Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?  

Hey all, I’m Shyla Colt, and …. A lady never tells her age. I will say I’m in my30s . *winks.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Cincinnati, Ohio.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m married with two little ones who keep me busy. I love to travel, take road trips, research new topics, craft, and bake to name a few things.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.  

I’m in an anthology that releases , July 11th. Breaking Bad: 14 Stories of Lawless love. I’m excited for readers to meet Alfie, the debt collector with a shady past.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written, but I got serious about it when I neared my 30th birthday.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I really cut my teeth with fanfiction, and receiving feedback, and having fans really made me think of myself as a writer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I love angel lore, and scavenger hunts. It was a combination of both as good fought against evil to keep the seals from breaking  and opening up the gates of hell.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Don’t Fear the Reaper seemed like the perfect choice sense my main character was a Reaper.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I like to write the way that I read, in multiple genres and from the heart. I think sometimes the fact that I switch things up can be disconcerting for some readers. I always try to let everyone know I’m a genre-hopper up front.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Writing can be cathartic, and some books hold more reality based information than others.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I travel, make playlists, and do research. I usually do it before I write, but I may revisit those places during the writing process as well.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I usually go with Rebecca at  Dreams2Media. She’s amazing.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I always want to show that everyone can find their happily ever after, no matter what they’ve been through.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m currently really enjoying reading Ya. An author named Louise Gornall really captured my attention.  I admire many different author for a number of reasons.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, one I take very seriously.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Perhaps I’d make it a bit longer.


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned a lot about the Debt Collection industry in England.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Gerard Butler.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep writing, reading, and sharing your work with someone you can trust to be honest. We’re always growing, learning, and being inspired. It’s important to keep the writing flowing.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you! Without you there’s no Shyla Colt.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading Everland by Wendy Spinale. I adore Peter Pan, so when I heard about this retelling, I had to get it.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I don’t.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love pop culture references and humor in romance.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d love to spend the day with Johnny Cash. I adore him.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?  

I love to craft, bake, and of course, read. I also enjoy travel when I can fit it in.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love horror movies. I also love paranormal shows, and documentaries.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Pink, I’m a foodie so… most of them, and I love all kinds of music.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I have no clue.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I want to be surprised.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I do. www.shylacolt.net.

https://www.amazon.com/Shyla-Colt/e/B008EH2LZS/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

