Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello, my name is Jeri Torrance and I use the pen name, Robin Rance

 

 Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I was the oldest of eight children and my mother struggled to keep us fed. My dad was always gone and pursuing his own dreams. Both sets of grandparents are gone and my mother as well, but my dad is still around and we are closer than we ever were before.

I finished high school with a 3.6, and I always wished I had tried in school. Maybe I would have gotten that college scholarship. English was my least favorite subject.  I should have paid more attention to that for sure.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am thrilled with my newest book release titled, Her Mid-Life Cravings. It is a second chance romance story with many other twists throughout the story. The pre-release reviews are coming in, and it’s going to be my biggest seller.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always had vivid and reoccurring dreams, so I decided to try writing one of them down, and the next thing I knew, I had more stories to follow.  That Muse you hear about snagged me.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t know if I consider myself a writer per say, but I’m an exceptional storyteller and I’ve got lots of stories to tell!

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book titled Street Wise and I expounded the story’s beginning. Introducing John Smith was written with my mother in mind. She always gave her last dollar to those who needed it more than she did. It’s a wonderful story that talks about the homeless and living in the streets of a big city. There are many other twists to this contemporary romance as well, and I dedicated it to my mom.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

‘Street Wise’ was the original title. The character John Smith uses part of his name so as not to draw attention to his family. He becomes familiar with the homeless people and the way they must live to survive. The Street-Smart series now has two books written, and a third one on the way.  Street Surrender book two, and Street Hustle book three.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

This is where I wished that I’d paid more attention in my English class. I’m not as polished with my writing style. Since writing Street Wise, I’ve learned quite a bit more. My book writing style has improved. My stories are all great to read even though I don’t always follow protocol.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All the books I’ve written have something personal from me or a family member in them. I am working on a sequel where the girl has brain surgery. My own son had brain surgery and everything I’ve written about her recovery is from my experiences with my son’s recovery.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

As soon as I finish writing a book, I know its complete because it no longer occupies every sleeping or waking thought. I have multiple WIPs going on at one time, so if I do get writer’s block, and bounce back and forth. I do read a book in between writing one to get my thoughts cleared.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design my own covers. That way I can change them if I feel there is a need. I also do my own book teasers. I love photography, and I’ve been able to incorporate many of my own photos.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Every one of my books has a message that I wanted to share. I usually put something in the dedication that will show the reader why the book was important for me to write.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I hadn’t read a book in years. Then I discovered the world of Kindle and I was able to enlarge the font. I have Macular Degeneration and my left eye sight is completely useless. Suzan Tisdale became a favorite author immediately. She writes Historical Romance, and she spoke to my soul.  Recently, I’ve been enthralled with a Paranormal writer who gave me a book of hers to review. I’ve never been a Paranormal fan, but her books were fantastic.  Aliya Dalrae is her name.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I work part time in an RV Resort. I started writing short stories to pass out to the residents. I have one huge fan who lives there. She encourages me and has purchased every one of my books.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

If I could find a publisher who would pay me to write, I would be in heaven.  Even though I only work part time, it takes away from my writing. Yes, I would love to make that a career.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Absolutely not!  My latest book was written from my heart. It was more of my own personal experiences and every feeling, and the thoughts of the main character at one time were my own. It was an emotional one for me to write.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, I did. I learned that if love is there, it will flourish again, and to never give up hope.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

No! That would be too intrusive for me.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Take your time and do it right the first time. I was rushed into publishing my first book. It had so many mistakes and I was appalled how bad it came out. I should have done my research and asked more questions.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Please give my stories a chance. I have a serious fan group of women who actively promote me and my books. I just need a chance to show others what I am capable of.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m ARC reading a story from another author who has written a story about the Adventures in Middle School.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I have always loved to read, but the Author who had me hooked on reading happened when I was eleven. My parents brought home a few series from Edgar Rice Burroughs. I surpassed my peers in seventh grade and read close to six thousand pages in one month. I couldn’t get enough of all his books.  The first one was ‘The Princess of Mars’

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children and my grandchildren all make me laugh and cry. I’m an Empath and there are so many things that touch me emotionally.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I have always been a huge fan of Natalie Wood. She was the most beautiful woman I have ever seen. I named my youngest daughter Natalie after her. I would love to talk with her. She had such a sad ending to her life.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love to cook, read, sing, and play in the sun when I’m not writing.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m an Outlander fan, I can’t wait for the series to start on TV again. I have watched General Hospital, the soap since I was sixteen, faithfully I might add. I’m a huge fan of SVU Law and Order

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I could live off salad. I love making my own dressings. Steak and salad, the perfect meal. My favorite color is blue and I recently have developed a huge liking for purple. My amazing mother always had music plying in our home. I love most types of music, but I’m a huge fan of Alternative. U2 and Depeche Mode are my obsession. U2 calls to my soul and has for many years.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

One day my eyes may not work anymore. I already have one down.  At that point, I think traveling more will be my next venture.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

My mother’s head stone says, As I have loved you… I hope mine is similar. Something like; I loved as fiercely as I could…

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I’m not tech savvy, my website is barely there, but I do try to update my books on it.

https://robinranceblog.wordpress.com/

I have an author page on Amazon as well.

https://www.amazon.com/Robin-Rance/e/B01L2DRB3C/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1499662543&sr=8-1

Here is one of the links for my pre-order of Her Mid-Life Cravings

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/her-mid-life-cravings-robin-rance/1126604899?ean=2940154417546#

https://www.amazon.com/Introducing-John-Smith-Street-Smart-ebook/dp/B06ZZNFNFX/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1499662543&sr=8-2&keywords=robin+rance

 

https://www.amazon.com/Street-Surrender-Smart-Book-ebook/dp/B071CLJK63/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1499662543&sr=8-3&keywords=robin+rance

 

 

