Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Ronald Craig I’m 41 years old

 

Fiona: Where are you from? Redcar northeast U.K.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I worked in a family retail business on learning school. Then I worked in the private mental health care services for number of years, where I gain NVQ III in health and social care NVQ II in equality and diversity NVQ II in inequality in woman’s services and a diploma in PTSD. Which was an amazing time, educational and insightful Learning to label emotions and a understanding new experiences. I have two amazing daughters who fill me and my partner with new emotions and beautiful experiences every day.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have self-published my first of four children’s stories. Which was an amazing experience, and one of the best things is bringing my story alive in audiobook by the crazy talented Colin Cassidy. I will be getting ready for the release of my second story in coming weeks.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

It started with my primary school teacher Mr Handley and my mother. The inspiration of the stories he/she told us gave me a sense of adventure and interest into the outside diverse world.

After my daughter Sophina was born I got to thinking of the world around her. That’s when it came to me a world of witch’s and wizards in a world full of light and dark magic. And how they will cope with the ever changes to their environment.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Once I’ve finished my fourth book. The story is interlinked in the four stories and will not be understood until the meaning of the tale is read. And maybe once a cartoon is made and published I’d consider myself a a writer.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My daughter Sophina was born, my partner was working evenings  she works in reablement allowing people to be independent after a illness or physical disability. I was sat with my daughter, it was one of those evenings. The kind the night The makes sense of all your thoughts. The snow was heavy it was cold and I considered my partner out in the cold. Once my daughter fell asleep, I sat for 3 hours writing the plot and basis of my story. Which is the final book, but the information I had written was enough for the four books.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Kind of written itself, the title is misleading though The little witch. The Little Witch could be anyone or everyone in the story. I hope the reader would put themselves as the characters they read.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’ve tried to reduce the words as much as possible, the quality of information is more important than lots of words. I’m trying to explain emotions and describe the characters and how experiences affect them personally as an individual. In a way a person can read but understand internally what they feel externally.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The Little Witch is a thought, and I’ve applied personal experiences as well as new experiences I see and experience. What I seen and went through helping people in my line of work trying to help me no end. And at times I listen to music to better understand what I’m wanting to say. No characters are real only what emotions they experience I apply in my words.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Inspiration comes from all things I see through my eyes and process in my mind. Mainly my dreams, a spoiler, The under-bed trolls went through my mind and thoughts for 3 weeks. Traveling seeing the world everyday little clues came to my mind. And a song finally gave me the understanding of what they were about. Even though the song does not have any relevance to the character. Only the music loving trolls made me better understand what they are about. Education and worldly interaction helps me know what I want to write.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed it myself but as I learned new ways app finding new apps to improve my cover design. This to date is my third and final cover. I have designed the illustrations to the best of my skills, I only illustrated the environment leaving characters to the professionals when I eventually have a cartoon in production.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is a lot of important information in the story. I take some experiences I have had through my life. There is a fundamental understanding in life of good and bad. But in my story is there such a thing as good and bad, or is it the choices and actions we make. Learning as we grow understanding others and how life feels to them. For this little girl helping others comes natural but hard decisions will come to those who find themselves in a world of light and dark magic.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have three my daughter has two. Mine are Sarah Stuart, Brenda Mohammad and Christiane Agricola my daughter loves Paul Ian Cross, Lieve Snellings and Ronald Craig. Okay Sophina likes my book because it has a moon and owl in it.


Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

None, I had some good friend authors online who acknowledged my efforts. Family were so so, not very supportive.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to be able to spend my time writing I have so much to write. I have an adult book yet to finish called the black path, which influenced my children’s book.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

It’s all learning and I guess you have to do the knowledge to be able to find your way. Not many people want to support what your trying to achieve. I’ve read family are the worst person to rely on for reviews. I have sold around 40 books which I purchased for family and friends and the only review I got was from my mother which I had to do for her, being 78 she’s not that clued up on tech. All of the above I would have liked to known before I started but in the next six months I will have different views and have learnt new things about being an author.


