Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Thank you so much for inviting me! I’m so excited to be here.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, I’m Maggie Mae Gallagher. I also write super sexy romance under the name, Anya Summers. And let’s just say I’m old enough to remember a time before cell phones, the internet, and am inherently grateful I made it through high school and college before the advent of social media.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from a little suburb in the City of Saint Louis, Missouri. (One of the state’s in the middle). Although, I have also lived in Tampa, Florida, Orlando, Florida, and Denver, Colorado.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m the oldest of 5 siblings, which means I’ve been herding others my whole life. My youngest sister is adopted and 18 years younger than I am. All my siblings, except the youngest, have given me nieces and a darling nephew to spoil rotten. There’s another one on the way later this year that we are super excited about. I have a Master’s Degree in History and graduated Cum Laude from the University of Missouri, St. Louis.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m currently hard at work on the next installment of the Cantati Chronicles. Plus, I have a super-secret project I’m working on with my agent that I can’t talk about just yet, but it’s awesome! More on that soon 😊

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been a writer most of my life. I started out writing really bad, soul sucking poetry as a teenager. I was attempting to fashion myself into the next Emily Dickinson. It was after college when I tried my hand at writing books. From there, I was hooked. Writing is my preferred drug of choice. It’s a catharsis unlike anything else.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

With the first writers conference I ever attended. It was the Romance Writers of America Conference in Denver, Colorado in 2002. I’m still friends with the group of writers I met at that con.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Dissatisfaction with my employment situation. I had just graduated college and was facing the stark reality of what life outside the comforting embrace of higher learning meant. I didn’t care for my job, not one bit. Even though it was what I had gone to school for, there was a level of disillusionmentthat was prevalent.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Typically, I don’t have a book unless I have a title. Usually, for me, the title needs to be something that is inherent to the story. I will brainstorm until something feels right. I tend to go with my gut on this.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I’m a pantsing-plotter. I tend to start with a loose outline of each chapter that is usually the turning points, major plot threads, and character development. But, usually I don’t end up adhering to it all the way through. Mainly because the characters will take over, and I let them tell their story. I think it’s all challenging, but it keeps me engaged. And hopefully translates to the page for readers.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well, I write Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, and Erotic Romance. So the majority is not real. However, I always try to infuse it with dollops of reality to make it feel more real.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No, I don’t have to travel. I like to, but I do a ton of research to compensate. For instance, my Cantati Chronicles series, the bulk of it occurs in the UK. I’ve never been there. (I want to. It’s at the top of my list of places to visit but I haven’t had the chance to yet). Between my knowledge of history, I specialized in pre-modern Europe, and google maps, I was able to build my UF world on top of the existing one. Some of the places I have visited, like New Orleans, I used to help me infuse my latest paranormal romance, Casket Girl, with the flavor of that wonderful city.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have a few different designers I work with on my Indie titles. And then I have my publisher’s art department that does a fantastic job on my erotic romance titles.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There always is, but sometimes the message I think I have woven in the threads is not what a reader picks up. The biggest theme for me is hope. That no matter how dark things might appear, there is always hope.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I love Ruby Dixon. Her Barbarian series is just a hoot to read and I really enjoy them. My favorite writer, ever, I’d have to say Karen Marie Moning. It’s the way she crafts her stories that are just brilliant. Her prose is infused with so much life that it makes you feel like you are living the story. She’s on my auto-buy list.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My best gal pals.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It is my career. This is what I have worked toward for the last twenty years. I see it not just as my career but my vocation. Being an author is what I am meant to do.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I have a book coming out under my Anya Summers name, Her Lawful Master, on July 10th that was a tough one emotionally to write. I sobbed my way through the ending. I think it’s a very powerful book.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I always learn something during each book. Writing is the way in which I make sense of the world. Often it’s personal growth and uncovering a truth I didn’t fully grasp about myself.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I typically find an actor and actress that I use as the physical inspiration for my characters. In Casket Girl, my hero Josh was based off Stephen Amell and the heroine, Mila Kunis. In my Cantati Chronicles, I’ve always envisioned Emma Stone as Alana, Chris Hemsworth as Gaelen, and Joe Manganiello as Phinn.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

The basics are still the same. Just because the gatekeepers have changed, doesn’t mean the rest has. Give yourself time to hone your craft. Don’t finish writing a book on Tuesday and then upload it on Thursday to retailers. You still need to deliver a professional product.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for letting me live my dream. Your enthusiasm and enjoyment of my stories means the world to me. I couldn’t do this without you.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?         

Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t remember the precise title. What I do remember is the first author whom I really fell in love with their stories and read everything they had written: Judy Blume. I read all of her books in second, third, and fourth grade. My favorite story of hers to this day is Tiger Eyes.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’m a softy. I still cry over Bambi’s mom. As for what makes me laugh, shows like The Big Bang Theory, watching my nieces and nephew play, my cats and their crazy antics, things like that.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet President Obama and just have a conversation with him. I believe he is one of the best presidents I will likely see in my lifetime. He’s a man of grace, poise, and intelligence. I may not have always agreed with his politics, but I adored the man and have sorely missed his presence in the oval office.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I play piano.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones, Outlander, Stranger Things, Black Sails, The Walking Dead, Supernatural, Arrow, The Flash, Supergirl, Timeless, Shadowhunters, Superstore, The Big Bang Theory, and I’m sure there are more. I usually binge watch my shows between deadlines.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I like food period. I’m not one of those type of women who will only eat salads. It’s not that I don’t like them, I do, very much so, but there is such a plethora to be enjoyed. Instead of my favorite foods, I will give you my favorite food groups: wine, cheese, and chocolate, which covers all of life’s little essentials.

I’m all about the colors. I love bold, vibrant ones. For instance, as I write this I’m sitting on my fire engine red comfy chair. And my car is bright royal blue.

On a daily basis, I tend to listen to Pop music, however, depending upon my mood, I’ve also been known to listen to classical: Brahms, Beethoven, Debussy; rock, rap, alternate-rock, Disney songs, and musicals.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

There really isn’t life without writing for me. However, if I did ever stop writing, it would need to be for something fun. Like becoming a beach goer at one of those all-inclusive resorts, drinking frosty adult beverages by the poolside, and making inappropriate comments to the hunky wait staff. You know, real goals. 😊

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I don’t really want a headstone. I actually want to be cremated and launched into space. If I were to have a tombstone then I would want it to read: She believed she could and so she did.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Yes, I do. I can be found at my website: www.maggiemaegallagher.com and on social media- Facebook: FB.me/magmaegallagher  &Twitter: @magmaegallagher

https://www.amazon.com/Maggie-Mae-Gallagher/e/B00JG1IIVC/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

ASCENDED

War. It’s here. The last war of mankind. The winner takes Earth as its prize.

My name is Alana Devereaux. I am an elite Cantati Forces Lieutenant from Earth’s desolate future. I was sent back through time to save your world. My mission to stop the Mutari faltered. Demons infiltrated our world when the walls between Earth and Infernus fell. Millions died in the first volleys.

The Mutari changed me on an elemental level and my new powers scare the bloody daylights out of me. Formorian Hunters are closing in on my trail with a singular goal, to enact the death warrant placed on my head by their Queen. Now I am running for my life, on a quest to discover a way to kill an immortal on a power trip, stuck between mortal enemies, and everyone else wants me dead.

Amazon https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06VSZXPMJ

Nook http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ascended-maggie-mae-gallagher/1126134540?ean=2940154345719

iBooks https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/ascended/id1222734589?mt=11

Kobo https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/ascended-1

YouTube:

 

 

 

 

