Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi everyone, I’m Margaret McHeyzer and I’m about 30 +10+something…

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Sydney Australia

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Um, let me see. I finished high school and bounced around in jobs, never really truly loving anything I’ve ever done.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m just about to release my duet. The Gift and The Curse – The Butterfly Effect Series. I’m super excited about these because they’re unlike anything I’ve ever written before.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in 2013 because I was getting frustrated with the lack of strong female leads.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m a writer?? I still pinch myself everyday to know I write for a living.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book HiT 149 I want an alpha female. One who didn’t need a man to prop her up and encourage her. So, I developed Anna Brookes AKA 15. Anna is my anti-hero, alpha female who happens to be an assassin.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

HiT 149 came to me, because Anna’s 149th hit, is very different to any other she’s had.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My books all have incredible strong females. There’s always a love story, but the romance isn’t the main point of my books. With the exception of Dying Wish, which it was all about love and friendship. I love writing gritty books that touch on the side of reality. But the one thing you’ll find in all of my books, is the incredible strength of heroines.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my books have an element of truth to them. It may not be MY truth, but they definitely resonate deeply with some.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No, most of my research is done with Google.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My covers are designed by Book Covers by Design.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, I always have a point to my books. My most gritty books all have the same message. You are worthy.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

There are so many wonderfully talented authors who all deserve their time in the spotlight. JL Perry, Kylie Hillman, TJ Hamilton, JA Low, KahlenAymes, TL Swan, TL Smith, Kat T Masen, Belle Brooks, Liz Lovelock, my goodness, I could go on all night at the wonderful authors.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My readers. Without them I’d have nothing.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I hope so. As long as people want to read what I write, and the voices keep talking, then I’m hoping it’ll be long term for me.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not one word.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

YES! I learnt I’m able to write any genre I put my mind to.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

EEEEEK – what a fantastic dream to have. The lead would have to be someone who can play a sassy, driven, head strong woman who takes on each challenge head-on.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Edit, edit, edit. If you think you can edit the book yourself, then do so, but please, have an editor do it too.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

A big fat THANK YOU. Without you, the voices in my head wouldn’t be so loud.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Nineteen Letters by Jodi Perry. So beautiful.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t, recall the first book I read, but I recall the one to make a huge impression on me as a kid. And that was Flowers In the Attic. Ripped my heart out.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Great, funny dialect between charcters.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d love to meet Oprah and Ellen. I can’t say one over the other, but I would love to be at a dinner party with them both so I could walk out totally inspired by their greatness toward humanity.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love to read, and I love going to the movies.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Reality TV is my kryptonite. Love it.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Favourite food is salted caramel anything. Favourite colour has always been, and will always be…PURPLE. Favourite music, most things in the charts.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

That’s blasphemy!! I can’t imagine myself doing anything else.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She always told it as it was.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My facebook page. Margaret McHeyzer Author

Amazon Author pages

USA https://www.amazon.com/Margaret-McHeyzer/e/B00F1QVK3O/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1499947622&sr=1-2-ent

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Margaret-McHeyzer/e/B00F1QVK3O/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1499947703&sr=1-2-ent

 

