Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Kimberly Grell and I’m 30 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Massachusetts, raised in New Hampshire and currently live in Florida.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

I am married to a wonderful man and have a beautiful daughter. I love planning family outings and creating memories to cherish for a lifetime. I’m huge into crafting and involve my daughter in my projects.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My newest release, From City to Country, is available now for .99¢! My upcoming release, Moonlit Masquerade, is available for preorder for .99¢.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at a young age. In those days, I wrote as an escape from reality, however the older I grew the more I realized it wasn’t just for fun.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I published my first book the realization of being a writer set in. It was a glorious experience.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My inspiration came deep within myself amid mediation. I later decided to transform my experiences into stories for people of all ages and religions to journey through.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My stories were full of soul and short so it wasn’t hard to come up with the title, Short Stories for the Soul.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I love to write romances, however my romances are sweet. That is my style. Sweet Romance. The challenges I face with the genre I write in are coming up with fresh new material for readers to enjoy. Oftentimes, I seek certain situations to research a particular reaction or action a character might act out. I love to keep my characters as real as possible.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my books contain a small portion of my experiences or someone else’s.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Yes! A novel I’m currently working on required me to travel to Savannah, Georgia to understand the environment and it’s people.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Most covers are designed by me, however my novels require professionals from Sugar Wolf Designs to capture the meaning of the story and bring it to life on the cover.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Most certainly. The message in most of my books are about taking chances and living life to the fullest.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have several authors I read. Each author has great qualities that differ from the last. These qualities draw me into the material they craft. I can’t limit my favorite to just one so I’ll list a few. Rosie Chapel, Lynn Cooper, and Brittany Adkins. Each of these authors captures an amazing essence and a wonderful world of romance.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My best friend, Lacey. She encouraged me on days when fear struck me down and knew the best way to help me through it.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Without a doubt! I’m not in it make millions, yet I know I can create worlds fit for every kind of reader.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Absolutely not! The books I write are tailored to please any kind of reader.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Definitely! For my latest book I had to extensively research farm life. I learned quite a bit about farmers!

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Very difficult to answer! If I had to narrow it down, I’d say Ryan Reynolds.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep writing! Don’t give up and learn from your mistakes.

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Keep reading! You have no idea how much us authors depend on you!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading nothing at the moment. I’ve been focused on working on books for next year.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read was a Nancy Drew book! Ah, the good ole days.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Silly behavior makes me laugh and anything dealing with death undoubtedly makes me cry.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d love to meet Ryan Reynolds. He seems like a great person and a ball of laughs.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Crafting! I love pulling out supplies and putting something creative together to decorate my house or give as a gift!

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I adore watching Korean shows. They don’t run as long as American shows, but the quality is amazing.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

I love carbs. Do carbs count? Lol! I love pastel colors because they appear more delicate in nature. I love Korean Pop music.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Most likely I’d be crafting and spending more time with family.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Great question. I haven’t put any thought into it. Perhaps I should.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Absolutely! https://www.facebook.com/KimberlyGrellAuthor/

 

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Kimberly+Grell&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Kimberly+Grell&sort=relevancerank

