Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Nice to meet you, Fiona. I’m Bey Tolentino.23 years old. Oh, and thank you for choosing me to appear on your blog.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born and raised in the Philippines.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Never been taken, but dared to write a romance novel, which surprisingly got published last year. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Travel and Tourism Management, and youngest among three sisters.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Aside from having my first book (Beautifully Burned) out last year, I’m currently working on a Halloween anthology with other amazing authors.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I don’t think there’s a “why,” but it’s most definitely a pull. I was writing, regardless of how long or how often, since I was a child. Although I think I got more engaged to it in high school, since that was the time I got to learn more about literature.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly, not until 2016. I knew millions of people could write, but getting published felt amazing. I had no intention at first, because the truth is, I just wanted my own book. No selling. No promoting. Just a single copy in my own hands.But then I tried testing the waters in 2015, until I found acceptance from a publisher in US.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I love to travel and meet new people. I went to New York for my internship in 2013, and was surprised how much I loved it there. Beautifully Burned was written because of a place, not a person, apparently. Haha.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It was the last thing I had to think about. It felt like I had to be subjective and objective at the same time.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’m a planner and apantser. I’m pretty sure all writers experience writer’s block at some point when they are writing. I’d listen to the right music or go somewhere to set my mind to fight it.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s a mixture of both.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I always get ideas whenever I’m travelling, like every single time. Sometimes it’s just really frustrating. It’s like I have to collect them, so when I get back, I’d sit on my chair, and then write them all at once. I also have a habit of waking up in the middle of the night to write a few lines, and then go back to sleep. When I wake up I’m like, “what’s this?” Lol.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Patria David, a graphic designer who also became my friend.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

New adult contemporary romance novels mostly talk about feelings, and I hope that’s where I led my readers with my first book. We all know perfection is out of reach, and flaws are scattered everywhere, but imperfections should make us want to live for the better… hopefully, always for the better.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Well, this is a tricky question because the answer is, it really depends on my mood. There are days I love something light and funny, but there are times I love action mixed with suspense and romance.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

No one in my family knew my book was going to be published. I didn’t tell them until everything was set. I was very secretive because I didn’t want to assume. Publishing is a process, so I had to pray while waiting that it would go well while silently doing my best.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Why not? No matter where a person would like to be, isn’t there always a ladder he/she has to climb?

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I’ve learned some from my previous one that I wished I knew before I started writing. It’s time to apply them now.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Nick Bateman and Nina Dobrev(with blue eyes).

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

I’m just starting myself, but I would say, prepare yourself with overflowing courage, like ten times your usual back up. Don’t let rejections drive you to the pit of giving up, but use it as a motivation to do better.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I love you guys. I appreciate your time reading my work.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Sad Girls by Lang Leav.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really. I wasn’t fond of books when I was younger… Yeah, I know. Ironic.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The right lines. *smirk*

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I could pick anyone, right? I’d go with my grandma who passed away when I was in college. She was funny, supportive and a loving grandmother. Sometimes all you need in life is someone to believe in you and your capabilities despite your flaws… it was her.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Playing pieces of instruments (piano, a little bit of violin and guitar), painting and piecing jigsaw puzzles.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Mostly all genres, depending on my mood. Suits, White Collar, Gossip Girl, How to get way with murder…etc.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Salads. Rose gold at the moment. Classical, acoustic, alternative.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Travel.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

In between light and darkness, she had faith.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 I’m currently working on my website, but they could check these.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28958160-beautifully-burned

https://www.facebook.com/authorbeytolentino/

 

 

 

