Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

I am Leslie Bays. My books are under Leslie Nicci Bays.
I was born in November of ’76 . But really I don’t feel 40 yrs old.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from Chattanooga, TN. I moved to West Virginia about 5 yrs ago.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am a new author.  A mother to some pretty awesome kids. I have two beautiful Grand Doll’s.  Pet lover. My house is a small zoo with 2 dogs, 2cats, a sugar glider and my Rabbit. I am a licensed cosmetologist as well as a author. Love thriller, sci fi (the cheesier the better) and a good scary makes you jump out of your pants horror movies. I listen to all kinds of music. And I am a huge coffee and wine drinker.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

WOW  I got so much going on. Broken Heart’s Book 1 in my Heart’s On Fire Series is available for Pre-Orders now  on sale till release date, July 22nd. I also am working on Book 2, Heart’s Desire. Hoping to have that out soon. Also I am taking part in Love Sucks Ant-valentine’s Day Anthology which will be out February 14th .

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Well, since I was little I have always had a pen and pad with me.
I would make up little stories about my friends and I. Jot down poems.
To me writing is like air to breath.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

To me a writer is one that loves to write. So I would say I have always been one. Just needed the extra push to share it with others to read.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I done a short story in an anthology book “Be Their Voice vol2” I was asked to take part and said well here is my chance. After that I decided why not let my stories be read. And Broken Hearts, my first full length book was born.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

One day I was just writing and it hit me. This guy, Owen, One of my characters. My heart ached and at that time. I just knew the title Broken Hearts was perfect.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Honestly, I don’t think so. I mean, I want my words to be felt not just read. Weather it is Romance, paranormal (which I do plan to do). Shhh that is a secret.
The only challenging part for me is when I have multiple characters that want attention at the same time. I think that is the hardest part. So far …lol

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I write fiction but I place a bit of myself in my characters. Some of my experiences as well

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I have not had to yet. But if I did that would be awesome.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For Broken Hearts book cover the talented, amazing  author friend of mine, Shannon Youngblood. Love her.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Without giving a spoiler about my book. I will have to say. We all have loved. We all have felt heartache. Some more than others. But love will surprise you when you least expect it and bam it will smack your ass. To get your attention.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

So many. I can’t say just one is my favorite. Let’s see … Patricia Cornwell, Jenna Black, Shannon Youngblood, Angie Fox, Scarlet Le Claire, Judith Anderson, Adam Reese, J.F Silver, Angel Rose just so many some are new to me and I have on my tbr list. As you can tell I enjoy a variety of genre.

They pull you in. It is like watching a movie that is so good. You don’t want to miss anything so if you have to got pee you just wait or take the book with you. Lol

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I can’t just name one. Both my PA’s Tasha Hooks and Angela Sturgill have supported me with time and prep my BETA readers . Even my Pimping Queens on Facebook. Plus my author friends. By guiding me . I know how lucky I am to have all these people standing behind me.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I enjoy it so much. I want to get more out. But it is who I am so I could never stop. I do it because I love it.  Why label it.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I think it is perfect as it is. It holds a story all of it’s own.

Fiona: Did I learn anything during my duration of writing Broken Heart’s?
Yes. I learned a bit more about me. But I can’t tell what since I don’t want to spoil it. There are some touching moments. And some naughty ones.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Omg I can’t think of that. That would be so amazing. Megan Fox would be killer as Maddie.  Ryan Reynolds be perfect for Owen. I have such a crush on Ryan Reynolds.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Write what you want. You feel the words put them down. Keep going. Some will like some won’t but it is ok. There are plenty of readers out there for all of us to share .

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am actually about to start reading Trapped by Shannon Youngblood.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

That would be so long ago. I have read so many. I would say Patricia Briggs. All of hers are good.  My sister got me hooked on her books.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything funny. Like those darn cat videos… my son always has us watching them with him.
What gets me to cry are those damn animal abuse commercials. I can’t do them I cry every time.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Another of many…lol… but yeah I would love to meet all my pimping Queens and my PA’s

Those ladies have become family. Plus yeah I could pick Ryan Reynolds which that would be hard to pass up but for these ladies. I would if it meant I for to meet them all. I might cry later cause you know that man is my crush ..lol

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Believe it or not I enjoy getting my canvas out and painting. I suck at it but it is fun and messy …lol

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The walking Dead
Fear the walking dead
Hemlock grove is wow btw
Movies
Conjuring all of them
Sinister all of them
Chips was hilarious

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Cheeseburgers, chicken, as for restaurants hibachi
Favorite color?
Yellow
Favorite music?
In this Moments, Shinedown , The weekend

Fiona:Future with no writing what would I do?
I would still be a hairstylist. Love coming up with new styles. Maybe even work on a movie set.

Fiona: What would I want written on my headstone?
I don’t know. I plan to be cremated. I have issues with bugs.

Fiona; Do I have website to keep readers updated and special offers?
I do I have many ways to follow me.

.¸(*•.¸(´*•.¸(*•.¸Follow Leslie Nicci Bays¸.•*´)¸.•*´)¸.•*´)¸.•*´
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/author_leslie_bays/
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1265683203575366/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/lbays656
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Leslie-Nicci-Bays/e/B01NALKZMO
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDL5F1QaBeTXLkQicv3ygj5PUwkFJP1EN
Google:
https://plus.google.com/109189113167232834733
Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16964717.Leslie_Nicci_Bays
website:
https://lbays656.wixsite.com/website

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/leslieniccibaysauthor/

Broken Hearts
BLURB
Owen’s true love, Rachel, died years ago, but he has never overcome the loss of his beloved Rachel. He feels like he can’t love another. His nightclub is being targeted and his employees are vanishing. Owen’s brother talks him into coming back home for a visit.

Maddie is trying to get over the loss of her mother when she was really young.  On top of that, she caught her fiancé cheating.  She has many secrets that nobody can find out about. Her identity is one that she will fight to keep secret. She just wants to live in as much peace as she can. Then, the divorce her boss is going through and his anger towards her has him sending her to a small town.

Neither knew what they were walking into. Neither wanted to fall in love ever again, but they could not deny the lust each one had for the other.
Will Owen and Maddie be able to finally let their past rest?

(¯`v´¯)
.`•.¸.•´ ★Coming July 22nd
¸.•´.•´¨) ¸.•¨)
(¸.•´(¸.•´ (¸.•¨¯`* ღ Hearts on Fire: Broken Hearts by Leslie Bays
Owen’s kisses haunted her. She couldn’t stop thinking of that morning. How his lips felt against hers. The way she melted when he kissed her neck. What was a girl to do?The way she willing open herself to the invasion of his tongue. Accepting his stroking hers. How he ordered her to stand by the window. Not caring if she was seen. All she wanted was him. She was ready to give him anything he wanted. For she wanted the exact same thing. She wanted to feel him claiming her. Taking his hunger to a new level as hers has risen to. Her mind screaming for her to stop but her body wouldn’t listen. The image of him standing there, his shirt undone, exposing his chest to her. She could see herself licking her way down his beautiful firm chest. The image had her squeezing her thighs together feeling the thin fabric moist.
“It is so pretty out here.” Katrina’s voice pulled her out of her daydream.

