up a small neon sign for him that he could eventually use in his café. He has the sign hanging up in his kitchen.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 I tend to write with a bit of comedy included. The whole process of writing is challenging: endearing characters, interesting/inspiring locations, and a page-turning plot. Coming up with a surprise to the reader is always fun.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 Everything is based on imagination.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 I enjoy looking up information and pictures and then pinning them on Pinterest.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Since I have a background in graphic design, I’m always thinking about the covers and enjoy designing them.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is a Christian thought in each of the books. For example: Love is kind and God is accessible through prayer.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

For a new author, I would say, Erin Morgenstern and her book The Night Circus. I loved the imaginative scenes, the characters, and the adventure. For my favorite author it’s hard to choose just one. I always look forward to the newest book by Martha Grimes. I love her characters in the Richard Jury series.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

American Christian Fiction Writers critique group has really helped me and encouraged me.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it as a career, but more as a way of life.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Way of the Raven is a romance with a touch of suspense. It leans more toward the romance part of the story. I’ve briefly wondered about how it would be if the suspense outweighed the romance. But I keep coming back to the conclusion that I wouldn’t like it then. J ha-ha!

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 I really enjoyed learning about Pennsylvania and especially the town of Centralia’s underground coal fire that can’t be extinguished. In Way of the Raven, David goes exploring there to get a sense of devastation for his dystopian tale.  

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 I would like Emma Watson to play the lead of Megan.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Write because you love to write.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Way of the Raven is my fourth book. Readers have been excited about it and have said that it’s my best one yet.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Red Velvet Cupcake Murder by Joanne Fluke. I’ve always wanted to read one of her books and am glad that I did.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 I don’t remember the first book that I read, but I do remember going into the bookmobile in grade-school and choosing The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis. I loved it!

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Jim Gaffigan’s comedy is the best and makes me laugh. And laughing so hard that I cry is always a plus.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Agatha Christie – She is a fascinating author, and I loved reading all her books.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 I enjoy crochet and have crocheted afghans. I especially like working with color and putting colors together.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 I enjoy mystery and action.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 I would do a lot of reading, painting, and crocheting.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

A funny thing happened on the way to the grocery… (Kidding! J)

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

The best places are Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008256105515

And Twitter: https://twitter.com/JackieZack1

https://www.amazon.com/Jackie-Zack/e/B00V2GC32E/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1500742250&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jackie-Zack/e/B00V2GC32E/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1500742313&sr=1-2-ent

 

Thank you so much for this interview, Fiona! I really appreciate it!

 

 

