Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age? 

Hello, my name is Ashantay Peters, and thanks for inviting me to your blog, Fiona. My age? Old enough to know better but I do silly stuff anyway.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I live in Hendersonville, NC, about 20 miles south of Asheville.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m retired and enjoying volunteering at my local library. I have a degree in Professional Communications with a minor in Business. Writing was a substantial part in my jobs, and now I can write for fun.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m hoping to hear positive news soon about a recent submission.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began creating stories when playing with dolls way back when. Poor things were constantly getting into all kinds of scrapes. Even then I knew the importance of conflict.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m not sure. I took writing classes in the mid-1970s, so I’ll go with then.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I love reading but noted there were few books with characters like me. I decided to do something about that!

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first book featured divorced spouses finding their way back to each other, so I named it Deja Vu. Upon noting the large number of books with that title, I made it Deja Vu All Over Again. Seemed to fit.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? I write humor and incorporate it into multiple genres. The biggest challenge is not going too far over the top. What I think is funny, another may deem whiny.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I worked in Human Resources for over 25 years, so much of what I write is based on people I’ve known, but the names are changed to protect the not always innocent.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I travel in my mind. It’s wild and woolly in there.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Diana Carlile designed all my covers. She’s with my publisher, The Wild Rose Press.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Life can be hazardous. Enjoy every moment – even the scary times!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you? There are so many! I enjoy my writing partner Judy Jarvie’s books because she makes me laugh out loud but her books also run a gamut of emotions. Laura Strickland writes multiple genres and all well. Actually, I like any writer who features quirky characters, strong plots, and likeable characters.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I joined Carolina Romance Writers when I started on this path, and met people there who still support me.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s a part-time job, one that I should work harder at promoting.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m editing it right now, so yes, i’m finding all kinds of errors.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I discovered I can write much faster than I knew. Also, I’m improving with writing emotions, thanks to my writing partner, Judy Jarvie.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Well, if it were this latest book, the lead would have to be Bruce Willis.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep plugging away, and try to have fun. If you are enjoying the process, so will your readers.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thanks for reading and supporting me!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Zoraida Grey and the Family Stone by Sorchia DuBois.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was a Little Golden Book, but I don’t know which one. That was a loooonng time ago.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

U.S. politics. And now I’ll leave that topic alone.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I’d like to meet Jane Austen. She had wit, a sense of family, and wrote biting social commentary and characters that still resonate today.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Writing, gardening, beading, reading.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Okay, this will sound strange, or maybe pretentious, but I don’t watch television and rarely see movies in the theater. But I loved the Wonder Woman movie! Bring on the sequel!

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Carbs, earth tones, classic rock

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Garden, bead, read – pretty much what I’m already doing.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nothing – I want to be cremated and my ashes used to plant a tree. I’ve used so much paper in my life, I think it only fair. Plus maybe someday “my” tree would be made into books!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I have a website that is updated with every new book. www.ashantay.com. Thanks for asking.

 Publisher – The Wild Rose Press

Genre – Light Paranormal

Words – 35,000

Release Date March 3, 2017

Blurb

Long ago, Julia Wilkinson left home and didn’t look back. Now she’s unwillingly facing her parents’ ghosts—and their plans for her love life.

Sam Bradley has a ghost of his own, his interfering and opinionated deceased father. He’s a parent with definite ideas about whom Sam should date.

Julia and Sam think they’re happy singles and resist their supernatural matchmakers. But when the ghosts combine efforts, all bets are off. Will Julia and Sam heed advice from the other side, or will they go their own way?

 

Excerpt

Julia balanced her soft drink on their shared armrest. “You don’t mind if I put this here, do you? I’m afraid if I put my cup on the ground, I’ll kick it over. Oh, and excuse me, but I need to run to the ladies.” She blushed. “To get cleaned up. I’m not always so messy.”

Sam’s breath caught. The expression in her golden brown eyes seemed a mix of wary defiance. His dick perked. He wondered if he could hide his interest when she pushed past.

“No, not a problem. But I could hold your cola for you.”

“Oh, okay. Yeah, that might be a better idea.”

He should have been watching her hand instead of getting lost in her gaze. And he probably should have been paying attention to his own actions. That was his first thought when the ice cubes and sticky brown soda from both their drinks caught him in the crotch, waking him to stunned alertness like his alarm clock every Monday morning.

Her hand moved toward his crotch then stopped. “Oh, I’m, ah, oh, gosh I’m sorry. I thought you had your hand on the cup or I wouldn’t have let go. Are you okay? Shoot. Stupid question. Of course you’re not.”

She stared at his now quiescent cock. One that shivered in his shorts but was thinking about coming out to play under her heated gaze.

Buy Links

The Wild Rose Press – http://catalog.thewildrosepress.com/

Amazon – https://www.amazon.com/Spirited-Attraction-Ashantay-Peters-ebook/dp/B01N4M1KS7/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1490961196&sr=1-1&keywords=Spirited+attraction

About the Author

Ashantay Peters lives in the North Carolina mountains, the perfect location to escape reality through reading. She likes to flex her writing muscles penning a variety of genres, which is why she’s written paranormal books along with romantic suspense, contemporary romance and an erotic novella. All her books contain humor because what’s life without laughter?

She loves to hear from readers and promises not to stalk anyone who contacts her.

Contact Links

Web site –www.ashantay.com

Email – ashantay.peters@gmail.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com.ashantay.peters

https://www.amazon.com/author/ashantaypeters

Twitter – https://twitter.com/@AshantayPeters

Goodreads Author Page – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7263762.Ashantay_Peters

 

 

 

 

 

 

