Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Amber Joi Scott, I am the ripe age of 52

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

The lovely Shenandoah Valley of Virginia

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am married and have three wonderful young adult children, who are the love of my life.  I have a BS in Accounting and a minor in computers from ETSU in Tennessee, yup Southern Girl all the way.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have book three in my Bound Series coming out on August 5th.  I am so excited.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I never thought I could be a writer, because I thought I was a numbers person.  I crocheted and knitted since I was nine years old, but in the winter of 2014, I could no longer hold the needles due to my RA.  Needing something to do creative, I decided to try to write a story that I had in my head.  I wrote it in the Fanfiction World and people seemed to like it and that pushed me to write more and more.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

When someone recommended my book to someone.  She tagged my name and I was shocked and honored.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always loved both a hot romance, but also a shoot ’em up story.  I spent months researching both subject matter and I worried at one point that FBI would show up on my door, since I researched the mafia so much.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I thought of both worlds that my book series is about and it came very easy after that.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?  I love writing in third person point of view.  I love giving the readers a look in every characters mind.  The challenge for me is to make sure that I portray both the mafia world and the community correctly.  I let a Dominant read my book and he gave me his seal of approval, which was huge for me.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

This is all fiction, except the Coven Inc which is based off Monster Inc of the 1930’s.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel?Before or during the process?

I am a homebody and have a wonderful home office that I enjoy writing in.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I am blessed to be a graphic designer, so I do all my own design work.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Family above all else.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you? 

Ardent Rose has become one of my favorite writers, who writes wonderful naughty tales and I recently came across another mafia writer Elena Reigns.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My friends Sher Lynn, Angel, Becky, and Denise.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

In my wildest dreams, YES.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.  I love the characters.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

To always, listen to my characters when they talk to you when you write.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Charlie Hunnam or Robert Pattinson.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t let your feelings that you can’t write, let it stop you.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers? 

Don’t be afraid to reach out to your favorite authors.  We love talking to our fans.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Hayward Kings by Eleona Reigns

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

No.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Cat Videos…weird I know.  SPCA commercials

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love  meet? Why?  

Marilyn Monroe.  I have loved her for years and I would ask her to do me a crayon drawing.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Only reading, writing, and graphic design work.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones and Great British Baking Show

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love sushi.  I love all colors of the rainbow and I will listen to almost everything from every era.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write.

What would you do? Go nuts.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She lived, loved, and laughed.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

https://www.facebook.com/amberjoiscott

https://twitter.com/amberjoiscott

https://www.instagram.com/amberjoiscott/

www.amberjoiscott.com

https://www.amazon.com/Amber-Joi-Scott/e/B01NAC09UZ/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1500715905&sr=1-2

 

 

