Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Gary Beck. Let’s just say I’m a mature writer.

Fiona: Where are you from?

Born in NYC. Lived in many different places.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I went to several colleges. Made a living as an art dealer when I couldn’t in theater. A grown daughter and I live with my second wife.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

In addition to 2 recent poetry collections and a novel published, three more books are coming out this year. A poetry collection, a short-story collection and a novel.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I passionately responded to the Romantic poets, Byron, Shelly and Keats at the age of 16 and started writing imitation poetry as an escape from a difficult existence.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably when I was about 17 and started writing my own poetry that may have been immature, but was my own.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote a short story about some kids I knew who belonged to a gang. A number of stories later it became a collection.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It felt like a glimpse of looking back, so I called it ‘A Glimpse of Youth’.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write poetry, novels, short stories, plays and essays. Each genre is different, each demanding a different format and technique, each requiring a separate mindset.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My latest novel, ‘Sudden Conflicts’, published by Lillicat Publishers, is mostly realistic, as in much of my work, liberally based on some hi-tech characters I have known, with a little extra intrigue.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I’ve traveled a lot in my life and draw upon those experiences for appropriate settings.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A different artist designed the cover of each book.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is an underlying value of always trying one’s best in everything worthwhile that one does.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I publish a lot of poetry in literary magazines and read the poets who appear there. Much of their work interests me. I have a number of favorite writers. John Steinbeck is one of them. He painted a scalding picture of American life in The Grapes of Wrath and In Dubious Battle, revealing in blistering prose the abuse of capitalism in exploiting the working class sharecroppers.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I really can’t name an entity.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

My career was a theater director. I always wrote because I had to. Now it’s my main commitment.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think everything I do is different and I have too much more to do to second guess myself by questioning what I do after it’s done.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I work with a process and learned to focus as much on events, as character and storyline.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

A carefully selected virtually unknown lead who could grow into the role.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

If you have to write, don’t be judgmental and persevere.

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Follow current events. Learn what goes on in the world. Try to improve our system.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Herodotus  ‘The Persian Wars’.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

An oversize ABC book with animal illustrations.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Good wit makes me laugh. I don’t cry much.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Teresias, the blind prophet, would reveal the future.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Speed Chess

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The art auction tv show and new films.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Fish. Crimson. Beethoven.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d studied languages and economics.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

He tried his best.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

http://garycbeck.com/

 

https://www.amazon.com/Gary-Beck/e/B00959Y3PA/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

