Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?  

Hello, I am E.W. Brent. I am old enough to know better but young enough to still have fun!

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am a southern girl and w Will always be a TEXAN at heart!

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.)

.  I am married to my current husband. (Yes! I am being funny here)  I have a grown daughter from my first marriage who claims she will NOT read my novel when published, as it contains sexual content, and she just cannot handle that from her Mom!  I told her no worries, I would just post on her Facebook that it was HER sex life and I would then sell all the books I needed!  Seriously, I am an insurance professional by trade.  I have three fur babies that ARE my children. I love photography, gardening and mostly making people smile!

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.  

I HOPE to have my first book available by the end of this month, however it is still in editing.  (Secrets and Lies at the Water’s Edge)

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Actually many years ago my Mom was attempting her first novel and I elaborated adding colorful background information.  It was then I realized how much I enjoyed it.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

What!  Me? A writer?  That is certainly my dream!

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

This is a tough one.  I really can’t answer that, other than it was my Mom who peaked my interest.  I actually have three other novels on the back burner. My current one….well…

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?  

It just kind of evolved. The book starts out at the ‘water’s edge’ so that portion was an obvious choice.  Since it involves an extramarital affair my sister added the “Secrets and Lies”. (Kudos to you sister!)

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?  I am a flip flopper!  Lol! Meaning I like to switch from past to present tense. It just makes sense to me. I do not like first person narrating, to me that is hard to read. I want the reader to be involved enough to take on that task and not feel as though they are just listening to someone tell a story. I want them involved!

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

The book is based on FICTIONAL characters.  I suppose all fiction, of course has some truth to it, yes?

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Travel?  Only in my mind Fiona, only in my mind!

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I actually used two different people, both of which were great!   For the back and spine I used Liv Moore with  “Liv’s Lovely Designs” and  the front was Madelene Martin. Both have done exceptional work.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes! Although we say we will react in a certain way to a given situation, you never really know until YOU are in that situation yourself.  Love is powerful.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?  Too many to list! I’m sorry but my interest is vast and I would have to write a book, literally!

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.  

That’s easy! MY BEST FRIEND!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I am doing it more for the love of creating. IF a career happened, well THAT would be awesome!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Wow, Fiona you really ask some tough questions.  Since my first book is still in process…it is subject to change at this moment.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

OMG! Did I ever!  I learned that I have poor grammar, can’t spell! Can’t remember ANYTHING and that being an Indie Author is mind boggling!  But, in all seriousness it has been and is an exciting experience!

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

OMG! Fiona! MY DREAM!  I have already picked the opening music!! LOL  That would be Elton John’s ‘The One”.  Susan Lucci! Of Course would be the lead actress and Tom Selleck the leading man! Oh my heart be still!

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep going! Be patient! Don’t get discouraged!

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Another tough one Fiona.  I would like to thank them, for taking a chance on me!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

OMG! NO!

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Being silly makes me laugh!  Making other people laugh makes me laugh! My fur babies make me laugh!   Ummmm …cry?  Oh no, I don’t like that.  Sad movies, sad songs, mistreated animals, lonely people, missing my parents who are angels in heaven.  The thought of not having my soul mate!

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet?Why?

TOM SELLECK!!! I don’t think I have to elaborate!

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Oh dear…here we go!  I love photography and gardening.  I am nicknamed after a superhero cartoon character (well actually I have several nicknames) for when I decide I can do something incredible  (as in incredible that I can do it!) example: painting palm trees on the ceiling of my Lanai and it turning out decent!

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Romantic comedies are my favorite!  I like to smile and be happy, therefore I do not want sad or scary shows!

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Love!  Love!  Love PIZZA!!!  And I am so addicted to Coca Cola!!  Colors depend on the item, but basically I suppose I would say red and yellow.  I LOVE music, almost all genres other than rap and the old country, cry in your beer!

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

ACT!!

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

A unique and special person who loved life and making others smile.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes I do! Thank you for asking!  http://ewbrentauthor.com  I am also on Facebook, and https://twitter.com/EWBrent7/media

https://www.instagram.com/ewbrent/?hl=en

 

