Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, everyone! My name is Lilly Moore and I am 20 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

England

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a 20 year old student who is in the middle of a mathematics and economics degree. I spend most of my free time (and lecture time, let’s be real) imagining far-away worlds and writing about them.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo and posting excerpts of my novel on my blog!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always been making up stories and poems. As soon as I learned to write, I started putting them down so that I wouldn’t forget them (and so I could send them to my grandma)

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I definitely thought I was a writer back when I was five and had written down my first poem!

I guess I’ve always thought of myself as a writer just because I do spend most of my time writing. I don’t know if I am a particularly good one, but I am a writer.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was stuck in a dark and difficult place. To get through, I imagined I was in a fairytale full of strange creatures and battles. Then, once I had a bit of time to myself, I stated writing it down.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

“Angel School” is still a very preliminary title that I’m not quite happy with. But I think it just came to me one day.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I suppose that most writers have something specific that sets them apart, but I don’t purposely try to do anything with my style to make it unique.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Way too much. Nothing in my book actually happened to me, but a lot of the ideas come from real-life experiences.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Luckily, my book is a fantasy novel which doesn’t take place on planet Earth as we know it, so I’ve never had to travel while writing it. But a lot of the environments in it are loosely based on places that I have been to before.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Don’t give up.

Things and people are never as they seem.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I absolutely adore Frances Hodgson Burnett and her style which is simultaneously elegant and comforting.

Also, of course, J. K. Rowling, for her ability to hide mysteries in every scene.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My wonderful blog readers!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I definitely see it as a full-time career that you have to commit a lot of time and energy towards.

I do, however, also believe in having a day job-not just for financial stability, but also to broaden your horizons and to give you something to write about.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m still in the process of editing it, so luckily I still have the power to change things.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I spent three years planning the novel and imagining short scenes for it, without actually writing it properly. One thing that I really learned is that characters develop and stories change through the actual process of writing and that you don’t need to have everything planned out to start.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Myself? It’s not very realistic, but I would really love to do it.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Good writing actually does good.

And never give up on your stories, no matter what people say.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I love and appreciate you all so much.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“My Family and Other Animals”, “Alice in Wonderland” and “The Silkworm”.

I’m also very slowly chipping away at “War and Peace”.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

One of the first books that I can remember being read to me is a huge, old volume of PippiLongstocking stories.

The first proper novel that I read myself was “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban”.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh: funny moments in conversations

Cry: way too many things

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

So many! I’m going to go with a very overused answer here and say J. K. Rowling.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Running, Tae Kwon Do, blogging, making little Youtube videos, reading (I have a soft spot for detective stories) and exploring my city.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love watching old episodes of “The Addams Family”.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Food: chocolate mousse

Colour: purple

Music: I’m a huge fan of Taylor Swift, AVByte and listening to the songs from Horrible Histories over and over again.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Go crazy. But career-wise, I would keep on working to become a consultant or an epidemiologist while still filming Youtube videos and reading as much as possible.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Probably something important and impressive that I’m really not worthy of at the present moment.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I do! My blog is called Moonbeams on the Path, and it’s a fun little cave full of book reviews, my own stories, Harry Potter theories, maths tutorials, random midnight thoughts, games and chats, so go and check it out!

 

 

https://moonbeamsonthepath.wordpress.com/ .

