Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Joe: Hi Fiona, my name is Joe Compton and I am in my 40’s.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Joe: I grew up in Torrance, CA, lived many, many places in my life and I now live in Northern California

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Joe: I served in the United States Marines right after the 1st Gulf War. I got married in 2010. I have a younger brother.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Joe: My channel GoIndieNow is about to start on its newest show, Thursday, The Week In Indies, a weekly news program. My latest Episode of our Flagship show “It;’s Time to Go Indie Now released 2 weeks ago (new episodes every last Friday of the month) and on Friday our Monthly Live panel Discussion show happens. I continue to write the sequel to my first book and I also started new series that I am doing a little differently than I ever have written anything before. I dictating the first draft into my smartphone. Got to love technology.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Joe: I have been a storyteller all my life. Always could tell a good story and keep my friends and family entertained. It was the first and really only thing that ever came natural to me.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Joe: I am not sure. It was early in life.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Joe: When I got to Okinawa during my active time with the Marines we were on lockdown as 2 sailors and marine had raped an Okinawan girl. So I spent a lot of time on base and subsequently started writing more and more. The next thing you know I had a storyline and an idea.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Joe: I played with words till it felt right.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Joe: I am a pantser. I write in bunches. I wrote Amongst The Killing in 3 days, in between about 10 hours sleep. I find a lot challenging because if I get stuck, I am really stuck. Which has happened with the sequel.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Joe: None, I take scenery and little insider references that are real but the characters, the situation, it’s all fictional.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Joe: I spent 2 months going to a coffee shop and meeting a former LAPD Homicide Detective and I went on a ride along with the LAPD.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Joe: His name is Paulo Duelli.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Joe: Maybe 😉

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Joe: Tons, as someone who talks to Indie Authors daily and interviews them as much I have discovered some incredible work. THE DISTANT SOUND OF VIOLENCE BY JASON GREENSIDES, ANATOMY OF A DARKENED HEART BY CHRISTIE STRATOS, MR. WESTACOTT’S CHRISTMAS BY MICHAEL J ELLIOTT AND BRIGHT NEEDLES BY ANAIS CHARTSCHENKO are just naming a few.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Joe: My story is a bit unique, there isn’t one beforehand but without Cindy L Schneider I may not be a member of some of the best groups on Facebook.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Joe: I think it will supplement me but not be my main source of income.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Joe: Yes I would have researched Editing services a lot more. The one I chose did me a bit of a disservice.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Joe: I have had to really rally behind patience, and trust me anyone who knows me knows that is a monumental task. I have really embraced letting things be what they are and force them out.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Joe: Let me preface this answer with something I think all authors need to know, unless you are making the movie yourself, you will never be involved in the movie making process. You won’t even be involved in writing the script. If it is a true story you may be asked to consult but that is as close as you will come. Sorry, but it’s true. That being said to answer the question as if I would have the option, James McAvoy would play Detective Street and Liev Schreiber would play Jack Casey.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Joe: Respect the process, don’t let anyone stop you from putting your work out there, but also be prepared to be your own PR machine and treat your book like a business.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Joe: Thank you. I would not be here without you.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Joe: Anatomy of a Darkened Heart, almost done. It is awesome!!!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Joe: I do, Charlotte’s Web.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Joe: True emotions and sarcasm. I love energy, I love being in the presence of energy and whatever emotion is conveyed in that energy I gravitate towards.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Joe: Tons, Truman Capote, William Shakespeare, Neil Degrasse Tyson, Bill Nye, Henry Rollins, President Barack Obama, Richard Dawkins, and Joe Rogan to name a few.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Joe: I love going to the movies and baseball.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Joe: Indie and classic films are my favorite. TV Shows I like competition shows like Chopped,Top Chef, Face Off, and/or Survivor.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Joe: I could eat hot dogs, hot links, pizza, and french dip sandwiches my entire life if I could. I love all types of music but mostly Heavy Metal, Punk, and Ska.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Joe: It’s always time to Go Indie Now 🙂

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Joe: Onto the next challenge

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Joe: My YouTube Channel is the best place to know what’s going on. Feel free to subscribe while you are there if you like what you see 🙂

https://www.youtube.com/c/JoeCompton73

website: http://goindienow.com

facebook: http://www.facebook.com/goindienow

twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Joedream73

email joecompton@goindienow.com

youtube http://www.youtube.com/c/JoeCompton73

instagram http://www.instagram.com/joeidfilms73

https://www.amazon.com/Amongst-Killing-Joe-Compton-ebook/dp/B00TYXGT36/

