Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age? 

My name is Valdemar Marques and I am 62 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Lisbon, Portugal.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m the only child, I lived in Portugal until I was 13, went to Mozambique and 4 years later to South Africa, where I still live. I’m married and been blessed with 3 children, Tanya, Tiago e Diana; I also have 4 grand-children, Rafael, Giorgia, Fabiana and Miguel. After obtaining a bachelor in Theology, I obtained a Master of Arts and a Doctor of Arts in Theology. During my working life, I was the personal Translator to the President, and to the Director-General of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Africa. As a Supreme Court Sworn Translator, I have been involved with various International companies such as Pricewaterhouse Coopers, Kentz Engineers & Constructors, Deloitte & Touche, Murray & Roberts International and Adams & Adams attorneys. As a motivational speaker, I have been used by various business enterprises, as well by international companies holding products such as Redken and Aramis. I have a blog, and a closed Facebook group (Synergy Group) where I share various Christians posts which contributed significantly to my formation and elaboration of the dream to write books.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have just published a book called “Apocalypse Unfolding now”. I am busy with a second book, which should be finished shortly.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always loved writing small pieces since I remember. From the many articles and blogs originated the desire to write books.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not yet, really. But as Thomas Hardy said a writer needed to be imperfectly grammatical some of the time and  Mailer told an audience that not everybody wanted to ride in a Lamborghini, so I decided to have a go!

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

To share the apocalyptic prophecies to a world which is sliding into chaos, right before our eyes, at an ever-increasing speed. The world is on a suicidal path that will plunge it into a holocaust of destruction and death such as never seen before – and never shall again! But there is HOPE.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Present world situation, apocalyptic times.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I laugh myself when I describe my style of writing, which I call “To and Fro”. I enjoy going back and forth when writing about a certain subject.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

In any way, I try to impose that my thoughts and perspectives are right. I usually like to tackle the topic involved in such a manner in order to give our grey matter a bit of extra exercise, not “looking for gremlins’ and in the simplest manner as possible.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

It wasn’t necessary yet.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Myself with the help of the publishing house.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Definitely yes. This subject and this book is very ‘touchy’ one and people either love it, hate it, fear it, or avoid it altogether. But the book of Revelation in the Bible is the apogee of the divine revelation. It is the estuary where all rivers (books of the Old and New Testaments) come together. The message is clear, this book was not meant to create terror and dismay but to engender confidence and hope.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

There are various, and I don’t have a favourite writer as such. I always try to grasp their work, aim and direction in order to improve my own perspective. I do not in any way just to put ‘blinkers on’.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

The memories of my parents.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Well, I’m not sure of that. What I’m sure is that I would like to publish another 3 books if God gives me the time, the inspiration which will help His Word to be spread.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Very much so.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Maybe the scenario of the second book will make a great film.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

I don’t think that I have the right to do so. This is still a learning process to me.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

There is hope to everyone in the present world situation.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“Growing up without a father’ by a friend of mine, Charley Pietersen.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Funny situations obviously will make me laugh, I think that I have a more than normal sense of humour. Cry? Obviously in various situations like the loss of my parents or friends. But what I really enjoy is to cry when justice is done, or when my spirit gets filled by the Word of our Lord, those tears are full of joy!

 

 Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Yes. Mao Tse-Tung. My second book is about the ‘Kingdom of God” and  contains as  its main theme, my  interview as a Christian with Chairman Mao, the powerful world communist leader.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Yes. I love sport in general, but soccer and golf are very special to me. I am an avid golf player. I love cooking.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Portuguese ‘soapies’, different TV series like ‘House of Cards’, and obviously Westerns. I am enjoying the series “Son” at the moment.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Portuguese, special ‘bacalhau’. I love Black, Red, White and Blue in that order. Love various genres of music. I love Gospel and Leonard Cohen.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Enjoy my grand-children, family and golf in that order.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Never thought about it.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I have a blog, which I tried to design it myself and which is always under construction. Anyway here it is: http://waltermarques.wixsite.com/mysite

Amazon page URL: http://www.amazon.com/author/valdemarmarques

 

 

 

 

