Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Jeremy Simons, and I’m about to turn 31 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Jeremy:  I’m from a little town called Grayson in Caldwell Parish, or northeast Louisiana if you’re still unsure. Lol

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Jeremy:  No college degree for me, but I do have a high school diploma. I’ve been married for the better part of a decade and have three daughters, an eight year old and twin five year olds.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Jeremy:  My latest news is I’m in three anthologies coming out in the next seven months. A Halloween one and an Anti-Valentine one from Wild Dreams Publishing (both set to come out on or near their holidays). Also, one focusing on the metaphysical phenomena. I’m also working on editing my next novel so I can hopefully have it out before the end of the year.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Jeremy:  I’ve wrote on and off since the fourth grade when I first discovered the Goosebumps series. It just inspired ideas for me, and I thought even then I could write a book.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Jeremy:  When my first book went live on Amazon. I had some stories in anthologies and ezines before then (all non-paying), but I still didn’t consider myself a writer until I saw my name on a cover.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Jeremy:  I don’t remember. And to be honest, I don’t know if I ever finished one when I was younger. But Buried Alive, that’s my first standalone, was inspired by an article I read on Facebook about urban legends that turned out to be true.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Jeremy:  The main character is Buried Alive (I know I had to work really hard for that one…Lol). I wanted something that would draw attention and get people interested. Buried Alive was just a working title at the time, but it just stuck with me. And as a horror/suspense writer, I think it definitely lives up to its name.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Jeremy:  I don’t think I have a particular style. I’ve been accused of it all:  choppy, too much detail, not enough detail, not enough dialogue. I’ve also been told by numerous people that I have a way of bringing the suspense and keeping them on edge throughout. I just sit down and write, and whatever I’m feeling just happens to hit the paper that day.

The only challenge is horror in general. It’s not the biggest market out there, which makes finding a target audience a little more difficult.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Jeremy:  That’s kind of a loaded question. My plots are usually out there. Lol. But as far as detail and backstory, I’d say a lot of it is based off my experiences. It’s damn near impossible to sit down and write a 300 page book without including some of your life in it, especially if it’s happening in your hometown.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Jeremy:  I would love nothing more than to travel for my books, but sadly no. All of my stories take place in or around Caldwell Parish. You might also see Rednest in some of my stories, which is just my own version of Caldwell with some added flare (sort of like what Stephen King does with Derry, Maine.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Jeremy:  Dark Water Arts Designs. I give them an idea of what I want, and they do the rest. I am trying to learn how to do them on my own, though.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Jeremy:  Not really. Although if you looked hard enough, I guess you could say to not take life for granted or stand up for yourself no matter the consequences.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Jeremy:  Carissa Lynch. Lately, I’ve been reading only indie, and she is amazing at drawing you into a story and not letting go until the bitter end.

My favorite writer has always been Stephen King. I love getting lost in a detailed world where no one is safe and nothing is off limits, and he definitely has a knack for that.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Jeremy:  My publisher, Candace Bowser. She took a chance on me when it seemed like no one else would. She has answered every question no matter how dumb, and she has always told me how great my work is even when I didn’t think so.

Of course, now there are too many authors and readers to list that help me out everyday and support me no matter how big of a prick I am lol. They’re also not afraid to give me a swift kick when I need one.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Jeremy:  I’m still holding on to that notion. Until it pays my bills, it’s only a hobby.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Jeremy:  Definitely not. All of the feedback I’ve gotten from it so far has been positive. I’m satisfied with that.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Jeremy:  Yeah. I am one messed up individual lol. My latest book is an anthology of some of my longer works, and a few subjects in there are not for the faint of heart.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Jeremy:  Laura Cohan. I’ve answered this question before, and my mind hasn’t changed. She’s exactly what I see Monica (the lead in Buried Alive) being:  slightly crazy, a complete badass, beautiful on her worst days, and an absolute gorgeous knockout when she wants to be.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Jeremy:  Never stop reading. Never stop writing. But I think most importantly, grow some thick skin. You’re going to be rejected…that’s just part of bettering yourself. Not everyone will like you or your work. Not every review or piece of advice will be positive. Don’t get discouraged. Just do you.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Jeremy:  Thank you from the bottom of my heart, first and foremost. I’d also like to apologize for being so slow at getting books out lol. And lastly, if you enjoy the book let me know, let others know. Help me out, and leave a review. Even if it wasn’t for you, I let me know. I love hearing feedback even if it’s not positive. How else am I supposed to keep getting better.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Jeremy:  I’m currently reading Sand In Our Toes Book 2 by Michael Clayton. He’s also an indie author from my hometown.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Jeremy:  Unfortunately no, but I do my mom read parts of Stephen King books to my brother and me when we were little lol.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Jeremy:  I don’t really cry, but I love to laugh. Dirty joke and inappropriate comments are the best lol. Basically, anything that might make others cringe, I find humor in.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Jeremy:  I think it’s a tie between Edgar Allan Poe and H. P. Lovecraft. Both were influential to the horror genre, and I believe ahead of their time. I’d love to talk to them and find out what went through their minds and where their ideas came from at a time when horror was just mostly mythological monsters.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Jeremy:  Writing of course. I’m also an avid reader when I have time. I love playing basketball, playing video games, and anything my kids show an interest in.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Jeremy:  The only shows I really watch anymore are The Walking Dead and Supernatural. As for movies, I love horror movies, especially anything made in the eighties and early nineties. I also love raunchy comedies lol.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Jeremy:  Favorite food is probably pizza. Favorite color, dark blue (black is a close second). Favorite music…I go back and forth on. Right now, it would probably be What You Give by Tesla.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Jeremy:  I’d still be working my day job at the library lol. If I can’t write books, I might as well work with them. As for hobbies, I’m sure I’d read more and probably be more outdoorsy.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Jeremy:  A loving father and husband. I know it sounds cliché, but it’s important to me.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Jeremy:  I do have a website:  http://jsimonsauthor.webnode.com/

Though, I’d advise not visiting lol. I don’t like it and haven’t updated it in a while. I’m in the process of getting a new one.

In the meantime, the best place to keep up with me would be my author page:

https://www.facebook.com/jeremysimonsauthor

 

https://www.amazon.com/Jeremy-Simons/e/B01FPMOR74/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1498833163&sr=1-2-ent

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jeremy-Simons/e/B01FPMOR74/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1498833268&sr=1-2-ent

And before I go, I want to thank you again, Fiona, for giving me this opportunity. I had a blast. I loved that some of the questions were different from the norm. Thanks again.

 

 

 

