Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Fiona: Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Nyasia: My name is Nyasia A. Maire and I will celebrate my 60th birthday this November!

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Nyasia: I was born early one Monday morning in Encino, California and have made Studio City, California my home for 31 years.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (i.e.: your education, family life, etc.)

Nyasia: I began writing at an early age and have never stopped. Reading is one of my great passions, an extension of my love of words. My favorite genres are science fiction, horror and fantasy (books or movies.) And, as strange as it may seem to some, a love of all things computer.

I graduated high school in 1975 and attended college for two semesters, but felt I could learn more in the school of life. I am a self-taught writer and feel that as long as I write, I will continue to learn.

I’m also a semi-retired photojournalist. I still dabble in photography and always will. My first camera was given to me when I was 8-years old. Recently, I received a credit as Set Photographer for the music video of “Old Vienna” by Diego’s Umbrella. I love photography and combine it whenever possible with my final passion: music.

Running through my life is music: the soundtrack of life. From classical to death metal, pop to rap, and, of course, good ol’ rock ‘n roll . . . music is life and life is music. And sometimes, you don’t have to hear well with your ears to appreciate music with your heart.

I live in Studio City, California with my daughter, three cats, a boa constrictor named Violet and all of the characters I imagine into being.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Nyasia: I’m currently spending my time being politically active when I should be working on the rewrite of my sequel to The Heretic’s Child. Unfortunately, my storyline follows real world history, so I’m waiting to see how events unfold.

My latest news is that I’ve been participating in poetry readings on the first Friday of the month at Pipe and Thimble Bookstore in Lomita, California. I’ll also be attending a Meet the Author at the Third Thursday at Tujunga Village in Studio City, California on July 20, 2017 and another Meet the Author at Pipe and Thimble Bookstore on August 19, 2017.

The Heretic’s Child is available online through Lulu.com, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple iBooks and Kobo. The Heretic’s Child is available at The Book Carnival in Orange, California and at The Pipe and Thimble Bookstore in Lomita, California. The Heretic’s Child is also available from the Los Angeles Public Library.

The Heretic’s Child won 2017 Best Book Cover from Read My Mind The Blogger’s Magazine – 2017 Summer Edition.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Nyasia: I wrote my first story when I was 8 years old. I was in 3rd grade and as homework, my teacher told us to write a short story. I completed the assignment and handed in my assignment. The stories and poetry began making their appearances in my life after that and have never stopped.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Nyasia: I’ve always thought of myself as a writer. The moment I felt like a “real” writer was when I received my first rejection notice when I was 10 years old. However, it seems to me that most people don’t consider a person a writer until they’ve been published. Using that perspective, I didn’t become a writer until I was 57 years old.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Nyasia: Nothing inspired me other than the need to tell a story. My stories start as an image in my mind and then, the details start as a “what if?” It niggles at my mind and I have to write it down so I can let it go.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Nyasia: I always start with a working title and the title goes through several (sometimes more than several) incarnations. While writing my latest book, The Heretic’s Child, the title created itself.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Nyasia: All of my novels, excepting that last one were written in the third person. My latest, I wrote in the first person and that was a challenge as I had two main characters and I had to switch between them from chapter to chapter.

I have a bad habit of changing tenses, sometimes in the same sentence.

I believe I’ve developed my “style” over the many years I’ve been writing, so I don’t have a problem with that. I just try to hone it and perfect it. My main nemesis is editing because I can’t afford to hire a professional. I find editing my own work challenging.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Nyasia: It depends on the book. I named characters in my latest book after family and friends and that’s something I’ve never done before. I try to take the familiar and create a world that’s just realistic enough that people can identify with it, but fantastical enough for them to enjoy it.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Nyasia: No. I do all of my research online. I’d love to travel, but my finances do not allow it.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Nyasia: I designed the cover of the printed edition of The Heretic’s Child and Mirna Gilman of BooksGoSocial.com and myself designed the cover of the eBook edition.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Nyasia: Remembering those that are no longer with us and that everyone, good or evil, has something to contribute to the world. No one should be forgotten.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Nyasia: David Gilchrist has captured my attention at the moment. His epic fantasy world is a wonderful creation.

My favorite writer of fantasy is J.R.R. Tolkien, my favorite writer of horror is Stephen King and my favorite writer of suspense thrillers is Dean Koontz. I love little details and character quirks. All three authors supply those in abundance.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Nyasia: Marilee Reyes. She was ever patient and supportive as I talked about writing this book for what seemed an eternity.

The Heretic’s Child was a work 20 years in the making. I met Marilee about 10 years in and her encouragement was instrumental in my buckling down and doing the work.

Thank you, Marilee!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Nyasia: No. I am not a prolific writer. I’m 60 years old and have written 4 original works of fiction, 3 works of fan fiction and numerous poems and proverbs. I don’t concentrate on writing because I have to earn a living. However, if I suddenly came to the attention of an agent and the opportunity became an option, then yes. I would love to have a career as a writer.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nyasia: Yes. The last chapter. See the answer to the next question.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Nyasia: Yes. Don’t assume the outcome of an election will be logical.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Nyasia: Emma – Anne Hathaway, Thomas – Gerard Butler, Ewan – Ewan McGregor, Joseph – F. Murray Abraham or Bill Nighy

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Nyasia: This too shall pass, so just write.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Nyasia: Indie Authors appreciate reviews.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Nyasia: I’m reading fan fiction and rereading The Books of Blood by Clive Barker.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Nyasia: I believe the first book I read was Fun with Dick and Jane. The first book that made an impression on me was J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. I read it when I was 8 years old.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Nyasia: Life makes me do both, but I try to celebrate it – life that is.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Nyasia: J.R.R. Tolkien. I’d love to talk with the person that initiated my life-long love of the fantastical. I’d love to be able to listen to him speak about the creation of Middle Earth.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Nyasia: Playing online puzzle games, hiking and visiting the zoo. I was going to list being politically active, but that’s not a hobby. That’s a necessity.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Nyasia: Other than HGTV and news, I don’t watch television. I like science fiction and fantasy movies. I’m also a fan of Gerard Butler. He inspired me to make my brief foray into writing Phantom of the Opera fan fiction.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Nyasia: My favorite foods are Italian, Mexican, Indian, Chinese and Thai. I love purple. I love music, but must admit that I am not fond of country, western, hip hop or reggae. I am partially deaf, so I’m partial to music with a strong beat. Hence, my love of heavy metal.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Nyasia: Hike, play with my cats while I’m on social media and read.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nyasia: Don’t worry. I’ll be back.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Nyasia: Yes. Website – http://nyasia9.wixsite.com/nyasiamaire

Blog – https://nyasiamaire.wordpress.com/ (Sorry, not much of a blogger!)

Amazon Author Page – https://www.amazon.com/Nyasia-A.-Maire/e/B01HYKFKFS?ref_=pe_1724030_132998060

Lulu Author Spotlight – http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/nyasia

Facebook Author Page – https://www.facebook.com/nyasiaamaire/?ref=bookmarks

 

