Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, my name is Chandra L. Fry. My pen name is Chandra Trulove Fry

Fiona: Where are you from?

I hail from Redding, California

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am the oldest of ten kids. My mom was a bit of a modern day nomad. We traveled all over the US. I have lived in many states and have been in many schools. I graduated high school in 96′, married my 1st husband shortly after that. Had my first kid at 21. I married my 2nd husband when I was 26. We have been together ever since. We have two kids. My kids are my life. I’ve lived in Redding for 13 years now. I love it here. When asked who I am I say, “I’m a Bibliophile Bookdragon, married to an awesome tech wizard and we have three minions together.” 😉

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My first book will be published very soon. I do not have a definite date as of yet but my hope is by the end of  August.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was 11. I would write songs and poems. They were a means to escape the harsh environment that I lived in.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

About two years ago I started to take writing seriously. I’ve always wanted to be a writer but never had the confidence to pursue it. I recently discovered the Indie Author world, met some amazing authors like Ali Winters and Bella Emy, and I fell in love! It was the encouragement that I received from the other authors that got me to start considering myself an author.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had already written many stories. Only a couple could be considered complete. I thought it would be a good idea to write a fiction story that was based on my real life. It is my actual life story only I used fake names.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Trials of the Heart seemed like the perfect name for my story because that is how I view the first part of my life.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My writing style varies I think. I write in many genres. I have contemporary romance, fantasy, sci-fi, thriller, paranormal, and more. I’m considering doing a shifter comedy in the near future as well. The most challenging thing for me is getting into my writer’s flow. I have to be by myself and get into the zone. Otherwise I struggle to get any good writing done. I’m learning to make the time to get my writing in.
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? I would say that there is always an element of real life in my writing. Obviously the first book coming out is 100% real life. I’d say there is at least 10% realistic elements in my writing, if not more.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I wish I had the means to travel. I envy those who can. If I am unsure of a scene then I usually just Google it. I use Google a lot. Lol

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Veronique Poirier did the cover for my first book. It turned out amazing. I am going to do a cover reveal party soon. My husband, Chris Fry has made several covers for my upcoming books as well.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In my upcoming Novel I do have a message for the readers to grasp. It is my hope that my life story will reach out to those who are struggling in life, that they first will know that they are not alone in their struggle and 2nd that they will find hope.
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have met many authors recently and they are all amazing in their unique ways. Ali Winters is my ultimate favorite author. She is an awesome storyteller and I love her writing styles. Wendy Knight is also one of my favorites. They both have a way of drawing me in and making me want to stay. Bella Emy is also amazing. I could name so many more! Let me know if you want me to. 😉

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My friends Marshall and Jen Fraysher, My friend Donna Herrick, my fellow authors Ali Winters and Bella Emy have been extremely supportive as well.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes! That is my ultimate dream.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

If I absolutely had to, I would most likely change it from third person to first.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned that it is very difficult to write about my own personal experiences. That probably explains why I could never keep a journal.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I had to research new young actresses to answer this. See, there I go using Google. I think that Madeleine Arthur would fit the role quite well.

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Do not let anything or anyone stop you! That includes yourself. You have the opportunity to bring joy and hope to a highly captive audience! Be brave and pursue your dream!

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

If I am not tantalizing your imagination or bringing you hope, then I am not doing my job correctly!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Star Crossed Hurricane by Wendy Knight, Souls Discovered by Miranda Brock, and Stone of Tears by Terry Goodkind

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

A Nancy Drew Mystery, not exactly sure which one it was but I fell in love with Nancy Drew.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children make me laugh.  Tear jerker movies/shows make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Oh man, so many! I would have loved to meet JRR Tolkien and CS Lewis because they are an inspiration to me. Presently I want to meet Ali Winters, Bella Emy, Wendy Knight, Rachel E. Carter, and so so many more!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I garden and spend way too much time on Facebook.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Dr. Who, Supernatural, Haven, Once Upon a Time, The Walking Dead

Independence Day, Men in Black, Constantine

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Favorite food is Mexican: esp steak burritos

Favorite color is Burgundy

Favorite music is Goth Rock

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Be a lazy and boring Facebook gamer.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Here lies Chandra Trulove Fry

Eclectic Bibliophile Bookdragon

Wife of an awesome Tech Wizard

Mother of three crazy minions

Read her books or you will be haunted!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I am such a new author. I have all the social media sites but am still in the process of putting together my website and newsletter. Here are the links that you can reach me by:

https://twitter.com/ChandraFry12

https://www.instagram.com/frychandra/

https://www.pinterest.co.uk/ilura/

https://www.facebook.com/chandra.fry

https://chandrafry77.tumblr.com/

https://www.goread.com/me/chandra3

https://plus.google.com/u/0/112230819807179589114

 

