Name : Thomas McRae

Fiona: Where are you from? 

I’m from Far Rockaway Queens NY

Fiona:  Tell us a little about yourself? 

I went to Beach Channel High school after that I went to Delaware Valley Job Corp for a trade and to change my life and get some better perspective.

Fiona:  Why did you begin writing?

I began writing because I needed to escape the realities of my life.  Being surrounded by family members and so called friends who didn’t know how to be just that a loving and caring support system. I watched my parents struggle to raise my brother and I and received limited support from loved ones but yet none of these people had no problem milking my parents hospitality or sympathy.

Fiona:  When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Pretty much around High School but I started during Elementary. Truth be told I wanted to be a artist like my mom. When it comes to arts and crafts she is a wizard and that includes crocheting as well. But unfortunately I didn’t have that talent it took me sometime but I eventually perfected my craft as a writer and that led to poetry, then short fiction and GOD willing movie scripts.

Fiona:  What inspired you to write your first book?

Poetry for the soul was my first book, it’s a collection of love poems and personal feelings. Nothing really inspired me to write it I just felt ready, I entered several poetry contest and got some good feedback and at that point I just felt ready to put myself out there to the people in a more direct and intimate way.

Fiona:  How did you come up with the title of your current book?

To be perfectly honest Pimp in the pulpit was inspired by my Aunt on my mother’s side. Because she is a con artist masquerading as a minister. And with everything that’s been going on I felt it was only fitting to give that honor to her which transpired Pimp in the pulpit.

Fiona:  How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know or events in your own life?

Pimp in the pulpit is about 89 – 95% realistic. It’s inspired by my life and the craziness that comes with my family.

Fiona:  Who designed the cover?

The self-publishing company that I have been dealing with for years and their name are Eber & Wein Publishing.

Fiona:  . Is there a message in your novel that you want readers two grasp?

Yes there is a message and this is it never let your circumstances define who you are as a person and never let  those around you break the foundation that God put in your soul. Because He has a plan for all of us so never lose hope and always be willing to strive for  greatness and beyond.

Fiona:  Do you see writing as a career?

I see writing as a blessing and a great way to express myself. But I’m also hoping and praying that I can turn this into a real career and maybe branch out and become a film script writer.

Fiona:  If you had to do it all over again would you change anything in your latest book?

Absolutely not because everything I wrote came from a real deep emotional place. And I personally believe everyone and anyone can relate to this book in some way or form because the truth is family is much more ruthless than a stranger in the street.

Fiona:  If your book was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I would love for Marlon and Shawn Wayans to play my brother and I. Then I would like Tracy Morgan to play my father and Dascha Polanco can play my mother. But since there’s so many characters I’m open to just about anyone who will be willing to play my relatives, , but I do have some personal favorites.

Fiona:  Any advice for other writers?

The best advice I can give you is keep God first and your loved ones close by. Be patient and consistent as well as persistent when it comes to chasing this dream and never let anyone tell you or convince you that you’re not good enough because we’re all put on this Earth to accomplish great things.

Fiona:  Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

please support this wonderful book Pimp in the pulpit by Thomas McRae. It’s a good read and not a very long book you can purchase Pimp in the pulpit by Thomas McRae on these four main website amazon.com barnes and noble.com Google Books.com fishpond.com.

Fiona:  . What makes you laugh or cry?

A sad movie or story usually chokes me up. Especially the news my God it’s so depressing and heartbreaking. But what makes me laugh is a funny movie past events in my life that I found humor in and some of the stories I can tell you about my workplace plus family functions.

Fiona:  Is there one person past or present you would like to meet and why?

That’s a tough question because there’s so many people I would like to meet who is alive and gone. But if I had to pick I would say Malcolm X because his powerful message and strong will not only inspired black people but it moved a nation in more ways than we ever knew.

 

Thomas McRae Bio

Active since 2010 till present

Books Published

Poetry for the soul
The soul of a poet
Blue Print
Supernova
Testimonial Truth A Book for the brothers political
Poetic Salvation my acknowledgement to our Lord 1  & 2
The lost poems
Expression
Street Trash 1st short fiction novel
The best of Thomas McRae
Pimp in the pulpit

Credentials

Online radio interviews with Artist First network radio with Tony Kay and Talk network radio with Jeff Heiser.

Books reviews at Amazon.com and Fresh literary magazine with Mrs.  Shirley Gerald Ware, plus Nikki McNamara book blog and a interview with Debdatta Dasgup book blog. Also interview with The Wave newspaper in Far rockaway Queens NY. Several poetry contest certificates and news paper articles and interview with The Bulletin magazine which is ran by The New York City Housing Authority which I currently work.

To order Pimp in the pulpit by Thomas McRae go to Amazon.com Barnes and noble.com Google Books.com fishpond.com or Just enter my name along with book title and all current information should come up to see.

Thank you all for your support and love and please take my advice follow your dreams, because dreams keeps us alive and life is a journey filled with endless possibilities.

https://www.amazon.com/Poetry-4-Soul-Thomas-McRae/dp/1438985916/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1499563616&sr=1-3&keywords=Thomas+McRae

https://www.amazon.com/Soul-Poet-Thomas-McRae/dp/1452003289/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1499563616&sr=1-6&keywords=Thomas+McRae

https://www.amazon.com/Lost-Poems-Thomas-L-McRae/dp/145205455X/ref=sr_1_8?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1499563616&sr=1-8&keywords=Thomas+McRae

https://www.amazon.com/Pimp-Pulpit-Thomas-McRae/dp/1608805603/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1499563616&sr=1-2&keywords=Thomas+McRae

 

