Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Lisa Zarcone  age 51

Fiona: Where are you from?

Springfield, Massachusetts USA

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am a wife, mother of 3, grandmother of 3.  My husband and I are raising two of our grandchildren.  Phoebe is 9 and Liam is 4. Liam is autistic, and we have been faced with many challenges along the way.  My family life is full and vibrant.   My household is always filled with high energy.

I have had many different jobs over the years and they have all been geared towards helping others.   I have worked with disabled adults teaching life skills.  I  have also worked with teen girls in alockeddown facility, mentoring young woman and teaching journel and poetry writing.  I also worked with youth teaching art therapy.

Mentoring young teens at our church was an interesting journey.  Watching them open up and sharing their inner thoughts and feeling as they put thier trust in me was a wonderful experience.

My formal college education is in business/writing/Secretarial, but my true education has been my life experiences.   I call it the school of life!!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am excited to announce that I will be working with the Dept. of Mental Health sharing my story and taking part in public speaking engagements.   My Memoir The Unspoken Truth is my life growing up with my severely mentally ill mother and what I was subjected to along the way.  My journey was horrific and traumatizing.  I  am using my story as a learning tool for mental health workers, as well as, their clients.

I have also made it into three local book stores here in Massachusetts.  Odyssey Book Shop in South Hadley, Amherst Books in Amherst, and Booklink Booksellers in North Hampton.  My book is also available in Pipe&Thimble Books in Lomita, CA.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at a young age.  My life was so filled with trauma and that was my escape.  Writing and Art were what helped me get through some of the worst moments in my life.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When my book was officially published in October 2016.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always wanted to write a book about my life.  The things that I went through, some so unbelievable, I felt compelled to do so.    I knew by writing my story that I would be helping others with the same unspoken truth as myself.   I wanted to be a voice for so many who feel that they never had one.    Writing my book was truly a theraputic and liberating experience.    As I look back at the 6 years that it took me to get here I am in awe at what I accomplished, and I am so proud of the work that I put into this memoir.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My silence growing up was my personal “UNSPOKEN TRUTH” and it is the best way to state what my story represents.   The silence of a child.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My style I feel is a little different as I am a straight shooter.  I write it as I see it.  I can be raw at times, but always real.   Writing a memoir is hard because you have to dig in deep with old memories that have been hidden in the cobwebs of the mind. Once you officially bring them forward you have to face them once and for all and put it to rest.   Writing my memoir has put it to rest.

What has been equally challenging is writing my children’s series about my grand-daughter and her stuffed bear Valentine.  They go on many adventures together.  She is being raised by her grand-parents and the stories teach children that all family units are unique and that is OK.   Writing from one extreme to the next, switching of the hats so to speak can be hard.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes, my memoir is true facts of my life from age 6 to a young adult of 19.   I did change a few names in my story for privacy purposes, but the events are all real.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I travel to my bedroom and lock myself in there shutting out the world and jump into my head.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I self-published through Book Fuel, and they had a great illustration department to work with.   I came up with the idea and shared my thoughts.  They came through fabulously.  They put together a cover that I had always imagined.  Great Job!!!

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

YES a few.   First a message of hope when all seems lost.   Also, the resilience of a child.  I talk about my mothers illness and how she was brushed aside, and how I was left alone with her in the process.  So Big messages on mental health awareness and child safety.   My story sends a huge message about breaking the silence of abuse, and telling others to step up and help those in need, do not look the other way!   Save the child.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I do gravitate to authors that have written stories like mine.   A Child Called “IT” was one that hit home for me, Author David Pelzer.   Also, The Memory Palace, Author Mira Bartok was a great read.   My newest Author interest is Kathy Pacard, she wrote her personal story, “Life With My Idiot Family”.

I also enjoy Mitch Albom – The Five People You Meet In Heaven and Tuesday With Morrie.   I like his style of writing!


Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Spirit!   I say that because during the process of writing my book I lost my dad, but I always felt his energy pushing and guiding me through, and oddly enough my mother!  She always told me I needed to write a book about our lives, its a story that needs to be told.  In her moments of clarity she was a very smart woman who knew all the wrongs that happened along the way, and she wanted to bring awareness to our journey!  Sadly, I lost her during the process, but she too gave me the strength and wisdom to follow through.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes definately.  I love writing and I am currently working on book two.  This is an extention off of The Unspoken Truth, but this taps into my relationship with  my mother and how her illness effected our lives.   More powerful stories, and events showing a raw view of what mental illness can do to a whole family.

