Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 Hi Fiona, it’s great to meet you and thanks for inviting me.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 I’m Tina-Marie Miller and I’m young at heart!

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 I was born and bred in a small village in Oxfordshire.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 I live in Cornwall with my family. My children are both at University. I am very fortunate that I am able to write full time from my tranquil home.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

 I am currently working on my second novel which I aim to publish later this year.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I’ve always had a deep love for reading and writing and the immense joy I get from crafting a story. I recall the moment when at 12 years old I had a letter published in a magazine. The overwhelming feeling of seeing my work in print was indescribable and I knew that one day, I aimed to see my name on the front cover of the many books I now aspire to write.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 Anyone that writes is a writer. However, when I held a physical copy of my debut novel in my hands the reality of what I had achieved as a writer became real.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 I was inspired to write my debut novel as I wanted to demonstrate how anyone, from whatever walk of life can make the best of the challenges that fate deals them.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 Often when we are faced with challenges, some people take the view that these challenges occur because it is just their ‘luck’ or it’s fated. Therefore, my debut novel’s title, Everything Happens For A Reason is a reflection of how the main protagonist deals with the many challenges that are presented but also goes on to demonstrate how these challenges go on to lead towards a positive outcome. This is something we do not always recognise when faced with difficult times.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

The challenge is in crafting a story that evokes a range of emotions and leaves a lasting impact on the reader, but that’s why I enjoy writing in contemporary women’s fiction/romance/chick lit and have two more novels in these genres planned. However, I aspire to write some paranormal fiction in the future.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 An interesting question and one I would like to leave my readers to draw up their own conclusions.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

If I want to include a place in my book that I’ve never been to then certainly I would go and visit it and research as much as possible so that it qualifies my writing which can be before or during the process. As in my current work in progress, my writing took me where I wasn’t expecting to go and therefore involved more research and a few visits. I love this serendipitous creativity.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 Whilst I was initially pleased with my debut novel’s professionally created cover, as time went on I began to realise that the cover did not correctly justify the story within. I was so blessed to find Shari Ryan of Mad Hat Covers https://madhatbooks.com/ through Facebook and after explaining my dilemma, Shari created the most WOWSOME cover, in my opinion, and it perfectly reflects the story. I’ve been super delighted at the comments I have received regarding this and cannot thank Shari enough. I’m looking forward to working with her again on my second and future novel covers.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No matter what challenges life presents you with remember that some you will overcome and some you will not. Everything happens for a reason and can lead to wonderful things so never give up hope.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 Oh wow! For sure. Bella James – The Girl Who Cried Wolf; Nico J Genes – Magnetic Reverie and Mark Louis Hudson – Travelling at the Speed of Dark: USA Odd Duck. I so enjoyed their debut novels. I am also a huge fan of Martha Perez, Bella Emy, Kevin Ansbro and just loved Gary Dolman’s – The Satyr’s Dance. You can read my reviews for their work on Amazon.

 My absolute favourite writer is the truly WOWSOME Jilly Cooper and if I am able to write with one iota of her talent I will consider myself blessed. Her books are just wonderful to read, fast paced and so much fun. I resonate with her stories and my favourite book of all is ‘Wicked.’ It is well worth a read.

 I would also like to give a mention to Kimberley Chambers, another great writer who produces amazing, gripping stories that keep you on the edge of your seat.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Apart from my immediate family it is my social media family that have been most supportive. I am so blessed to be part of the most WOWSOME community on Twitter and Facebook. The interaction and support I receive is invaluable and has boosted my confidence.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Absolutely.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 Oh yes, for sure! I do tend to ramble on… and on…!

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Gemma Arterton

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Never, ever give up.

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 Thank you for reading my work, I hope you will continue with me on my journey.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Kinnara by the incredibly talented Kevin Ansbro.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laughter is so important and you will often find me playing tricks on my children and then collapsing into hysterics! I love watching back-to-back episodes of Friday Night Dinner and Frasier to name a few.

 Suffering of any kind makes me cry.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 I would love to meet Cary Grant. As a child I grew up watching this debonair gentleman and fell in love with him immediately. He had an effortless way of interacting with everyone he met. He built the most amazing career from nowhere – he had ambition and brought his dreams to reality. I have the utmost respect and admiration for him.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 I am passionate about alternative therapies and am a qualified Reiki Master. In my spare time I enjoy indulging in a favoured treatment or just simply meditating and showing my appreciation for life.

 I also have a keen interest in anything paranormal.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 As mentioned earlier, I love comedies such as Friday Night Dinner and Frasier and tend to watch episodes back to back. I’m also a huge fan of US dramas such as Blue Bloods, Chicago Fire, The Blacklist to name but a few!

 I love films that are made in the UK and recently watched ‘Their Finest’ starring Bill Nighy and Gemma Arterton amongst some other fabulous actors.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

 I am allergic to a lot of things so I mainly enjoy chicken and fish.

 I am drawn to bright colours but favour purple and green.

 Music oh give me Coldplay or a bit of Whitney Houston and add a bit of Phil Collins…

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 Oh that would be devastating. If I couldn’t physically write then I’d employ someone to write for me as I dictate.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 I AM THAT I AM

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 You can find out more about me and my debut novel at www.tinamariemiller.co.uk which also gives links to my social media pages.

Amazon link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Everything-Happens-Reason-Tina-Marie-Miller-ebook/dp/B01N12AE7L/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1500211811&sr=8-1&keywords=tina-marie+miller

 AuthorPage: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Tina-Marie-Miller/e/B01MSAGVEA/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 Website: http://www.tinamariemiller.co.uk/Default.aspx

 Twitter: https://twitter.com/tinseymiller

 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tinseymiller/

 

 

 Phew! Thank you Fiona for the great opportunity. It’s been WOWSOME.

