Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

K.D. Friedrich: Hi Fiona, it’s very nice to meet you and thank you for giving me the opportunity to appear on your blog. I’m 45 years old and I write contemporary and paranormal romance.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

K.D. Friedrich:I’m a lifelong New Yorker. I live in a town called Bethpage about thirty minutes from Manhattan.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

K.D. Friedrich:I’m a single mother of a teenage daughter, which is both challenging and rewarding. I graduated from New York Institute of Technology with a Bachelor of Science and I currently work at as a college bursar officer during the day.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

K.D. Friedrich:I recently released my first self-published paranormal romance novel Passion of a Witch. My other novels were traditionally published so this latest release was a true labor of love in every way since I handle every aspect of it’s release. Here’s a short synopsis of Passion of a Witch. Summer Leery is a witch sworn to marry another. With her wedding only weeks away, she has no time to play host to a foolish human. No matter how handsome. But when the Goddess to all witches makes a decree that she welcome him into their secret world, what’s a witch to do? Kian Lancaster is about to find out. Faced with a bleak future slaving for his father’s ruthless company, Kian has his own reasons to stay away from the willful Summer, mainly, keeping her safe. However, when it comes to this mysterious female, he can’t keep his hands to himself.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

K.D. Friedrich: I’ve always enjoyed writing poetry and songs. My enjoyment branched out into novels when my love for reading romance became an obsession.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

K.D. Friedrich: The day I completed my first novel is the day I truly considered myself a writer. Yes, I always loved to write, but I didn’t think of myself as an actual “writer” until I typed “The End” on my first book.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

K.D. Friedrich: My first novel was written in memory of a close childhood friend I lost when I was a teenager. It wasn’t written well, because I had no idea about plotting and pacing, but the story meant a lot to me. I do plan on rewriting the book and releasing it at some point in the future.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

K.D. Friedrich: The titles sort of come to me as I’m writing the story. They do occasionally change and evolve during the process.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

K.D. Friedrich: I write with a lot of emotion, angst, and drama. My point of view is third person, because I love to get into the heads and hearts of both my hero and heroine. Some readers have described my style as sensual and sexy.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 K.D. Friedrich: I do sometimes use certain situations or traits from those I know, but for the most part my books are from my imagination.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 K.D. Friedrich: No, the only traveling I do for my work is surfing the internet.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 K.D. Friedich: My traditionally published books have covers created by the publisher’s artists.  I have designed the covers for my self-published works.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

K.D. Friedrich: I’m not really trying to convey any message. My main objective when I write a story is to entertain, to spark emotion in my readers. Whether it’s joy, pleasure, anger, concern, excitement, and even frustration.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

K.D. Friedrich: Teresa Gableman, Mina Carter, Milly Taiden, Terry Bolryder, and Laurann Dohner are a few of the authors that have been filling my Kindle these past few months. They are very talented authors with unique styles and engaging characters. My all time favorite author is J.R. Ward. The Black Dagger Brotherhood is an amazing series I can’t get enough of.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.  

K.D. Friedrich: The only other thing that pushes my commitment to continue writing is my love of reading. Every time I pick up a book that I can’t put down, I’m driven to produce the same reaction. There are so many talented authors out there and they inspire me every day.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

K.D. Friedrich: My ultimate goal is to make writing a career. Right now, I have no choice, but to work a day job. Bills need to be paid. Hopefully in the future, if I keep myself writing and motivated, I can shift to full time writing.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

K.D. Friedrich: No, I wouldn’t change it. If a grammar or spelling error was found of course it would be fixed, but the overall story is written exactly the way the characters wanted it to be written. If I changed it now, I doubt my hero or heroine would ever talk to me again.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

K.D. Friedrich: Yes, I learned how important time management is to a writer. If you don’t force yourself to write every day, you’ll never get the book done on time.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 K. D. Friedrich: Hmm, I think the actor closest to my image of Kian would be Cam Gigandet with a little extra build. I think Kat Dennings would be a perfect Summer.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

K.D. Friedrich: I always give the same advice. One, read as much as you can. Read everything and anything you can get your hands on. Two, make sure you write all the time. The more you write, the better you get and finally, have fun with your passion. Enjoy your time at the keyboard. That’s why we write, it gives us joy.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

