Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Jennifer Beilis and am 43 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I live in NJ.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

I have my AA in Social Sciences from Brookdale Community College, my BA in Psychology from Rowan University and my MA from NYU in Education and Deafness Rehabilitation. I am qualified to teach online or in the classroom on the college level of the following topics: Education, American Sign Language, Psychology and Student Success and always looking for more employment! I can also tutor in many topics for my business, Jenny’s Tutoring, this is the website for that https://jenny08520.wixsite.com/mysite.

I am married 17 years in the end of July and we have dog whose name is Lightening, a male Sheltie, who is 12 years old. We love to watch and play agility with him! I have my Mom, brother and one aunt that are still alive. I was very close to my father and grandparents when they were alive.  I enjoy walking, spending time with my family and friends and enjoy coloring and painting etc.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My latest news is that I am working hard to find students to tutor and more employment.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in college and always enjoyed it as a creative outlet.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I am inspired by the challenges that I face with my hearing loss and vertigo to help other overcome their challenges.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the title “Hear I Am” because in my family we always end our sentences with Here I Am!

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My writing style is about showing the reader the challenges that I have faced and challenge them to become better advocates and make changes.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

100%

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

The traveling involved for my book has been to libraries and Barnes and Noble for book signing/Motivational and Disability Awareness Seminars. I have literature on the main disabilities: hearing loss, blindness, MS, ADD, and mental health awareness.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The message that I want to show my readers is that with the proper accommodations you can accomplish anything to go to work/school with a disability or not!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

no

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I would say friends also inspired me!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I write all the time to keep up my writing skills.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would not change anything much in my book.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, it helped me to teach others to become advocates for themselves.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I am not sure who would play the lead if my book were made into a film.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

My advice for new authors would be to have at least 2-3 people proof your work.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Yes, if you put your mind to something you can do it!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading self-help books now!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, Nancy Drew’s collection was probably one of the first books I read as a teenager.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cry when something is sad. I laugh when something is funny.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet Julia Roberts, the actress, because she is so inspirational!

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Yes, I do have hobbies such as writing, arts and crafts, walking and agility with my dog.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I loved Pretty Little Liars that just ended, Tyler Perry’s tv shows and my favorite is Once Upon a Time, and the newer shows Chicago- Fire, Justice, Medicine and PD.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I enjoy the color blue and as for music I enjoy classical and the current hits.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

If there was a future with no writing then I would say it out loud.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

That I was a loving daughter, sister and wife.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

Yes, I have a Facebook account heariam_jennifer@aol.com with a blog on there also, you can contact me via email Jenny08520@aol.com or call me Jenny08520@aol.com for orders of “Hear I Am”, Jenny’s Tutoring or other employment. My book is also online in amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com and xlibris.com

 https://www.amazon.com/Jennifer-Beilis/e/B00LQ25BS2/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1498924278&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

Author bio for the back cover from Jennifer Beilis

I have my Associate’s degree in Social Sciences from Brookdale Community College in Lincroft, New Jersey, my Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from Rowan University in Glassboro, New Jersey and my Master’s degree in Education and Deafness Rehabilitation, SCPI (SIGN Language Proficiency Interview, from New York University in New York.

Image picture Jennifer withLightening

 

“She has weathered more storms than most people have that I have ever known.  Yet, she still perseveres and conquers her fears, never letting an ounce of weakness tell her that she cannot do something… Because she knows that she can.  Most of the struggles that I have seen, suffering alongside with her frequently as she has fallen down only to pick herself up.  “Hear” I Am!! Is like poetry to the poet as medicine is to the patient.  Every reader will relate to something somewhere in the book.  Each time it is read, it will even relate to the same person differently as they progress through various challenges in their life.  I wish Jen many years of continued success in her relationships, employment, overcoming obstacles with her health and wellness, financial security, and in her continuation to showing others that that there is always hope.”

P.S. College graduate in New Jersey

 

You may contact me through Facebook on hereiam_jennifer or on AOL: hearriam_jennifer@aol.com.

 

