Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 Hi, I’m L M Somerton and I’m heading towards a half century.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Originally from Bath, England but now I live in rural Northamptonshire in a tiny village.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a degree in English, American and Commonwealth Arts, which means I read books for three years. I’m married with a teenage daughter.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My next release, Elemental Hope is due out shortly – this is the sequel to Elemental Love and is a contemporary paranormal series about a young warlock.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing on free sites when I was between jobs. An editor spotted my stories and suggested I submit to a publisher – the rest is history.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not for a long while after being published – it didn’t seem real. Thirty-some stories later, I think I can finally accept it’s what I do – though it’s not my full-time job…yet.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The first book I wrote was Rasputin’s Kiss – though it wasn’t the first one published. It needed a lot of work from its first iteration! It’s a thriller but was more inspired by idea for characters than the plotline. Alex Courtney and Conor Trethuan had been in my head for a long time and I wanted to bring them to life.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s pure fiction but I do use locations I’m familiar with and there are several of those in the book and the rest of the series, which is set in the UK.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Not specifically, but I do get inspiration from places I’ve travelled to and use them a lot. I also use locations I’ve only read about – so it’s a mixture. I haven’t yet travelled specifically for research purposes.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 All my covers are designed by Emmy Ellis at Pride Publishing.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 For Elemental Hope, I had to do quite a lot of research into herbs and herblore, which was fascinating.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 Gosh, that’s difficult. My lead character is quite youngso maybe Ian Somerhalder when he was in his twenties.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 Write what you enjoy not what you think an audience wants.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 How much I appreciate their support and engagement. I get a huge amount of pleasure from knowing that people enjoy what I write and it’s humbling to know they’re prepared to spend hard earned money on my books.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Changes by Jim Butcher, I’ve been working my way through the Dresden Files, a series I haven’t read for a while.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 Writing is my main hobby as I also work full time. I also love walking and travelling, and reading of course!

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 Head taster for a Swiss chocolate firm.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 She grew old disgracefully and had fun doing it!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 My website and blog are here: http://www.lmsomerton.com  or you can find me on Facebook: www.facebook.com/lmsomertonwritesI also have a very sporadic newsletter readers can sign up for – there’s a pop up box for this on the website.

You can find all my books here (including some short freebies): https://www.pride-publishing.com/index.php?route=product/author/info&author_id=252

 

Many thanks for having me!

 

 

 