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learnt a lot of about how I see the world and how I want others Enjoy what I’m trying to tell. I’ve spent money on ads with different people offering 100,000 contacts and they just don’t work. I constantly get companies offering the same thing, and I have had no success so far. Getting to know people/readers and appreciate what readers feel about what story I’m telling there kids is the most important to me. I also found out a lot about myself and how I need a professional marketing team. Not some £40+ ads a company that will show a difference to what I can personally achieve.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

The bonus I have is Colin Cassidy my audiobook guy. Who is a multi-award winning producer. With a talent I could only wish for, his influence and experience on tap. We have very briefly discussed a cartoon, I was planning four in total. This is a lot to plan and discuss I have a clear vision and only the best will do.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Your on your own, best thing to do is have a plan of what you are doing in six months then the next six months. Nothing is free and when people offer you this and that, check up on what they are offering ask others. One person offered me lots of new contacts but then asked me review their books as a good will token. I’m self published with Amazon and I will be trying what they offer. And pricing, if you have your price to high you will sell some say 100, but if you have the price abundant the price of others or slightly lower you should sell a lot more. But advertise and make readers what they will be getting for the price. You could give your first Ebooks away for a email subscription, it has work for big sellers. This is something I haven’t done but may look at this when I publish my second book. Also have a well published manuscript, I paid Odyssey books and they did a professional job that I couldn’t.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I could probably waffle on for ages about what I’ve tried to do. But as I’ve said above have a plan and if you do not achieve them move them on to the next six months. Don’t rush into what people offer a professional company big or small is more important than a back ally company advertising on social media promising the earth. Read others work learn and what videos, but take all that is said with a pinch of salt. If it’s to good to be true it is!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading children’s books at the minute, The tiger comes to tea is one of my daughters favourites. But I have to put on voices to make it more exciting as she’s nearly 3 and expects more from a story than just reading it. Obviously I also read my own, I send time explaining what is happening and how Nina the main character is feeling. I also have the books listed above to keep reading and listen to on audiobook.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I remember the first book Mr. Handley read my primary school teacher. It was James and the giant peach I remember it was amazing. The thought of what he was experiencing and I was also a bit of a day dreamer, do my imagination run wild.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Nothing, and I hope nothing will. I was close when my two daughters were born. A strange feeling I don’t have in my frame of reference. But all I know is I want to stand on my front with a big stick warding people away. And kids and cuddle them as much as I can.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Elon Musk, I have a lot of questions about mars, to many to list, a simple one are to taking worms with you to fertile the soil.

Hitler tell him what an idiot he is. Take my big stick with me.

Tiger woods maybe. Not so sure now though.

My father ask him why he ran away before I was born. I believe he has now passed. Not sure though.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

They all stopped when I had a family, only think I do enjoy is golf. Although not played for 2 years. Money the main reason.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Lots, game of thrones, old to shows like the professionals, Flash Gordon, Star Trek, the typical 80’s man stuff I guess. But I like a film with meaning, like fried green tomatoes, it’s a wonderful life, plans trains and automobiles.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Blood red for the colour. But I like to see bright colours of my partner and kids. Dinners every time. Tom Odell , Emeli Sande, fleetwood mac, skar music, punk and like a bit of classical.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Anything work wise, I’d sweep the streets in the snow to put food on the table. And smile at what I have achieved.

Educate myself, to improve myself in something I would enjoy. Like space tech science and computers.

I’m going to get my daughters to keep a diary, I would encourage them to write. Maybe cheating that one.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nothing randomly I want a cherry tree planing in me and buried so I may grow again and my kids can come a sit under me in the shade, but not eat the fruit that would be disgusting. Slightly odd maybe. Not bothered really, it’s what you do in life I reckon.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

https://www.facebook.com/ronaldcraig.books/posts/245395422624811

https://m.facebook.com/groups/255763631577834

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01M9JRBYO/

 