I also look forward to launching my children’s series.  What a great way to connect with children teaching fun but valuable lessons.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

No, I would not because I wrote from the heart and soul.   My story goes step by step through my upbringing as it unfolded.   I did something a little unusual in my book.    I left small errors in the publication.   I did this as a symbol of being imperfectly perfect!  We are all a little bit broken but that does not mean we are not great!

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes I learned that I am a true survivor and triving on life.  My past taught me so many lessons, and I would not be the woman I am today filled with love and compassion without my past.   I feel I was meant to go through all that I have so that I can share my experience with others.    If by reading my story someone finds inner strengh and healing then I have done something truly special.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I feel Sandra Bullock she could play the adult version of me, as she is a strong confident woman

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Never give up!  Keep pushing, keep writing, and imagine that you have already made it.  It is all in the mindset!   I would say to myself all the time you are an author, and now I am.  Keep the Faith.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

That my story is riveting, raw, powerful and one emotional ride, but a must read.  I say that because of the messages it has to offer.   I hope each and every one of my readers can find a personal message just for them.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Perforated Fiber – The True Story of Hope and Perserverance

Written by Maurice and Haven Triplett

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Aristocats and One Hundred and One Dalmations.  I loved these two books so much and then it was Charlottes Webb

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love to laugh.  I am always laughing.   I find many things silly. I am a silly quirky woman. I acually make myself laugh.

Crying – interesting question.  I used to cry over anything emotional or sappy, but what my past did to me (the damage)  I have a very hard time crying at all.   It is hard for me to just let it go.    It is sad in a sense because we should all have those moments when we can just get a good cry in and release it all.  This is something that I continue to work on my personal  “PTSD” a quirk from the silence.  A self taught technique I used to survive.  Always being in control.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Mother Theresa –  her very essence so powerful and pure.  Her heart was filled with such love.  To be able to sit with her and touch her hands would be incredible.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Gardening – flowers and vegtables.  Nature.  When planting flowers I am always making sure they are butterfly and hummingbird friendly.    My birds that I feed and attact to my yard is like my personal heaven.    When I am outside in nature I feel totally free.  I love taking pictures of all these things, and of course the kids!

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy reality tv.   Shows with singing and dancing.  Fixing up homes, and real life stories of the every day person.   Shows about ghosts and spirits!

Movies – A Walk To Remember, Sweet Home Alabama, Pretty Woman, The Proposal

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I am Italian so food is a big part of my life.  I am always cooking!  I have to say pizza is high on my list and seafood (any type).   I love to try new things as well. I am pretty brave.  I enjoy hot peppers!

I love warm colors – pink is my favorite

Music – its funny I will listen to a huge range of music anywhere from Elvis to Slipknot.  My favorite band is Metallica as I am a rocker at heart!

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Caring for animals.  as a child I wanted to be a veterinarian

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Remember me with love and kindness in your heart  – embrace the journey

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I am on Twitter, Facebook, Linkedin and Pinterest.    I can be found on amazon and amazon central where my author page is located.  I update all my events and post pictures and interviews.   I can also be found on Barnes&Noble on line

 

My Facebook author page, offers daily inspiration,  my personal poetry and information about my book!  I love new followers and enjoy talking to new people

Lisa Zarcone  Author –  The Unspoken Truth A Memoir

Email lzarcone@comcast.net

https://www.amazon.com/Unspoken-Truth-Memoir-Lisa-Zarcone/dp/1535601485/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

https://www.facebook.com/LisaZarcone11/?ref=bookmarks

https://twitter.com/Lzarcone11

https://www.linkedin.com/in/lisa-zarcone-0ba19135?trk=nav_responsive_tab_profile_pic

https://www.amazon.com/Lisa-Zarcone/e/B01MU268HL

https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B01MU268HL

BIO

Lisa Zarcone, author of The Unspoken Truth, is one remarkable woman. Her childhood was nothing less than hideous. Her ability to survive,  from her silent world of treachery is truly astonishing .   Writing this novel is her way of giving back.

A wife, a mother of three, and grandmother of two, Lisa is the everyday woman with extraordinary gifts.   She has worked with the disabled  teaching life skills and writing.  Lisa has also mentored young woman, teaching journaling, poetry and art therapy.

Lisa has a passion for working with those who have mental illness.   What her past has taught her about this illness you cannot read in a textbook. This is life experience, and watching it through “THE EYES OF A CHILD” puts a whole new understanding to it.

 

 

 

