Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age? 

Hi Fiona, thanks for having me on your blog. I’m Danielle Bourdon. My age is a state secret. 😉

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m originally from Corona, California, but now reside in Texas.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

When I’m not writing, I love to travel, garden, bake and dabble in photography. My hobbies are many and varied.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have a new Royals book coming out later this fall. It’s a next generation story that I hope my readers will enjoy. I’m also working on book two of a new thriller series. Book one of that series should be published within the next eight weeks.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember. It started with silly poems and ended with full length novels.  I write because I love it so much. It allows my creative side unending possibilities.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably when I published my first novel. It felt real then, even though I’d started (and stopped) other novels and never published (or finished) the work.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had been trying to complete a book for years. Back then, I continually edited the first chapters and never went on to actually finish the story. I decided to participate in National Novel Writing Month to begin and end a book, which I did. Reaching ‘The End’ on that novel was the catalyst to me  subsequently writing 33 more books.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first finished novel was titled, Dréoteth, the name of the dragon in the story. I’d come up with the name years before, when I developed the main character.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I usually start writing early in the morning and take small breaks every hour or so until I reach my word count for the day. Sometimes, when I’m writing two books at one time, I’ll get my word count in on book one in the morning, take a lunch break, then start the word count on a different story in the afternoon. I’m pretty disciplined in my work habits. As far as genres, I tend to genre hop. I’ve written fantasy, young adult, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, thrillers and short horror stories.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None of my novels are based on my own life events or people I know.  Everything is straight from my imagination.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I do travel sometimes, usually before I write the book. Sometimes during.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have used Damonza(dot) com, Cover Me Darling and Okay Creations as cover sources. Some of my covers I did myself, though I’m having most of those replaced.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Rather than send messages, I try to take readers on a journey. I always try to have my main characters evolve in interesting ways, based on their experiences in the book.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Blake Crouch is my newest author addiction. I like his concise, edgy style. My favorite author of all time is Dean Koontz. He introduced me to suspense in ways I hadn’t read before, and am a fan of his rhythm and pacing.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I have a couple writer friends who have been very supportive of my author endeavors.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I support my family with my writing, and take every aspect of the business seriously. From writing to hiring an editor to the book covers, I oversee every stage the book goes through until it’s published.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I wouldn’t.  J

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned quite a bit about military installations thanks to all the research I’ve done.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I’ll use my book Heir Untamed to answer this question, since the Royals are my most popular series. I’d have to say Chris Hemsworth to play Sander, the lead male.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Make goals, and keep them. Even if they’re small goals. If writing 2,000 words a day is daunting, start with 250. The words add up quicker than you might expect.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for all your support over the years! I love my readers. J

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m actually reading my own latest novel (unpublished), since I’m doing my second editing pass. But the next book in the queue will likely be a Blake Crouch novel.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

When I was really small, there was a Golden Book about a black pony that I distinctly remember loving more than life.  Around 11-12 years, though, a neighbor gave me a book titled Comes The Blind Fury, by John Saul. That was when I graduated into long novels and fell in love with thrillers.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I adore dry wit and subtle sarcasm. That can usually get a laugh out of me.  Sentimental, feel good stories can turn on the water works.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d love to sit down with Dean Koontz for a few hours and pick his writerly brain!

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Traveling, photography, gardening, digital graphics, reading, genealogy…the list goes on.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m not a huge TV buff, but I occasionally enjoy shows like Grey’s Anatomy, America Ninja Warrior and, more recently, The Handmaid’s Tale. I also love football. As far as movies, I love apocalyptic shows and epics like Titanic and Lord of the Rings.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

French fries! Potatoes in general. And rice. If I had to pick a favorite style, I’d have to say Mexican.  My current (because it changes!) favorite color is turquoise.  I listen to a variety of music. Everything from Audioslave to cinematic scores (think Clint Mansell).

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Travel, photography, garden, etc. All the same hobbies I have now.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nothing fancy.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I do! https://daniellebourdon.com/

Amazon authors page USA   https://www.amazon.com/Danielle-Bourdon/e/B003QM4BRM/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Danielle-Bourdon/e/B003QM4BRM/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1499981568&sr=1-2-ent

Heir Untamed. Link: http://amzn.to/2uVOfPO

 