K.D. Friedrich :  I just want to say thank you to those who have bought my books. You gave my stories a try and for that I’m eternally grateful.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

K.D. Friedrich: Right now, I am reading Sloan by Teresa Gabelman. You got to love an alpha male vampire with eyes only for his heroine. It’s an amazing series that I highly recommend.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

K.D. Friedrich: Yes, it was a book called, Go Ask Alice by Beatrice Sparks. It’s still one of my all time favorites.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

K.D. Friedrich: I cry more at heartwarming things than sad things. Whenever I see soldiers reuniting with their families or a little kid says something really sweet to their mom or dad, I cry like a baby. However, when I see something sad, I try to put up a strong front and hold back the tears. Crude humor makes me laugh. I love a good raunchy comedy. I grew up a tomboy surrounded by boys. So, there isn’t much that offends me.  

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 K.D. Friedrich: I think it would be cool to sit with Albert Einstein and pick his brain.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 K.D. Friedrich: I love to draw. I grew up taking any and all types of art classes and studied graphic design in college for about two years.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

K.D. Friedrich: I love the History Channel. Ancient Aliens is one of my favorite shows. I’m also a huge science fiction fan, Star Wars being at the top of my list. My favorites TV shows are The Big Bang Theory, Seinfeld, Paranormal Witness, and Paranormal Lockdown.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

K.D. Friedrich: My favorite food is anything Italian. I adore the colors blue and green and I listen to rock, heavy metal, and country.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

K.D. Friedrich: A world without writing is not a world I can even imagine.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offer

K.D. Friedrich: Sure…my website is: www.kdfriedrich.com

 PASSION OF A WITCH ~ A Wicked Series Book 1

Two souls forced together by the will of a Goddess. Two hearts kept together by unrelenting passion. Is Summer strong enough to resist Kian’s charm? Or will she risk it all to taste the power of love?

AMAZON –- > http://amzn.to/2igKy2P

BARNES & NOBLE — > http://bit.ly/2e09ueu

KOBO — > http://bit.ly/2el1nYk

iBOOKS — > http://apple.co/2eZ0Vxl

SMASHWORDS — > https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/676525

Synopsis:

Summer Leery is a witch sworn to marry another. With her wedding only weeks away, she has no time to play host to a foolish human. No matter how handsome. But when the Goddess to all witches makes a decree that she welcome him into their secret world, what’s a witch to do? Kian Lancaster is about to find out. Faced with a bleak future slaving for his father’s ruthless company, Kian has his own reasons to stay away from the willful Summer, mainly, keeping her safe. However, when it comes to this mysterious female, he can’t keep his hands to himself. For the first time in his life, a woman didn’t fall to her knees to please him. Summer’s indifference shackled his lust and refused to let go. Determined to resist the male at all costs, Summer ignores her growing desire. A feat easier said than done. Summer’s magic may be strong, but soon she’ll discover that when faced with the laws of attraction, there’s no greater power than love.

My contemporary romance series with taglines:

MORRISON ON MY MIND Book 3 The Heart Falls Heroes

When it comes to the heart, it pays to read the fine print.  http://amzn.to/29a8jEG

SANDS OF TIME Book 2 The Heart Falls Heroes

One night can change you.The right person changes everything.  http://amzn.to/1l6gwhd

CROSS MY HEART Book 1 The Heart Falls Heroes

Will he sacrifice his heart or betray his honor? http://amzn.to/1O5aB7O

 

My other paranormal romance series and tagline:

SOUL TIE SEDUCTION

Born with a soul. No big deal, except demons, should be soulless http://amzn.to/1NYnI9e

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:

Website:         www.kdfriedrich.com

LSBooks:       http://www.lsbooks.com/kd-friedrich-c489.php

Goodreads:    https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/11364747.K_D_Friedrich

Twitter:          https://twitter.com/KDFriedrich_

Facebook:      https://www.facebook.com/authorKDFriedrich

Amazon:   http://www.amazon.com/K.D.-Friedrich/e/B00RR5R1FS

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/fkarensday62972

 

